Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragnet - Sheer quality
This has to be one of the best cop comedies ever, including the many new ones. Dan Aykroyd plays the cop who follows the rules whilst Tom Hanks is the cop who breaks the rules but gets things done. It is a brilliant comedy and which has both Aykroyd and Hanks at their comic best. It may be a cliche but they don't make films like this any more, it has comedy similar to...
Published on 15 Jan 2004 by Ash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget your leggings!
This was a great fun film when I saw it first. Simply ridiculous. Not quite as funny as I remembered it but still raised a chuckle.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars "JUST THE FACTS", 9 Aug 2007
By 
L. Wilson (Natal South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
I can remember the Dragnet series on the T.V. and this spoof is bang on target as it very cleverly mimics the original then goes just a step further to turn every situation into a laugh. It is a very very funny film and the goat dance is an all time classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Hanks, 5 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
In the time before Oscar nominations, Tom Hanks was doing dodgy comedies like this one , and Turner & Hooch , The Man with the one red shoe , Splash etc. These movies, this one in paticular are great ways to spend ( or suspend) a couple of hours, veggin out on the sofa with a big bag of chips . It's great family entertainment , great fun , great interaction between the characters & great value. Kick the kids out into the back yard , and snuggle up with your girlfriend for this one. Reviews usually say " If you see one film this year ...see this one". Im not going to, I'll just say " See this once , you wont regret it "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 1 Feb 2009
By 
L. Hayes "L" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
This was a present for my Mum, I remember watching this when I was younger at its as funny as it was then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DVD will not play as apparently I'm in the wrong ..., 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DVD will not play as apparently I'm in the wrong region????? I'm not to sure if I am in region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a five-star, but a lot of fun!, 16 July 2009
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a homage from Dan Aykroyd, who in the interview (in text, not video) in the special features talks about how much he loved the original Joe Friday.

This film follow's Friday's nephew, also called Joe, as he works on an important case in LA with his new partner (Tom Hanks). It's a comedy, unlocking a lot of humour through some charming performances from the lead actors.

I found that there weren't as many laugh-out-louds recently as there were when I first saw it fifteen years ago, but there are still some, and I found myself smiling throughout. Aykroyd is the star in his delivery and his writing, and I recommend the movie.

Be warned that it is a comedy, finding the humour in everything about the original series, from the music to the original Friday's delivery of lines. And it is a little dated. But, to be honest, that it is dated only adds to the charm. This is classic late-80s comedy, with two of the best at the helm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragnet [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is just so stupid it is hilarious. The inuendo and puns and all the humour in it is just so obvious it is funny. From the time when Tom Hanks was known for his performances as a comedy actor not the greatest dramatic actor in hollywood. Both Hanks and Akroyd deliver excellent performances (even if they are cheesy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad sex and good drugs are the cornerstone of democracy., 6 Dec 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
Dragnet is directed by Tom Mankiewicz and he also co-writes the screenplay with Dan Aykroyd and Alan Zweibel. It stars Aykroyd, Tom Hanks, Christopher Plummer, Harry Morgan and Alexandra Paul. Music is by Ira Newborn and cinematography by Matthew F. Leonetti.

A parody and homage to the much loved TV show of the same name from the 60s, Dragnet works hard to bring 1980s chic to the formula but ultimately has to rely on the two stars to keep its head above water. Plot pitches Aykroyd and Hanks together as mismatched cops trying to decipher the nefarious workings of cult outfit PAGAN (People Against Goodness And Normalcy).

Aykroyd's Sgt. Joe Friday is a by the book copper with a stick up his backside, Hanks' Det. Pep Streebeck is the unconventional sloth who doesn't mind fracturing laws to get a result. Naturally Friday will have to loosen up for the plot machinations to work, so enter Connie Swail (Paul) as the love interest who smooths Friday's rough edges. Plummer is scraping the bottom of the barrel but seems to be having fun doing so, and Morgan just looks bemused.

Thankfully the script is ripe with dialogue tailor made for Aykroyd, ensuring his fans get good value out of the picture. The pairing of Hanks and Aykroyd is a good one, their polar opposite dynamics spicy, and many lines become ever quotable. The action sequences aren't up to much, the direction equally so, while the soundtrack is just plane bad. So for enjoyment purpose it's best just to buy into Aykroyd's deadpan take on the Joe Friday character and kinda ignore the rest. It has moments, but the material isn't worthy of being stretched to over an hour and forty minutes of film. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old funny classic!, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
Good DVD, good price, good nostalgia, enjoyed the film so not really much more to say. A + + +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Funniest Films Ever Made, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragnet [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is probably one of the funniest films ever made. I Could not stop laughing especialy and the end scene. Buy it today, you will definatly not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite make the grade, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
Dan Aykroyd writes and stars in a big screen version of "Dragnet" that falls somewhere between a tribute and a satire of the original series.

As in "Ghostbusters", Dan Aykroyd doesn't actually play the funny character. That honour goes to Tom Hanks, who does a decent job but who doesn't really bring anything special to it- comedy doesn't appear to be his real talent.

This 80s movie has not dated so well. It now seems very slow-paced, there aren't enough gags, and the gags there are you can see coming a mile off. A handful of catch-phrases, like "just the facts ma'am", are used well but too often.

One geeky moment- the title sequence has an Art Of Noise version of "Dragnet Theme" which is very different from any version of "Dragnet Theme" I've heard on any Art Of Noise release. Apart from that, the incidental music by Ira Newborn is mostly quite dull.

There may be some subtler references to the original TV series that I'm not appreciating, but overall, considering how many other classic 80s movies there are, this one doesn't quite make the grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragnet [DVD]
Dragnet [DVD] by Tom Mankiewicz (DVD - 2003)
£4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews