Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£49.80+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2004
brainfreeze. This collection of rare and classic rnb,soul,funk,and scratching is absolutely outstanding. Starting off sounding like "oh-no whats going on here" for the first few moments but then erupts into class you cant repeat. Their skill as producers and turntabilists is shown clearly here as the recording was recorded as a practice just before they went to play the set live at a night called "Future Primitive" in san francisco on feb 25th 99. the cd is the best of two takes you wont be disapointed even if you aint a great fan your foot will tap. I own it and wont part with it for less than a kidney. Even then it better be a damn fresh one!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2008
I'm not fanatical about either of these dudes, yet there's something that just works with Brainfreeze. It's completely creative without being at all self-indulgent. Old funk & soul samples are twisted & stuttered, & the whole experience gives the clear impression of two very talented individuals with a passion for their art. The added whispered vocals & horns make "Organ Donor" way more effective than the Endtroducing original, & the inclusion of Dance the Slurp is just the icing on the cake. Aimed as much for the clubs as it is for your headphones, Brainfreeze superbly displays every aspect of why I love hip hop so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
6 or so years ago i was shopping in Brighton wandered into a random store and the music that was playing was this amazing mix of 60's & 70's funk with amazing turntabalism. I ask what they were playing, and was shown Brainfreeze. I did nothing short of RUN to the nearest music megastore and paid quite a lot of money for it. It was worth every penny and i havent stopped playing it since.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
Okay, first off, prices for this cd seem a bit high for a bootleg - Amazon, are you supporting piracy? Check out DJ Shadow's comments on his website if you want to know more.
Secondly, nice mix, some lovely sounds on show, but I think the hype machine is at work - it's good, but there is better out there. I was expecting to be blown away, instead I found myself going hmmmmmm....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2003
Zut Alore! Excellent, unfathomable, genius.
This is a beautiful collection of incredible songs, incredibly mixed. hats off to them both.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
i got product placement first,then found out about this classic,what an album the cutting and scratching is excellent,it wont be out of my player for any length of time,well worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2003
This is the second impeccable mix by DJ Shadow and Cut Chemist that cleverly fuses the finest soul, funk, and hip-hop - the scratching is also excellent. These guys have spent an unbelievable amount of time in record shops searching for 60s/70s tunes with that gem of a beat or loop, many of which you will not have heard. In this instance, they have combined these with some of their own tracks from 'Endtroducing', etc. The result is an thoroughly enjoyable musical experience. Although this is a fantastic CD, I personally prefer their first mix, 'Product Placement', that features all old 45s.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2003
This is the second impeccable mix by DJ Shadow and Cut Chemist that cleverly fuses the finest soul, funk, and hip-hop - the scratching is also excellent. These guys have spent an unbelievable amount of time in record shops searching for 60s/70s tunes with that gem of a beat or loop, many of which you will not have heard. In this instance, they have combined these with some of their own tracks from 'Endtroducing', etc. The result is an thoroughly enjoyable musical experience for you r pleasure. Although this is a fantastic CD, I personally prefer their first mix, 'Product Placement', that features all old 45s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
Probably one of the worst songs ever to grace our office - led to the downfall of self-confessed music snob Bobby T.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)