Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars isn't enough for such perfection.
Searching for an excellent Mozart's Requiem recording, I tried Marriner / ASMF, Hogwood / AAM and listended to few more, but this one is really a pearl and my final favourite - far far best one. It is very rare when modern, fully digital recording significantly surpasses usually excellent (in both playing and interpretation) analog (or early DDD) recordings of the same...
Published on 25 Dec. 2004 by J. Vich

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Dissapointing
My impression was that the music lacked sensitivity towards the event portrayed and were somewhat thin sounding. Other recordings by the same orchestra are much better.
Published on 10 Dec. 2012 by J. H. Hugo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars isn't enough for such perfection., 25 Dec. 2004
By 
J. Vich "A. R." (Prague, Czech Republic, EUROPE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart - Requiem (Audio CD)
Searching for an excellent Mozart's Requiem recording, I tried Marriner / ASMF, Hogwood / AAM and listended to few more, but this one is really a pearl and my final favourite - far far best one. It is very rare when modern, fully digital recording significantly surpasses usually excellent (in both playing and interpretation) analog (or early DDD) recordings of the same work from second half of 20th century. Why second half of 20th century ? Because most classical masterpieces had been recorded and intepreted in nearly compelling way in those times. But this not the case - Sir Mackerras, excellent conductor and unexceptionable authority on Mozart, acheived outstanding success which would be hardly ever beaten. Absolutely recommended, buy this SACD disc until you can - and as soon as possible. (Note: it is hybrid SACD, so it will play also in standard CD-audio player.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 26 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Mozart - Requiem (Audio CD)
I don't have a classical music background, nor a very technical one (to properly evaluate the SACD part), so what is my authority on this; but playing this record on my SACD-player is really extremely enjoyable for me. Just great!
For me, it was a test - a not to expensive one too - both of the SACD and this music by Mozart, and both were very conclusive.
As I understand it, this is music for a funeral mass ... One would really almost desire to have it played at one's own ... but we are not in a hurry, of course :-). So beautiful! Thrilling ...
Hence the well deserved five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling performance, fascinating edition, incredible sound, 1 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Mozart - Requiem (Audio CD)
First the edition used brings revealing insights, but the soloists and orchestra under Sir Charles Mackerras at his Mozartian best provide a compelling account of this work which deserves a place in any Mozart collection. Later in his career Sir Charles developed a very special relationship with the SCO, as I recollect from concerts attended, and this special interaction between conductor and orchestra makes this such a special disc and LINN pull out all the stops for sound quality in the hybrid SACD/CD. The Adagio and Fugue is a generous addition on this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - Requiem (Audio CD)
A brilliant recording of this superlative piece of music. This is such a pleasure to listen to - the best recording of the Requiem that I have heard in years. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Requiem for enriched Life, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - Requiem (Audio CD)
Some majestic music here, whether to celebrate life or remember the passing of a life. Regularly on my car CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Dissapointing, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
J. H. Hugo "Jozua" (Cape Town, Western Cape South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - Requiem (Audio CD)
My impression was that the music lacked sensitivity towards the event portrayed and were somewhat thin sounding. Other recordings by the same orchestra are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart - Requiem
Mozart - Requiem by Sir Charles Mackerras & SCO (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews