Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploitative and different (in a good way!)
I can understand why this film tends to be dismissed, but I actually think it's a good addition to the series. In comparison with many of the rather po-faced vampire films of more recent years (Coppola and 'Interview', no thanks), this at least tries something a bit different. The sub-plot involving the police and property development (!) is admittedly a bit odd, but in...
Published on 2 May 2007 by Pandatrousers

versus
54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another mutilation of good horror movie by the censors
Don't buy this video. It's cut. Nearly all the gore and blood has been removed.(3 minutes in total). The result is that a lot of the horror in this movie is gone. The original film was a good Hammer Production, well directed and starring 2 of the best actors: Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee. I would rate this movie at least 3 stars in the uncut version. Even the...
Published on 2 Sept. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars POOR QUALITY TRANSFER!, 30 Oct. 2010
By 
A. Lloyd (Chester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [Region 1] [NTSC] [US Import] (DVD)
First of all, this is not a review of the movie, as I would absolutely give it more than 2 stars, something I feel is worth mentioning right off the bat.

All I wish to do here is highlight that this DVD is inferior in comparison to the other Hammer/Dracula movies, and should be purchased with caution.
I have all of the other Hammer/Dracula movies on DVD, most of which are distributed by Warner, and all of them have far superior sound and picture quality in comparison to this one. When released on VHS many years ago, this movie was also distributed by Warner, and it baffles me as to why they passed on the option to renew the rights to this movie, if only for the completists who wish to own everything in the series.

I am from the United Kingdom, and currently there is no official release for this movie on DVD at all, so with this in mind I purchased a Region 1 Import, along with the The Horror Of Dracula (also unavailable in the UK). On receiving the DVD's I decided to watch all of the Dracula movies in cronological order. Whilst watching the first movie, made in 1957, i was blown away at the picture quality, especially as the movie is quite old now. I thought Warner Bros had done a great job with the restoration, and thought that as they had released all of the Dracula movies on VHS as part of the Terror Vision series in 2000, then they would all be remastered, even The Satanic Rites. I still imagine this to be the case, and i'm certain Warner's have a nice polished version from when they released the remastered VHS somewhere in the vaults, but as Warner don't see fit to release a DVD, other distribution companies are happy to release inferior, low grade, sub-VHS quality substitutes.

Why, oh why did they not renew the distribution rights to this movie.

In addition to the inferior quality, the logo for Platinum Disc Corporation keeps on randomly popping up in the bottom right hand corner of the screen, which is very annoying and distracting.

However, I should add that I am a completist, and would have purchased this DVD regardless, just to have the whole set. It was also very, very cheap too, for a brand new, sealed copy of this movie.

To finish, i'd just like to say that I hope that in the near future, Warner regains the distribution rights to all of these movies and releases an ultimate edition Blu-Ray boxset to redeem themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the Un-Dead, Master of Corruption, 6 Dec. 2009
By 
BABU VARMA "B.K. Varma" (Trichur East, Kerala State, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [Region 1] [NTSC] [US Import] (DVD)
Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [US Import] [NTSC]Sir Christopher Lee's final - to date - appearance as the Count is in `The Satanic Rites of Dracula' in 1973, again directed by Alan Gibson for Hammer. This time the film is a mixture of motorcycle Afghans, black magic, big business and cellars filled with female vampires. Lee is suitably impressive both as property millionaire D.D.Denham, and when unmasked as the snarling Count himself. Peter Cushing acquits himself as admirable as ever in the part of Lorimar Van Helsing, this time called into battle not only by his old friend, Inspector Murray of Scotland Yard, but also at the request of Colonel Mathews, head of the Secret Service Department, M.I6! But the concept of Count Dracula sponsoring a deadly bacterial research programme aimed at world dominination, "mod" motorcycling thugs as protection for the Vampire, and black magic never settle into a unity, and the film literally ends on a dying fall. Dracula, in pursuit of Van Helsing, who has already failed to kill him with the traditional silver bullet, stumbles and falls into the - for him - deadly embrace of a Hawthorn bush. Christopher Lee combines even in his least satisfactory movies, a grace of action and a mesmeric charm and fatal attraction to Count Dracula, while never failing to bring out the true and very real `evil' of the man. Lee's Dracula is not a love - smitten Vampire prince in search of `eternal love' like film - makers of recent years have portrayed him. He is an extremely cruel and evil Lord of the UN - Dead and Master of Corruption as described by Van Helsing (Peter Cushing) himself gazing at the portrait which hangs in the professor's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hawthorn, the best protection from Dracula!, 23 May 2011
By 
S. Oldfield (Norwich, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [Region 1] [NTSC] [US Import] (DVD)
This is the final and definitely the worst of all the Cushing/Lee Dracula movies. I knew this before I bought it but I got it for two reasons; firstly it completes the collection, and secondly it is so bad it begins to be strangely appealing (not quite cult status, but it has its moments). It is awful, make no mistake, and it's a sad end to the series, but there are some interesting aspects. Joanna Lumley is worth seeing, and Christopher Lee still swirls his cape and bares his fangs as well as he always did. Peter Cushing as always gives a sincere and compelling performance. But it's just a bit of a tepid and slow story without much menace. The title sequence is quite appealing with a superimposed creepy silhouette of the count gradually growing bigger like an evil shadow. You are ready for the end though when it comes - by then you just want it to finish. Bizarrely Dracula meets his final demise by being led into a hawthorn hedge which apparently is fatal to vampires because Jesus' crown of thorns was made from it (according to this story anyway). I remember when the film was released, at about the same time as The Exoricst, they claimed that mysterious images had appeared on the film and that there were strange accidents taking place on set, as if they had invoked the devil - if only. I think they knew at the time they had a turkey. Get it if like me you must have the full series, but don't expect too much from it. The case artwork is creepier than the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So underrated, 28 Aug. 2009
Much maligned, this last entry into the Lee/"Dracula" cycle is in fact first rate entertainment.

While Lee's Dracula may not be as active as usual, this is made up for by him actually having some kind of character. Lee actually has LINES of dialogue! Shock! Yes Lee has a chance to act as Dracula rather than just mime.

Cushing is also in good form and despite his (and the characters) age he still has a strong physical presence, fighting back against being held by Dracula's 'helpers' and slapping some sense into Freddie Jones's (superbly played) tarnished Scientist and still doing a fine one-on-one with Dracula in their inevitable, (and well crafted) final confrontation.

We also have the best 'Brides' of Dracula sequence in any 'Hammer Dracula'.
The sequence in the cellar where the Female Vamps crawl from their crate coffins, pawing and hissing at their would be victim, is highly effective.

Add to all this the wonderfully cheesy, nicely nude and bloody, ritual, as well as one of Dracula's most seductive 'bite scenes' and the film never fails to hold the attention.

Overall we are given a fun, bloody romp with some classy acting, a welcome dose of exploitation and a plot that has more to it than at first meets the eye.

Highly underrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars updated 1970s dracula setting, 23 Feb. 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "WHITECRANE" (the MIDLANDS) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Many don't like Dracula in the modern era,but what were the producers to do,yet another gothic Transylvanian castle setting? I don't think so. It starts with a black magic ritual with the obligatory naked blonde being sacrificed(well this was the soft porn 1970s).Dracula wants to con some thrill seeking establishment types into making a virulent plague in order to wipe out the human race. There are some subtle digs at the politics of the 1970s also. As ever Van Helsing is at hand to fight Chris Lee (Dracula).I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a very cheap dvd but it leaves a lot to be desired, 8 Dec. 2010
By 
Matthew McDade (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was rather surprised by this dvd. The picture is clean(ish) and presented in a 4:3 widescreen format: alas no anamorphic version on this disc. However one does wonder if it was transfered from a VHS tape as there are several "wobbles" that I remember used to plague video cassettes... The movie appears to be uncut, with the fairly graphic staking of the female secretary vampire included in its entirety. There is a very annoying "dog tag" by the budget DVD company that appears occasionally in the bottom right-hand corner. All in all if this disc is dirt-cheap then buy it: otherwise it is an utterly bargain-basement version of this likeable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Last rites, 8 Feb. 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [Region 1] [NTSC] [US Import] (DVD)
After the success of "Horror of Dracula," Hammer Horror apparently decided to wring the last buck out of the Dracula franchise. The final chapter is "Satanic Rites of Dracula," a limp horror flick that is rather boring when it's not silly. Throw in some naked breasts and dated haircuts too.
Scotland Yard uncovers a rural cult of satanists, and learn that their members include prominent scientists and politicians. It would be a scandal if they made an error, so they ask Professor Larimer Van Helsing (Peter Cushing) to investigate. Van Helsing pays a visit to one of the cultists (his old college buddy) and discovers a horrific secret: a new, superstrain of the Black Death.

Even worse, Van Helsing finds that his old nemesis Dracula (Christopher Lee) has returned from the grave (how many times is it now?) and is the leader of this cult. While Scotland Yard battles hordes of vampiric women hidden in the cult's house, Van Helsing is taken prisoner by Dracula himself -- and his granddaughter Jessica may be Dracula's next victim.

Horror isn't supposed to be silly, and it's not supposed to be tedious. "Satanic Rites of Dracula" is both. It feels as if Hammer Horror was running out of potential Dracula scenarios, so they threw in some cheesy satanism and lots of because-we-can nudity. (Apparently to stake a female vampire, you have to pull open her shirt first)

Worst of all, very little of it makes sense -- why does Dracula want to kill everyone, and thus himself? Uh... he just does, okay? That's about the whole explanation. And the illogical storyline is bogged down by really bad dialogue ("My revenge has spread over centuries and has just begun!").

Most of the movie revolves around Scotland Yard's idiot inspectors bumbling around, getting into trouble and barely escaping those vampire sexpots. Occasionally they stake somebody, but not often enough. It takes most of the movie for Dracula to even show up, and when he does, Lee looks kind of peevish, like he resents being in this cheesy movie. Somehow, I can't blame him.

It's especially a shame because Lee and Cushing are the sole bright points. Lee was as impressive and creepy as ever, with his sonorous voice and seductive bloodsucking. And Cushing had the toughness and steeliness to play a good Van Helsing, although they water down his character by giving him a twerpy granddaughter.

It's a good thing "Satanic Rites of Dracula" was the last of Hammer's Dracula movies, because this one was a pathetic enough finale to the series. Lee and Cushing are the only reasons to watch at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for a decent UK release., 4 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I've waited for this now since ordering alongside Dracula AD 1972. AD 72 is a brilliant DVD release with superb resolution and sound. I know it's a bit cheesy but I like it. However, this version of The Satanic Rites is a USA import and according to the cover is digitally remastered from a laser disc. All I can say is thank god I never bought a laser disc player in the early 1980's because the picture quality on this DVD is abysmal. It has all the hallmarks of a copied VHS tape with all the artefacts that went with copied video tape. I thought when DVD came out we'd seen the last of all these poor quality videos but it seems they're alive and well and living in America. This is the second DVD I've now purchased from America - the other being Paul Raymond's Erotica from 1981. Again that is even worse than the Satanic Rites'. All I can hope for is that we get a decent DVD release from a UK company soon but until then this will have to do. I actually prefer this film to AD 72 just a shame about the quality. Oh I nearly forgot. This is a two disc set. Don't get too excited though. You get a music CD full of songs that artistes have composed with a view to this film in mind. I've never heard of any of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY DAD'S FAVOURITE CHRISTOPHER LEE FILM, 23 Sept. 2008
By 
BABU VARMA "B.K. Varma" (Trichur East, Kerala State, India) - See all my reviews
I saw this film in my dad's home theatre. He is a GREAT Lee-fan. So is my
Mums. But once the film opened with Lee's shadow with out-strtched talons and flying cloak overlapping modern London and the terrific score I sat glued to the set. Alan Gibson has really done a wonderful job. Complaints of hooligans on motorcycles as Dracula's guards, and Dracula planning to release a virus for world elimination will appear ludicurous to some. But as Dr.Van Helsing(Peter Cushing) says to Inspector Murray of Scotland Yard
"perhaps this is what he really wants. An end to it all."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Modern Dracula, 5 Aug. 2014
I was not so sure on it when I first put it on. Aye, like some folk, Dracula was best depicted in period settings, but overall, I thought it was an okay film. A wee bit weird but okay. Christopher's performance as Dracula was awesome and the acting was okay.

All in all, I would recommend you buy a different film to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [Region 1] [NTSC] [US Import]
£3.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews