Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars60
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 December 2003
This is an excellent (and cheap) compilation of the best of Dio between 1983-1993. Having been involved in two of the greatest metal albums EVER (Rainbow`s "Rising" and Black Sabbath`s "Heaven and Hell"), Ronnie James Dio delivered the goods and came up with a third with his own band`s "Holy diver". It`s a phenomenal LP and it`s no surprise that the first five songs on this CD are pulled from that most majestic collection. The rest of this is an excercise in diminishing returns. While it would be very, very wrong to ever say that these songs are bad, there is a great similarity in sound and style that runs right through the whole CD, which lifts songs from six different records. However, some of the later stuff is rather good, "King of rock n roll" and "Dream evil" spring to mind. It is good to have some rare live recordings here although "Sunset superman" appears on the tracklist but isn`t on the album. You can`t go wrong for this price, though. This is a good collection of metal classics, the kind they don`t make anymore.
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2005
Amazing and cheap! If your gonna start buying Dio albums then start with this kick ass compliation! Featuring a load of bloody amazing songs from Holy Diver, Last in Line, Sacred heart, Dream Evil, Lock up the wolves and Strange Highways. If you like Metal and rock and are looking for a god then Dio is what your looking for!
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2008
If you love the older-gen metal or are interested in what it does, in fact, sound like then this is a great starting or building upon point.

I've always had a problem with falling asleep halfway through albums as its so samey but this is an awesome variety of tones and tempos :-]

Highly recommended. Especially for the price!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
The best compilation of one of Rocks all time great singers, this is DIO. RJD at his powerful best, it lifts heavily from his first and second solo albums then the best of the rest, as I have all of them on tape I have to say this is just the best tracks, I was at a couple of the concerts on here too and they really were amazing, I first saw Dio live with Black Sabbath and I was hooked then 1980 as I recall, those songs are elsewhere and worth more than an ear too.
This is Dio for the car, saves making a compilation to drive to
This is Dio at his best a must for all rock fans everywhere.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Dio are a good heavy metal band. They had some very good songs such as Holy Diver and Rock 'N' Roll Children. The song Holy Diver was featured in the PlayStation 2 game Grand Theft Auto:Vice City Stories. I also like American heavy metal music which Dio is.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
I always find compilation CDs with the title 'The Collection' a little bit lacking and this is no exception.
You often find a classic song or two missing or inferior versions of the original recordings and again,
this is the case here. 'Stand up and shout' and 'The last in line' are live recordings aswell as 2 or 3
others. These recordings are fine and a good listen but this is not made clear in the item discription. The
tunes lifted from Dio's first two solo albums are great but this cd soon nosedives into complete drivel when
you hit the 'Sacred heart' material onwards. In hindsight, I would have bought 'Holy diver', his first solo
record which is the best of Dio in itself. This collection is flawed, but certainly contains some great moments.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
When Ronnie James Dio passed away recently, the world of heavy metal lost one of it's greatest vocalists, a true master of his craft. Dio graced many an album from Elf, to Richie Blackmore's Rainbow, Black Sabbath, and the latter's offshoot, Heaven & Hell, and performed with class and style on every song. "Dio-The Collection" brings together the best known tracks from a fine band, so devil horns at the ready people, LET'S ROCK!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Fantastic purchase, the tracks recorded live are as good as the studio recorded ones brilliant purchase
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
I obviously knew Dio from his Black Sabbath works and listened to "Holy diver" and "Rainbow in the dark", but I thought they were just a couple of hits. This CD demonstrates they weren't. Very solid, good Hard rock at his highest power, a very nice collection of songs.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
AWESOME ...If you know the band then whats else can I say ??? :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.