Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great episodes!
Towards the end of the first series, we have some pretty good episodes.
Serena has found out her past as the Moon Princess, but is depressed over Darien. Mina suggests that she has a makeover to try and cheer herself up, but the salon turns out to be another place for the Negamoon to collect energy.
The girls attend a finishing school as Serena decides she would...
Published on 11 Oct 2003 by lotrrr

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really hate to say this, but I got to say it!!!!
Sailor Moon has a very good story line, great animation, great characters, its funny to watch, a fantastic girls anime etc..., so why have I only given this DVD 1 star??? The answer is the way it has been dubbed. I honestly don't think any one will like this DVD anymore and they will want to throw it away, if they actually watched the original Japanese uncut version...
Published on 30 Jun 2004 by Madoka_Snow


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great episodes!, 11 Oct 2003
Towards the end of the first series, we have some pretty good episodes.
Serena has found out her past as the Moon Princess, but is depressed over Darien. Mina suggests that she has a makeover to try and cheer herself up, but the salon turns out to be another place for the Negamoon to collect energy.
The girls attend a finishing school as Serena decides she would like to act more like a princess ... but she can't dance or eat nicely, the only thing she can do is throw a frisbee thanks to her Moon Tiara Magic attack!
There are some more cute episodes where the girls go skiing, and Serena goes on holiday with her family.
A good, edited dubbed version for younger fans of Sailor Moon; older anime fans may wish to seek out the uncut and more sophisticated, mature version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really hate to say this, but I got to say it!!!!, 30 Jun 2004
Sailor Moon has a very good story line, great animation, great characters, its funny to watch, a fantastic girls anime etc..., so why have I only given this DVD 1 star??? The answer is the way it has been dubbed. I honestly don't think any one will like this DVD anymore and they will want to throw it away, if they actually watched the original Japanese uncut version.
This DVD has missed out 3 episodes because the Americans did not translate them because of scenes that are unsuitable for kids!!! Sailor Mercury is not meant to appear until episode 8, but because they miss out 3 episodes she appears in episode 4. Speaking of scenes which are unsuitable for kids... the dubbed version has cut and edit out loads of them! and yes I mean lot's of them. The running length of an episode is meant to be just over 25 minutes, but it has been reduced down to approximately 22 minutes including the "Sailor Says" part which they add to make the episodes longer. The following episodes they missed out are:- I'll punish you! the fortune house is a Youma's house, the demonic scent! schaneera steals love, protect the song of love! Usagi(Serena) plays cupid.
Another major difference between the 2 versions are the music. The music in the dubb version is more up to date & the music in the Japanese version is old fashioned, but Sailor Moon has been around for more than 10 years now!
My final conclusion is that it dissapointed me alot! now we have got to hope that MVM will begin to re-publish all the Sailor Moon DVD's in Japanese with English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as Expected, 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
I have been waiting for this particular Japanese anime for well over a year now after reading the origanla manga. Although it does not meet expectations this series is enjoyable.
The storyline follows Serena (usagi, bunny) who discovers she is the scout (senshi) of the moon and she must find her fellow scouts and then protect the moon princess and the silver imperium crystal.
Along the way clumsy cry baby serena ends up with a mystery man named Tuxedo Mask in tow with an annoying man named Darien Shields.
Although there are bif differences between the manga and in the anime you will easily pick up the terms. The story has also been modified to prolong the series, there are three episodes with just Serena in and around forty episodes until the series finale which is in book three of the manga. A quick glossary in which manga terms are modified to the series:
negaverse - negaforce
princess serenity - princess serena
bunny - serena
A lot of other things have been changed as well but you'll pick them up as the poor editing falls into place.
If you want better quality storylines and fast paced action with enjoyable scenes played into it buy the manga, it will give you a feel for the characters and the origanal story and it's creators wonderful artwork and writing skills.
Of course, I love this series, but watch out for the finale of the series. It's actually two japanese episodes mashed into one half hour american one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Sailor moon DVD so far....., 9 Mar 2004
I am glad that MVM decided to produce more Sailor Moon DVD's as GMTV stopped showing it ages ago. I don't know why it says on the DVD cover "as seen on GMTV" when they only showed the first 13 episodes. Anyway this is my favourite Sailor Moon DVD published so far so it is 4 stars, no offence but the other Sailor Moon DVD's are less than 3 stars, because the way they have been editted.
The DVD shows the final conclusion to Alan's and Ann doom tree and a begining of a new enemy "Catzi", who is after Sailor Moon's daughter Rini. You will see Darien and Serena getting together for the first time. I find the DVD very funny as Serena crys and eats up all the food, my favourite episode is "Mirror, Mirror on the wall" In this episode Ann gets the role of Snow White to try to win Darien's heart, which Serena is not pleased with as she plays the role of the wicked witch, then Alan sends an enemy to capture energy, but the show must go on! I also like the episode "Secret garden" this is where Serena discovers the doom tree and where it gets exciting, but I hate spoiling the story so you will just have to watch it!
The only bad point about this DVD is that they cut and edit scenes out which is a let down, but overall it is enjoyable to watch! now if only they release a UK edition of the Sailor Moon TV series and movies in Japanese with English subtitles.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bye Bye Sailor Moon R!, 11 Jun 2005
The End of Sailor Moon R in this DVD!
This is the last DVD DiC edited and thank goodness! THis DVD see's Rini new transformation into "wicked lady" And the scouts final battle with Wiseman. All episodes are pretty cool, i especially like "Final Batlle" and "Brotherly love."
Great DVD, sailor moon fans will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon - The Ultimate Pretty Girl Anime?, 6 Dec 2002
Sailor Moon is quite frankly, a brilliant show. It starts out with a 14 year old girl called Serena (Usagi Tsukino), who must learn to fight evil as a superhero - Sailor Moon.
This video shows where the series starts to become brilliant. Sailor Moon is joined by the second Sailor Scout, Sailor Mercury, also known as Amy Anderson (Ami Mizuno) - a girl with a genius IQ.
These two episodes - Computer School Blues and Time Bomb show how Serena befriends Amy, who seems a cold person at first, but is then shown to be extremely friendly, even though she studies a lot.
I'm saddened that this series is not being shown any longer in England, but out of the 5 videos that were released here, this is the one that you should buy.
Computer School Blues shows how Sailor Mercury is awakened just before she has her head chopped off, and Time Bomb shows Amy getting the Mercury SuperComputer and VR Visor, as well as a humourous scene where Sailor Moon imagines herself as an old lady.
All in all, a worthwhile purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than before, 26 Dec 2001
By 
It is my favorite animation series, and one of my favourted episodes of this series
In these episode a dream vacation on the Sunset Romance Cruise turns into really bad trip for Sailor Moon and her scouts. The Negaverse has sent Jadeite and Titis to steal all the love energy from the humans on board. Sailor Moon and Sailor Mars also learn that letting someone make you feel bad about yourself is never a good idea.
In episode 10 the evil Jadeite challenges the three Sailor Scouts to a duel on the main runway of the local airport. Jadeite knows if he lose, Queen Beryl will punish him with Eternal Sleep condemning him to the most profound darkness forever. Queen Beryl also introduces a new solider, an auburnhaired minion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon Volume 13! 5 great eppisodes, 1 May 2005
This DVD really pushes the storyline of the sailor moon R season a fair bit.
The scouts, Rini, the cats and Tuxedo Mask finally (FINALLY!!!) decide to go to Crystal Tokyo to save little Rini's mother.
The scouts relise that Sereena and Darien are Rini's future parents, which we (the audience) already know.
5 great episodes- go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sailor Moon Episodes 7 + 8, 22 Sep 2002
Episode7-An Uncharmed Life
Buses are disappearing near the local temple and the sailor scouts think it may have something to do with the negaverse. This is the episode where they are joined by Raye-Sailor Mars who is a priestess at the temple and gets in the way of Jedite's evil plans.A very exciting and funny episode.
Episode 8- Nightmare in Dreamland
The 3 sailor scouts find out that the disappearances which are rumored to be linked to the newly opened theme park are more then rumours and the theme park is being controlled by the evil Jedite. They must fight the negaverse to save the innocent people that are being drained of energy but can they keep themselves from falling into Jedite's evil trap? A scary and amusing episode which is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever!, 30 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Basically, I've been a sailor moon fan for ages and these two episodes are just two of the reasons why! At this stage of the sailor moon series, the viewer would have established sailor moon as nothing but a little cry baby, but in these to episodes and preceeding ones, we start to see sailor moon blooming as a stronger character! On top of that, there is more teasing from Darien, which provides further homour for the audience and Lumars constant pushing! The animation isn't brillent, but the story line makes up for it! Hence buy buy buy! Go on, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sailor Moon: Episodes 19-24 [DVD]
Sailor Moon: Episodes 19-24 [DVD] by Jun'ichi Satô (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews