Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harvest moon : gamecube
You've inherited your dads farm and now you've got to run it.
Quite an in-depth game with a lot of detail. You have to milk the cows, wash them, love them, feed them - not only that but you have to take into account their fertility too.
Theres a lot to do here including raising crops where you have to hoe the land, plant seeds and water them at regular times...
Published on 7 April 2004 by Ms. A. M. Thompson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but quite boring after a while
I found this a bit boring. Graphics are cute, animals are cute, music is sweet, but it gets tedious quickly
Published 16 months ago by Helena


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its harvest moon jim, but not as we know it..., 28 Mar 2004
By 
J. F. Crosbie "jonno394" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
harvest moon, a great series of games about farming, selling crops, and getting married, all mixed up with fun festivals and strange events. However, this game is not always like this. Although it is very good, i could not help feeling like there was something missing, and i decided that this was festivals. No longer can you watch the girls(there are three in this one) perform at the goddess festival, or go egg hunting, this is a streamlined harvest moon, but it is extremely long. Don't let this take anything away from the game. In it's own right it is great. The graphics are great, the music is cheerful and the character design, especially murrey the hobo, but in my opinion, this game is let down by its design, which is not terrible, but is not as good as it could have been.
Oh and mary clifford, free play is just a rumour at the moment, it had neither been confirmed or denied, but we will see, maybe finishing it three times marrying a different girl each time will get it unlocked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 July 2004
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
I really really love Harvest Moon and I would recommend it to anyone at all. But I can't deny it has one or two flaws:
Well its quite slow at moving around and just moving from one end of the farm to the other can waste away time.
There is sometimes far too much to do and sometimes not enough.
and It can become a little tedious after a while. But still good! Some will argue that this it true of any game of its type but I think its easy to get a little bored with this game after a while.
But enough of the negatives - after all I gave it 4 stars! Harvest Moon is simply lovely. The graphics are great and the storyline is great - You have to find a wife (choice of 3) then you have a kid - also cute! You have to take care of him, keep your wife happy, take care of the animals and grow enough crops to feed your family and make money! Sounds complicated?! You get the hang of it!
All in all a beautiful game - definatly worth the buy! Go on BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This game needs a real make over !!!!, 26 Aug 2006
By 
James F. T. Mainwaring "angela15046" (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
Why have they done this to harvest moon. they have completely and uterly destroyed the originals they should have built on. Where are the festivals to livin the game play up, oh yes i remember it's going to watch somebody play a very bad song on the guitar, twice a year. Where are the huge barns to house your 40 cows and sheep. where are the challenges of earning your bigger rucksack, your basket, and more importantly the difficult job of raising your horse. these challenges kept the game going they provided you with a strong story line and new challenges to achieve every day. some reviewers may not have played the originals so did not no what to expect in a harvest moon, and think it was good for what it is!!!!

I feel that harvest moon is becoming less for people of all ages and more for people who are between the ages of 4-11. I have not played "magical melody" but you have to collect magical notes how babyish do you want to make a game meant for all (i repeat) ALL!!!!! ages, they are getting away from the people who are past 14 years old and starting to make it suitable for younger and younger people.

As is said in another review where are the shipping bins?! you have to spend hours selling them to a trader!! the way there is no real food processing room, where is the mayonaise maker and the weaver. This game needs a structure, if it did this game could be a new classic but as it is it is just a game witch will collect dust or find its way to back to a shop to sell.

If you like just like the farming side of the harvest moon games and not the depth that the originals gave like "back to nature" where all the festivals the minor and major challenges brought forward produce a truely amazing game then buy "a wonderful life" but for all the true diehard harvestmoon fans it is best you keep your wallet safley in your poket until a true harvest moon comes out!!!!!!!

Game Play: 4/10 game play slow and boring

Sound: gets on my nerves you have to find and swap the records, a bit pointless?!!

Graphics: 9/10 graphics by far the best part of this game. i find they bring out what ever life this game has.

Storyline: 2/10 there are no challenges no alternatives to lighten up the game like festivals, no hard work to get extensions like hous of log cutting or mining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest game you'll ever play in your short life!, 26 May 2004
By 
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
This game is the most fantastic game i've ever come across. The graphics have to be complimented.The game its self is unique you inherit your fathers farm and have to build it up in your life time of 30 years by the first year your farm should be ready made you should no your daily routine and be able to sell your vegetables.You can enter your horse (that you raise) in race compititions. you can also choose a bride from three lovely ladies and then raise a child. The game is like sims but 1,000,000 times better. you can also explore the village if you plant your seeds water your plants grow your crops and feed your animals quick enough and in the village you can find really exiting things to do you have to also socalise with town freinds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good or Bad & Like or Dislike?, 19 Mar 2004
By 
Brandan (Oregon, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
i bought this game and it is awsome. i like the graphics the characters etc...its diferent from the other harvest moon b/c you focus more on your farm not the town & its a lot harder to learn right away. i dont know how to sell my vetables though and i dont like the fact that you have to order every thing, i wish you could just go out and buy it yourself. i like that there is no more "miricle potion" and the different kinds of animal. and you get to actually raise your kid! not have them just sit there. i wish the days were longer, b/c it takes a long time to water your crops and take care of your animals since time passes in a building. and i would like the seasons to be longer too. but i like how you can save in the middle of a day.
but the most IMPORTANT part is WATCH the buttons icon in the TOP RIGHT CORNER, when it says "LOOK" do it, thats where i messed up and had to start over. but over all i like this game and i cant wait to see where it will go next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harvest moon a very very very very wonderful life, 11 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
Harvest moon is a brilliant game.
You can acctully die of old age and the whole game is just bassicly real.its graphics are brilliant.you can go and marry people and even have babies!you can make loads of crops to sell and eat if you have any left.with this game your whole life will be trapped in a scren...
By Sam Eley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet mercy, 26 Sep 2003
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
Personally i think the Harvest Moon series is one of the best original ideas ever created. Who ever said there cant be a game with no violence in it? All the other HM games ive experienced have been a joy play and this one i know will be no exception. hehe i never knew that farming was so much fun!... Why oh why though do we have to wait soooo long to play it! I've just checked Natsume.com and read that now the release date has just been delayed untill next year!! Im gonna be ploughing fields just to make the time go by... hurry up Natsume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars zzzzzzzzz............Oh wait is the game over??????????, 24 May 2004
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
The first thing i have to say about this game is,its not exactly tentious,or tense,its a farming game,yes a farming game.
The graphics are very nice and remind me to an extent of the fantastic Crystal Cronicles.
The sound is to be frank, rubbish.Every footstep you walk you get a very weird and annoying sound.
You basically have to run a farm, and there is a village nearby, and the occupants of this village follow their own shedule, its a pity they seem to do nothing exciting then.
You have to water the crops, feed the animals and in the first year woo some ladies, one is a desperate one, one is normal and one is, for a want of a better word,weird.
Watering the crops is the most tedious and boring parts of the game, and then you have to flog them off, but on somedays there isnt enough time to do all the chores and on others, there is too much time and you end up going to sleep 2 or 3 times in a day to make the time pass by quickly.
Its not a vert exciting game, or a very auxillerating one, but it will hook you, and you dont know why you want to go backa nd play it, but you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best RPG ever, 7 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
The RPG which has been pasted through the N64 is better then ever it's a hugh game which takes at least 100 hours most likely more. U build ur own farm and breed animals and u have to find a girlfrienda and propose to her. U have a choice of 3 girls Nami, Celia and Muffy. They all like different things like flowers, fossils, produce from ur farm and cooked meals from u. After u r married u get a child and not only do u have to look after the farm the crops and the animals u have to look after ur family. U buy ur own seeds to grow plants u can even grow trees and make and orchard. U get a horse that u can ride around the town on u can set up ur own stool. Over all it is the BEST i meen BEST RPG Ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit more detailed, 6 July 2003
This review is from: Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube) (Video Game)
Another one for the series, harvest moon is back.(again...) In this one you can befriend up to forty people and you are able to marry(and have kids with) one of the women in the town of you're choice(be nice, people!!). You're time in this game spans through thirty years in your characters life. In the earlier parts of this game you're choices will decide what sort of future you will have. More animals, more characters,better graphics, what else could you ask for? Well, maybe you may be thinking that this will be a boring game and that probably is the downside but there are lots to do in it... Happy gaming!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life (GameCube)
Used & New from: £11.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews