Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bill stuff
As always Bill Hicks delivers superb social commentary and comic timing in this album recorded in Oxford Playhouse. It is the only album of his that is recorded in England, which gives it some novelty value and it's interesting to hear how he tailors his jokes and how the audience react slightly differently to those in America.
However if you own either Arizona Bay...
Published on 7 April 2004 by R. Dennis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the unabridged recording ('Salvation')
I'm one of those Hardcore Bill Hicks fans (see profile) & this is one of two CD's of his that I hadn't tried. If you read the other reviews of this CD, you will know that this recording is a shortened version of Bill's performance in the Oxford Playhouse (the full version being Salvation: Oxford - November 11, 1992).
It was released in 2003 in time for the second...
Published on 23 April 2010 by Magic Lemur


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bill stuff, 7 April 2004
By 
R. Dennis (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock & Awe: Live at Oxford Playhouse, 11 November ,1992 (Audio CD)
As always Bill Hicks delivers superb social commentary and comic timing in this album recorded in Oxford Playhouse. It is the only album of his that is recorded in England, which gives it some novelty value and it's interesting to hear how he tailors his jokes and how the audience react slightly differently to those in America.
However if you own either Arizona Bay or Rant in E Minor then this purchase is a bit surplus, there is no really new material and I could quote some parts from the other two. But for devotees it is a must purchase for the 2 minutes of stuff you haven't heard. It gets 4 stars because it's Bill at his best, but nothing new.
Rant in E Minor is still the best for Goat Boy virgins, but this is just as good as any of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - delivery slightly different, 4 Jun 2003
By 
Iain Black - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock & Awe: Live at Oxford Playhouse, 11 November ,1992 (Audio CD)
Well, wooppee, another bill hicks cd! Dont get too worked up though, it's more of the same. This CD seems like a bit of a cash-in than an offering of anything new. For example, it's not an 'official' rykodisk one in a turquoisy case but just a normal CD. The CD itself does not have a 'sketch' on it either, this is not a 'real' bill hicks cd.
So there you go, i'm being picky maybe but if your new to bill hicks buy the best of or any of his proper albums first! If your a die hard fan and are considering buying this then i probably would. He delivers his jokes in a more 'english' way and pokes fun at the audience by talking in their style at himself 'Bill, this is oxford you know. we're not interested in pornography. we read poetry, art... Ok, i'l tell you what it's like and save you a field trip'. So, it's a great little CD where bill is more playful and loose but dont expect to hear much new.
If your a completist though, you still get a good few chuckles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the unabridged recording ('Salvation'), 23 April 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock & Awe: Live at Oxford Playhouse, 11 November ,1992 (Audio CD)
I'm one of those Hardcore Bill Hicks fans (see profile) & this is one of two CD's of his that I hadn't tried. If you read the other reviews of this CD, you will know that this recording is a shortened version of Bill's performance in the Oxford Playhouse (the full version being Salvation: Oxford - November 11, 1992).
It was released in 2003 in time for the second Gulf War as the 2003 war was a classic example of history repeating itself (i.e. in both 1990 & 2003 Kylie was at Number One, Bush was U.S. President & there was a war in Iraq, etc).
Although using another eloquent voice to speak out against the 2nd Gulf War is a good idea (albeit a dead one), I got the impression that this was a bit of a cash-in.

The problem is that it isn't an official release (from the Hicks' estate) & was actually just the result of a few former students cashing in their piece of Bill Hicks legacy.
Yes: the content is awesome & lacks some of the worst excesses of 'Salvation', but it is essentially a fake - the same material released solely to profit from Hicks' resurgent popularity.

Don't get me wrong - it is one of his best performances - but it seems to me to be a similar category to Denis Leary's thieving of Bill Hicks' material (e.g. No Cure for Cancer). Talented people often get stolen off & watered down by people cashing in on their efforts.

Hence I think Bill himself (judging by his 'sucking Satan's c.ck' routine on here) would tell you not to buy this CD as it is a cash-in & a wan imitation of the real thing.

If you want the real Bill Hicks, get Arizona Bay or Rant in E-Minor first. If you want a live performance, then get Salvation & Relentless or the DVD's Sane Man & Totally Bill Hicks. By all means listen to this, but save your money & get the better, longer version - it's even 6p cheaper!

P.S. As an afterthought, am I alone in hoping that Mr Hicks finally did find a woman at this concert who digged Goatboy (& wasn't just into weird poetry)?
Even now, there could be a 16/17 year old young comedian just starting his career in Oxford (born of a single mother & with a taste for porn), who one day may take over the mantle of his dad. Here's hoping...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goatboy continues to punch his weight, and yours..., 28 May 2003
By 
T. Ravenscroft "Tim" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock & Awe: Live at Oxford Playhouse, 11 November ,1992 (Audio CD)
I'm a HUGE Hicks fan. I have everything released, videos, cd's, books, DVD's etc. etc. and so approached this "new" release with a little trepidation, especially as the cynical “Bill” side of me wondered that the timing of this release might just have been cashing in on the recent latest Persian Gulf distraction.
I was wrong.
This is without doubt the best of the releases to date, and that includes the video of Sane Man that I bought direct from Sacred Cow Productions. It could have been recorded last week, timeless indeed, but a sad indictment of our times that we’re still the bullies of the world and the Labour party have become everything we detested about the Tories.
I’m not going to quote Ad Naseum because nothing compares to hearing the man himself.
Do yourself a favour, buy this, listen to it and spread the gospel according to Hicks to as many different people as you can and tell them to do likewise. Then, maybe, we can all learn, evolve and get the **** off this planet.
Simply put this man is simply the funniest thing our collective consciousness has ever produced.
Apart from me….
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prophetic Comedic Genius-We miss ya Bill!, 12 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Shock & Awe: Live at Oxford Playhouse, 11 November ,1992 (Audio CD)
Bill Hicks-the funniest man on two legs( or is it four?)totally blew me away we I listened to this CD.
Side achingly ascerbic,pant wettingly witty, 'Shock & Awe' delivers the bunker blasters in under 45minutes.
Everybody from Jimmy White,George Bush to Christians get a good tongue lashing.
The ultimate alternative comedian.God bless Ya Bill.You've kept me sane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shock and Awe, 7 Nov 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shock & Awe: Live at Oxford Playhouse, 11 November ,1992 (Audio CD)
Recorded in Oxford, England this CD is another gem showing Bill at his funniest. This has no new material, but shows how he adapted his act for different audiences and how the English react to his wit and humour. I love it that he can make you laugh and open your eyes wide to the irony in life at the same time. His political jokes are sharp and witty and his life observations are not only true, but hilarious. The jokes about the gulf war and George Bush are especially funny and pertinent taking into account modern developments. Sadly the 'Goat Boy' jokes go on a touch too long and wear a bit thin, but that's a minor fault. This isn't as caustic as Rant in E-Minor, or as fresh as Dangerous, but it is a great album regardless. Not necessarily one to share with your mum, but one to share with all your friends, family and colleagues and as many people as possible!!! Simply brilliant.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead but not Buried, 22 July 2003
This review is from: Shock & Awe: Live at Oxford Playhouse, 11 November ,1992 (Audio CD)
What a well timed release, a fair bit of US/Iraq related bits. Not that much more actual new material.
First timers might do better with his first four Ryko releases Relentless, Dangerous, Arzonia Bay, and of course Rant...)
But this is brilliant addition to your Bill Hicks Collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews