Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took me a while but....wow! My favourite Deftones album!
This album never enticed me for years, although I admit I didn't give it much of a shot....

It's not easy listening at first but give it a chance and you'll really appreciate a powerful, heavy album that is far above the other metal acts of the day (Korn, Bizkit, Mudvayne, Slipknot, etc)

It didn't take me long after giving the album another shot to...
Published on 20 Jan 2007 by Ian Rockett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not great not terrible a different direction that doesn't quite work but does
With the deftones new album the band have chosen to experiment with their riff heavy sound a little bit more, they have taken their riffs and sludgificated them up,concentrating on a more tool esque style of working on the Soundscapes and atmospheres of the album. With this you Find Chino more kind of crooning and wailing in the microphone with lots of dribbling heavy...
Published 25 days ago by Cubby Kovu


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took me a while but....wow! My favourite Deftones album!, 20 Jan 2007
By 
Ian Rockett "Rockettmeister" (Greystones, Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
This album never enticed me for years, although I admit I didn't give it much of a shot....

It's not easy listening at first but give it a chance and you'll really appreciate a powerful, heavy album that is far above the other metal acts of the day (Korn, Bizkit, Mudvayne, Slipknot, etc)

It didn't take me long after giving the album another shot to make this my favourite Deftones album, followed by their latest, Saturday Night Wrist. This album is dark, moody, heavy, bombastic, majestic, frightening, and imcomparable all at the same time. From Stef's monstrous 7-string driven riffs from hell to Frank's atmospheric keyboards and intelligently unique samples to Abe's powerful and innovative drumming to Chi's big intelligent basslines to, finally, Chino's manic vocals, ranging from spaced out melodies to insanity-ravaged screams, this album is as chaotic as it is wonderful.

1: Hexagram - A powerful opener, with huge riffs and insanely tortured vocals, it features a complex and difficult chorus. Powerful opener. 5/5

2: Needles & Pins - Hilariously low tuned song which, as it turns out, is actually played by Stef on a distorted bass (trust me, I've seen it live). More laid back than the opener, with some good riffs and good vocal perfomance. 4/5

3: Minerva - Beautiful, majestic and gigantic song. One of Chino's best vocal performances, filled out by Frank's keyboards. 5/5

4: Good Morning Beautiful - Another great melodic vocal performance, with some great guitar riffs from Stef. Great groove in the chorus. 5/5

5: Deathblow - Not one of my highlights, but a good slow song with a big chorus, some nice sampling from Frank to create the atmosphere. 3.5/5

6: When Girls Telephone Boys - Wow. One of my favourite Deftones songs. Insane distorted vocals, with some great drumming, and brilliant sampling from Frank that you need to listen out for(it's more audible if you hear it live). Most of all, the super-heavy groove-enhanced riff in the chorus is simply one of the best metal riffs EVER. Kudos to Stef for that! 5/5

7: Battle-Axe - Good slow, brooding song, with some big guitars, and Chino returning to some more melodic vocals. 4/5

8: Lucky You - I prefer 'Pink Cellphone' on SNW (apart from the obscene ending). I like Deftones' more electronic, atmospheric songs, as Frank Delgado is a genius in that area, but this song lacks direction and doesn't catch my attention personally. 2/5

9: Bloody Cape - Again, wow. Stephen Carpenter pulls out some really badass riffs when he wants to, and the main riff of this is face melting. This, 'WGTB' and 'Minerva' are my 3 favourites on this album. Good bassline in the verses, and a HUGE ending with Chino screaming his lungs into non-existence "God help me! God help me! God help me! God!!" 5/5

10: Anniversary Of An Uninteresting Event - A great title for a gorgeous song, driven by Frank's keyboards and Chino's meandering vocal melodies. A beautiful, atmospheric change of pace. 5/5

11: Moana - I'm not a huge fan of this song, the start is good enough, but the song doesn't really take off and isn't a great finish to an otherwise wonderful album.

Deftones are simple but effective, while also being unique and intelligent. From bombastic heaviness to atmospheric beauty, this a must have for Deftones fans, or anyone who likes metal, atmosphere, and wonderful experimentation within Deftones' uncategorizable style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant., 3 Sep 2003
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
I first heard of Deftones when I saw My Own Summer (Shove It) on MTV2, and borrowed Around The Fur. They soon became one of my favourite bands. I found out that they had another album, White Pony, and I bought that. After hearing that, no-one could replace them as my favourite band. I saw this reviewed, and thought I would be disappointed after the pure brilliance of the previous two albums. I wasn't.
The album begins with the explosive Hexagram, one of the best tracks Chino and the gang have done, mixing brutal melodies with a range of screeches and soft vocals, and a Tourette-esque chorus.
The first single, Minerva, was a tad disappointing for me, it's not Deftones at their best, but still better than most of what's put out nowadays.
When Girls Telephone Boys is another frickin brilliant tune (Chino does the best Dalek impression in rock), with suitably brutal vocals to match the rage-filled lyrics about stalking.
Lucky You is featured on the Matrix Reloaded soundtrack, and was meant to be a song for Chino and DJ Frank Delgado's side project, Team Sleep. This is what it's meant to be - relaxing and intriguing.
Bloody Cape is the upcoming UK single, and is a much better choice than Minerva. This is a vintage Deftones release, with stunning guitar and those unique vocals.
Anniversary Of An Uninteresting Event is a simply beautiful song, almost reduced me to tears. Oceanic cymbals and some of the band's best lyrics yet.
This album is well-deserving of a 5-star rating. I look forward to seeing Deftones and APC at Wembley on September 19th. It's going to be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The untitled album with the unending brilliance., 26 Aug 2003
By 
Mr. A. Anson "Lexifer Crowley" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
Deftones had wanted to lose their band name, too, but their record company had not felt that would be good for record sales. So here's their first untitled album. By far my favourite tracks on the album are Battle-Axe and Anniversary Of An Uninteresting Event. Both of these songs touched me deep inside. The whole album is amazing, however. I didn't like this album so much on first listen, but I listened to it more and more and I realised that it was the best album Deftones have ever done. Every single song is excellent. While it is far from the Artistic edge of White Pony or the random brutality of Adrenaline, this is not a bad thing. This whole album is excellent. I love it far more than I love White Pony, Adrenaline, Around The Fur... It's Deftones' best album yet. There're uncompromisingly brutal songs (Hexagram, When Girls Telephone Boys), softer songs (Deathblow, Lucky You) and they're all of high quality. Deftones have done it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sultry vocals meet hardcore rocking - delicious!, 19 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
Yet another great release from deftones. So far each album release has had its brilliant points and its low points. Deftones is a delicious blend of Chino's sensual, soft vocals on tracks such as the tender 'Minerva' and 'Deathblow', accompanied by beautiful guitar riffs from Stephen Carpenter.
It's all of their previous releases culminating in one - the hardcore roots and chilling screams of adrenaline bounced off sultry melodies and the cold beauty of White Pony.
The new album stands on its own merits as well though, some new entrancing beats and mixes blend well with Carpenter wailing on the guitar.
Stand out tracks would have to be 'Lucky You'. Haunting whispering vocals accompany very mellow and almost hypnotic mixing.
Another good listen would be 'Good Morning Beautiful', one of the more up tempo tracks, hammering bass lines and rough spine tingling harmonies can be found on 'Hexagram'.
I's classic deftones with some edgier, sweeter sounds to it. Whilst it may not be a huge step in another direction of sounds,its a tried and tested style that is part of what deftones are. Yet again they've come up with another inspirational fest of edge and icy grooves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavier, more inspired, their best album yet., 4 Jun 2003
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
15 years and 5 albums later, Deftones release their self-titled album. This is the one I've been waiting for. They've stuck mainly to their usual formula of low power chords, screaming uninterpretable lyrics and simple yet effective drumming, but somehow it sounds better than ever. White pony was an amazing release, which I (and many others) thought couldn't be beaten - we were wrong!
The songs are darker, and heavier, than ever, (such as the chorus of 'When Girls telephone Boys', featuring a perfect fitting kickdrum triplet) but they are more melodic and with Carpenter's samples echoing malevolantly in the background, they all work perfectly. Abe's footwork is much better on this album, being less predictable (the intro beat on 'Needles & Pins' is noteable), and really adding a thumping demonic sound to the whole effect.
All in all, this is a fantastic album which begs a listen, and a must-have for any metal/nu-metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Deftones have done it again!, 19 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
Once again the Deftones have pushed back the nu metal boundaries and have left other copycat bands far behind. This album seems quite experimental at first, using some unusual techniques, especially during Hexagram and Lucky you. Though there are some vintage Deftones songs such as 'When girls telephone boys' and 'Bloody Cape', so if your a big Deftones fan, you will not be disappointed. There are definitely elements from the previous 3 albums, but that�s not to say that the album is predictable. There are impressive new styles and techniques used which show how they have moved on as musicians. Chino has produced some great new lyrics, that seem slightly deeper than those on previous albums, but fit perfectly with the music, and as usual these lyrics have been printed in the albums inlet, which is also well presented. The use of 7-string guitars is very noticeably, giving the album a dark feel, which may put you off if you haven�t heard the Deftones before. This album flows in much the same way as White Pony, with heavy songs being mixed with slow songs and so the album has an overall professional feel to it. The CD also includes some great multimedia extras on CD ROM. My advice is, if your buying your first Deftones album, buy 'Around the fur' or 'Adrenaline', but if your already a fan buy this as soon as possible, you will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding fourth effort from Sacramento's finest, 3 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
Following the mixed reception for White Pony, Chino & co are obviously looking to reclaim some lost ground with their self-titled fourth release. And, quite simply, it is a stunning return after an absence of three years.
Releasing 'Minerva' as the first single was a masterstroke - it encapsulates everything this album is about - Chino's mournful wail sailing gloriously over a massive riff built around a shimmeringly beautiful chord.
But Minerva, cracker though it is, doesn't even figure in the best three songs on the album. The superb 'Battle axe', with its menacing intro (reminiscent of 'Fireal' - the last song on Adrenaline) and fall headlong into a huge riff is up there, along with the last track 'Moana', which starts off in a similar brooding vein before giving way to Chino's superb vocals.
But the standout track here is 'Bloody Cape' which, incredibly, manages to deliver a catchy, poppy hook whilst absolutely rocking your world! I'm not kidding hombres, the main riff outdoes such monsters as Elite, My Own Summer and Korea for heaviness.
Words can't state how impressed I am with this corker. If you're into them already you'll have the album, if not, then trust me it will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self Titled Salvation, 22 May 2003
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
If you are a Deftones fan buy this album! If youre becoming one, this would be a good place to start! There are many similarities here to White Pony but this album has moved on a step from the third album. There is a bit more METAL in this album but Chino and the crew have still maintained the unique atmousphere that is visible in previous triumphs.
Hexagram is a good introductory track like Feiticeira off White Pony and the ten tracks that follow all give off a similar ambience with doses of anger, fatigue, hapiness, sadness, whatever they sing about! Their sound is much more refined than previous attempts on Around The Fur (that album's only asset is 'Shove It') with admirable strumming by Stephen.
The best thing about this album is the unnerving feeling you get from epic, yet creepy tracks like Bloody Cape. They're heavy as hell too! The only let down is when they crank it down with frankly boring tracks like Lucky You. However, the album as a whole just kicks ass so there's nothing to worry about that 'bad egg' track.
You were a cabbage if you werent moved by White Pony and the same applies here! This is a brilliant album with bucket loads of depth and Minerva is cool so get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deftones - Their finest hour, 18 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. Kirk J. Wagstaff "kirkwuk" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
Deftones are back, and after their controversial masterpiece White Pony, come back with something even more creative, directional, and intense than ever before.
This time they introduce 7-string guitars and tune as low as ever, even more so than Korn. At first when I heard they were doing this I thought “oh no”.
Amazingly, they don’t overuse the heaviness, and manage to keep their trademark wall-of-sound guitar-style with blistering melody and beauty.
The first song is Hexagram, metal at its hardest, with plenty of screaming with a touch of melody. A bit too heavy for my liking, but an opener which sets the scene for what is to come.
Minerva was probably the most exciting comeback of a band in years. As a single, this sounded unlike anything else ever heard on radio. It features melodious guitar-work combined with a C# power-chord coming at you with the speed and intensity of a juggernaut. Together, it’s a magic which could only have been created by this band. Combined with tranquil moments, the guitars are back and blow you away with every listen.
Needles and Pins sounds like it’s from the Around The Fur era. The power-chords are heavy and the screaming loud, a great song to release anger to.
Deathblow is a quiet and moody song, consisting of a catchy bassline with a boisterous chorus. Chino’s unique vocal style really fits into this song well. It sounds like nothing they’ve ever done before.
Bloody Cape is one of the heaviest tracks on the album, at the same time chillingly beautiful with a hint of calamity. The intro is touching and the lyrics of “In waves, the ships have all sailed to the sea…” are touching, just brilliant. The chorus of “We must be the first in the world to fall off the earth” takes this song out of this world with the titanic riff of the chorus. Chino’s emotive vocal style really drives this contrasting song from peace to anger. Full use of the 7-string guitar with painful screaming at the closing moments, makes your head explode.
Anniversary Of An Uninteresting Event is this albums Teenager, a tranquil piano number with an added electronic background. Chino never ceases to impress, this song proves to me a lot; Chino is capable of screaming with the best of them but here proving his vocal style is pushing Deftones as more than just a metal band. More of this in a minute.
The finisher Moana is a slight step-up from the previous song and closes this truly amazing album on a heavier note.
Deftones have managed to mature and develop their style, at the same time retaining their heaviness. It was quite evident that after Around The Fur, this band were much more than a metal band which played alongside Korn. White Pony proved this, and this self-titled album is even more progressive and stylish than the previous.
Metal was loathsome for me until I got into this band, and I never thought I would ever say a metal album was for any other emotions than anger because I was naive. This album is, like White Pony, an album to release all emotion to in one record. This self-titled effort is more polished and varied than any of their other work. Every song reminds the listener of something different.
Deftones have made an album which is beyond the understanding of most of their older fans, this isn’t 1997 any more. It takes a few listens to get into and then grabs you, like all the best albums. Deftones are in a league of their own, whilst their heavy style is enough to put the mainstream people off, believe me, they are just as important as any of your Radioheads. The next record will have to be very good to better this.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Bringing Metal to the Dis-enchanted", 24 May 2003
This review is from: Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] (Audio CD)
A memory of some newspaper figment doth remind of a freak accident by which an adolescent was killed by falling stacks of hay at his father’s farm. The force of which is only multiplied by that of its tragedy, was enough to crush him to death. This is how ‘Deftones’ presents itself to you. It is best described as audio turmoil with sheer fury and enough power to raise these dead spirits from the depths of damnation in just under 48 minutes. It is without a shadow of a doubt, ‘Deftones’ heaviest contribution, surpassing many of my expectations as to where the universal success of ‘White Pony’ would take them. To first set the record straight, it definitely isn’t another ‘White Pony’ and as I stand here on my podium, hinting that Deftones have failed you in delivering something as epic as 2000’s release, I don’t wish to criticise it any way.
Many of the songs, such as ‘When Girls telephone Boys’ are extremely heavy but at the same time much more cultivated, accessible and dimensional than that which usually occurs when ‘Deftones’ adopt a heavier stance. The only song that didn’t stand out from White Pony was ‘Elite’; a one dimensional, ‘heavy’ song that in comparison to efforts such as the amazing ‘Passenger’ and ‘Knife Party’ contributed nothing to the controversy. I almost forgot how I used to boogie to ‘My Own summer’ and ‘Root’ but the self-titled album, coincidently takes you back to those same roots, with progression beyond belief.
‘Minerva’ isn’t a weak song but it doesn’t stand out as a single choice when contextualised with the rest of the album. For example, ‘Needles and Pins’ digs back into the realms of Adrenaline, with such amazing vocal harmonies that developed throughout ‘White Pony’. Deftones have managed to create a whole new dimension of sound without losing focus; without still being ‘Deftones’. For those still reminiscing in ‘White Pony’, songs such as ‘Deathblow’ and ‘Lucky you’ maintain the same aura of tranquillity and spookiness that we familiarised ourselves with.
There was so much anticipation waiting on this album and by all means, it was apprehension well spent. For many others and myself alike, White Pony is still always going to be the album that defines the Deftones but this is still one hell of a record that brings metal to the closed ears of the dis-enchanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D]
Deftones [Uk Version-Enh'D] by Deftones (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews