Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From The Past!
Undisputed leader of the home videogame market was Atari's truly revolutionary 2600 console. In fact, the pixellated magic produced by this teak-effect box of jiggery-pokery helped Atari shift over 30 million units and the 2600 (or VCS) is now universally regarded as the godfather of home consoles. Even today, videogame aficionados fondly remember that primitive,...
Published on 12 Oct 2007 by S T A R W O R K S

versus
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as you remember
Ahhh...bak to the days when you didn't need shoulder buttons & analog sticks to play your games (cue dreamy music) All you needed was one giant stick & a big red button...Of course this meant that most games were ultra-simple & could be finished in a couple of hours. Most of the games on this device simply do not provide you with that much entertainment. Pong...
Published on 11 April 2006 by G. Cornish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From The Past!, 12 Oct 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
Undisputed leader of the home videogame market was Atari's truly revolutionary 2600 console. In fact, the pixellated magic produced by this teak-effect box of jiggery-pokery helped Atari shift over 30 million units and the 2600 (or VCS) is now universally regarded as the godfather of home consoles. Even today, videogame aficionados fondly remember that primitive, thumb-numbing Atari joystick with blister-tinged affection. Which is just as well, because ingenious boffins have now managed to cram 10 classic Atari games into an officially licensed replica Atari joystick!

The 10-in-1 really puts the "joy" in joystick, and you'll be unable to put it down, even when it's not plugged in. In fact, position it next to your PS2/Xbox/GameCube and see which one friends immediately go for. This truly is the most fantastic piece of plastic we've seen for years and, at less than the price of a single PS2 game, a snip to boot. Game - and life - over!

The Games

The Atari Classics 10-in-1 features 10 official and fully-licensed Atari games:

Asteroids®
Adventure(tm)
Missile Command®
Centipede®
Gravitar®
Yar's Revenge®
Breakout®
Pong®
Circus Atari(tm)
Real Sports Volleyball(tm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun in 2011!, 3 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
Firstly I'll say that I (mostly) knew what i was getting with this. This joystick is essentially an Atari 2600 home games machine (released in the last 70's) in a small joytstick. The joystick is exactly like those that originally shipped with the console, so no complaints there.

For me it was as simple as connecting it to my TV - it worked right away. Note that it requires batteries to operate (4 AA). A buddy and myself played with it all last night, the batteries lasted well. Total nostalgia trip - but I must say I think those who don't recall this system will be surprised at how addictive the games are. Fun, as you'll find out, has little to do with graphics and sound - it's the gameplay that counts.

The Atari 2600 played games from ROM's, and those ROMS were 128kb in size. That ought to give you an idea on what the graphics and sound is like. It's basic, but as I said, still fun.

I docked a point off my game rating. That's entirely down to the choice of games. I imagine everyone would have expected this to include Space Invaders and Pac-Man - they were THE games to have on the Atari 2600. Sadly, they're missing. I'd assume this was a licensing issue, but it's still a real pity. Of the games that are here I think I could have done without Pong (you can't even play against someone else), Breakout, and Volleyball. They're basically rubbish.

But how about focusing on the good? Missile Command is here, and that's fun. Asteroids is here too. But the one I was really surprised with - it's maddeningly addictive - is Circus Atari. Bouncing that little stick figure up to burst the "balloons" is terrific fun.

Emulation - which this is - is very good.

So that's about it, really. Other than the missing games we've had a blast playing what is here. I can see myself idly playing them some more, too. This is a solid bit of fun which I can't fault really. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as you remember, 11 April 2006
By 
G. Cornish (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
Ahhh...bak to the days when you didn't need shoulder buttons & analog sticks to play your games (cue dreamy music) All you needed was one giant stick & a big red button...Of course this meant that most games were ultra-simple & could be finished in a couple of hours. Most of the games on this device simply do not provide you with that much entertainment. Pong is just too easy, as is the volleyball game. Asteroids on the other hand is just too hard once you get past the first few levels. Breakout is the only game that I actually play from time to time...The other games do not hold up at all. If you want a trip down memory lane, then go for it, but don't expect it to last all that long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1980 all over again, 2 April 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
I must admit I asked for this console in order to relive my misspent days, circa 1983-84, playing Asteroids in student bars. Little did I realise that the Asteroids on this console was THE original Atari version, much more primitive and clunky, but still good - and totally TWO dimensional fun! The other games are a very mixed bunch - I'd have liked to see Space Invaders (SI) in there but other 'plug & play' SI consoles are available. Of course, the enjoyment these retro-boxes give is probably miniscule compared to the Wii's of this world, but I certainly have had some fun with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro memories, 14 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
I purchased this unit to use at work for a recent event. The unit has 10 games although the main game used on the day was pong. For people who remember the original atari it evoked happy memories, for the youngsters a sense of "what the...." but then had to have a go. Although the pong game is not the original (colour not black and white) it is a faithful representation and made grown men behave like 10 year olds again.great fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what is says on the box, 19 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
Easy to set up, works with HD LCD TV which I wasnt sure about, course you have to have the right connection sockets on your TV.

All games are faithfully reproduced and play well, certainly as well as they can given their origin; they are no match in speed, grpahics or colour for todays game systems but game play is there. Gravitar is easily the most addictive and for any old spectrum users out there this is the game thaty Thrust by Firebird software was based upon - very tricky but addictive.

The joystick itself is sufficiently well put together and all arrived well packed with no damage to product. Having to re-set after each game to select another is a common feature on these systems but it always worries me that the next re-set will be last...but so far so good!

I have several of these retro console re-builds and this is one of the best after the C64 one. If you like these then worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old School, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Stephen Gandy "Daddy Gandy" (Guildford, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
Brilliant, Brought back so many memories. Well worth it :)
Just a word of advice though: It did not work for me initially with the connections supplied in the box. I had to purchase an adaptor to connect the leads into a scart socket then plug that into my TV, it only cost a couple of quid extra and it would worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, 9 Oct 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
If like me your into retro, then don't buy this. The joystick is rubbish and totally unresponsive. The games are slow, and to be honest you would be better off buying one of the Atari arcade hits on CD for the PC. (If you have one) Waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crap, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
never gets used sits in draw feels cheep and nasty would not recommend getting it save your money and buy one at a swap meet for $1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great while it lasted (apparently), 9 Jan 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games (Video Game)
I bought this as a gift for someone and they had fun playing some of the old games that are on it. However, before I managed to get a turn (i.e. about an hour later), the graphics had deteriorated so badly that I could not distinguish different elements on the screen (paddle, score, ball, rocket etc.).

Sent it back and got a refund no problem.

My bad, eh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games
Atari Classics - Plug n Play TV Games by Namco Bandai (TV Plug & Play)
Used & New from: £12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews