Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely new and original - an underrated masterpiece
After seeing the short but massively funny trailers for BB3 including Avid Merrion, I was introduced to Bo' Selecta by a friend. At first glance I thought that this series would be a series of random sketches with no substance whatsoever.
How wrong was I! This is NOT an impressions show believe me! Don't expect a charicature of the celebrities shown; expect a...
Published on 23 Oct 2003 by N. Vesty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bo selecta
absolute rubbish in my opinion waste of money do not consider it at all funny regret having bought it at at all
Published 21 months ago by Thomas J. Culley


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series... disappointing DVD strategy, 8 Nov 2003
By 
P (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
Both series of Bo Selecta have been a triumph. It appears to polarise opinion, with many people delighted, repeating catchphrases and not being able to get enough of the comedy shenanighans, and other people resolutely saying 'I just don't get it'. If you liked it, you'll love the DVD releases.
The only thing that bothers me is that, by bringing out a Series 1&2 boxset at a bargain price at the same time as bringing out Series 2, it is a reward for those who waited and did not go out and buy the first series. While it costs us another £14.99 to complete the pair, they now offer the chance to buy both for a few quid more. They could have waited...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff, 28 Dec 2004
By 
'The guy with the weird rubber masks,'(as my friend refers to it), is back with series 3. My favourite series of bo selecta so far. Wasnt too keen on series 1 but series 3 has some priceless moments. Especially when avid is interviewing Jack Osbourne and starts discussing what he'd like to do to kylie.
However, if you're not a bo' selecta fan this wont change your mind as its a love/hate series.
If you're a fan though i strongly recommend you add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's proper bo I tell thee., 4 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bo' Selecta: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is very funny. It's not as stupid as it looks . You've got to give it a chance. This is more than a foreign celebrity stalker saying rude things and people in masks with northern accents pretending to be celebrties. It's actually a lot more sophisticated than that but it might take a few watches to realise. I know it did for me. Self-parody at it's best. Once you've 'got it', you'll just find it hilarious.
Lots of extras on the DVD as well. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When I say Bo say Selecta, 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: Bo' Selecta: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Has to be one of the funniest channel 4 tv shows since South Park.Just give this ten years then people will be calling it a classic.Join Avid Marrion in his wild journey to follow celebs (including cameo appearences with some).Aided by "The Bear" and rubber masked celebrities from Craig David to Michael Jackson.
The DVD is a must have, it has some great outtakes and deleted scenes and a commentry on every episode so go and buy it.
CAN I GET A REWIND!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's proper Bo' I tell thee., 18 Jun 2003
By 
Martin Graham (Holmfirth, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bo' Selecta: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I've been watching this since the start and I'm addicted. Anyone who was a big fan of Spitting Image and generally craves comedy that's a bit different will love Bo' Selecta. I'm not sure where Avid is from in real life, but he can do a better Yorkshire accent than me - and I'm a Yorkshireman.
Too many fantastic sketches to mention, or do justice by trying to explain them - just buy it and watch it. It's Proper Bo'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the only things worth watching on TV today., 13 Aug 2003
This review is from: Bo' Selecta: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I live part of the year in BC and part back home in England.I got back this time in March and I go back in a few days time. (what has all this got to do with anything?) Well in the last 5 months I have only switched on my TV about 10-12 times.
And 7 of those was for Bo Selecta. Truly original side splitting humour. Wonderful Stuff. Leigh Francis is a genius and all i have left to say is CHAMONE MO FO'S HEEE HEEE!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When I say Bo, say Selecta! Thank you please., 27 Aug 2003
This review is from: Bo' Selecta: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Bo' Selecta! and its stalker host Avid Merrion is the brainchild of thirty year old Yorkshireman Leigh Francis. Leigh plays the fanatical Transylvanian (not Scandinavian) 'super-fan' Avid Merrion, who is obsessed with tracking down and pestering all celebrities, usually the Z-list big brother types (he has somehow managed to capture Craig from BB1, who he keeps locked in a cupboard). When not playing Avid, Leigh dons masks and wigs to play 're-invented' gross caricatures of the same celebrities in gaspingly hilarious sketches, often involving members of the public. His foul-mouthed Michael Jackson/Huggy Bear hybrid is too fun to watch, especially his 'Moon-Walking' down Guildford high street. As offensive (and as ginger) as Dennis Pennis but much funnier and far less nasty. Some people will find Bo' Selecta! extremely vulgar but even so it is a completely original, inventive and highly refreshing British comedy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bo selecta, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bo' Selecta: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
absolute rubbish in my opinion waste of money do not consider it at all funny regret having bought it at at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BO Selecta !!, 12 Oct 2003
Bo Selecta is a comedy loved by all who watch! featuring Craiiiigggg Daaaavvvid on the scccchhhhoooollll bus and many other shelebrities(celebrities). Avid Merrion is that man that you dont want to be friends with but if you were you would have a right laf! This video is Proper Bo i tell thee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Propa Bo, 5 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This is one of the best TV series I've ever seen. Well worth buying. This is just my opinion, but its not half as embarrasing as The Office, and it's much funnier. Somehow, however, I wouldn't reccomend it to viewers of more intelligent comedies. Some of the extra features on the second series DVD are a bit unfunny though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bo' Selecta: Series 1 [DVD] [2002]
Bo' Selecta: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] by Leigh Francis (DVD - 2003)
£2.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews