Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragnet - Sheer quality
This has to be one of the best cop comedies ever, including the many new ones. Dan Aykroyd plays the cop who follows the rules whilst Tom Hanks is the cop who breaks the rules but gets things done. It is a brilliant comedy and which has both Aykroyd and Hanks at their comic best. It may be a cliche but they don't make films like this any more, it has comedy similar to...
Published on 15 Jan 2004 by Ash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget your leggings!
This was a great fun film when I saw it first. Simply ridiculous. Not quite as funny as I remembered it but still raised a chuckle.
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragnet - Sheer quality, 15 Jan 2004
By 
Ash - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best cop comedies ever, including the many new ones. Dan Aykroyd plays the cop who follows the rules whilst Tom Hanks is the cop who breaks the rules but gets things done. It is a brilliant comedy and which has both Aykroyd and Hanks at their comic best. It may be a cliche but they don't make films like this any more, it has comedy similar to that of most of Aykroyd and Hank's early stuff like the Ghost Busters and Big. The DVD very short of extras, besides the usual scene selection and menu, it only actually has - Production Notes, Filmographies, Trailer, and Web Link, but the film itself is well worth having in your collection if you are a fan of either actor or comedy in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragnet - A classic comedy. Dan Akroyd at his best!!!, 14 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
2 cops - one straight laced, the other a lout - are called in to bring down a new terror: P.A.G.A.N, a religious nutcase organisation threatening to take over. Cue some of the best comedy you will ever see - Dan Akroyd is superb and Tom Hanks is at his funniest (you know, the time before he started winning too many awards) All in all, a masterpiece that deserves to be in everyone's collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, fun, fun, 24 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
Blues Brothers in another form. A young Tom Hanks works with Dan Ackroyd in this fun comedy about two policeman who couldn't be more opposite in their behaviours that have to work together. Just a laugh a minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic....., 29 Jan 2006
By 
Richard Sutton "sutton10631" (Addlestone, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
From the moment the opening titles kick in with the catchy Art of Noise Dragnet Theme in full remix you know you are in 80s movie heaven. I personally only get the same feeling everytime I watch Beverley Hills Cop and with both films you can keep going back time after time after time.
The comic genious of the two lead actors at the time makes for really good viewing and their work relationship will be familiar to many of us.
Buy this and you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sequel, not a spoof or parody, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
"Pseudo-halogenic compound cyanogen. Uh-huh."

There seems to be some sort of misunderstanding of the nature of 1987's comedy hit Dragnet. It's NOT a spoof of the TV show like the indescribably awful Starsky and Hutch movie from 2004. Aykroyd and Hanks can sleep sound at night knowing that they've made a movie for the ages, and despite a couple of elements which place it firmly in the 80s there's not much to make you think it wasn't made in the 21st century, especially that brilliant theme tune by The Art of Noise. A soundtrack CD was released at the time, but a dedicated score CD has, to date, never been made available, which is a shame since it's brilliant.

Dan Aykroyd plays the nephew of Jack Webb's Joe Friday (also called Joe). He's just as humorless, unironic and logical. He goes into ludicrous detail about the most trivial of matters and has never, ever, ever considered breaking the rules to break a case. His partner Frank quits and his boss Captain Bill Gannon (Jack Webb's partner in the original TV show, once again played by Harry Morgan) pairs him up with dirty, unshaven young renegade Pep Streebeck (Tom Hanks). They're the classic mismatched pair and the chemistry between them is absolutely perfect.

They're assigned to the P.A.G.A.N. case and discover a ruthless cult taking control of the Los Angeles crime network. WAY out of their depth, and with only a single witness to identify the P.A.G.A.N. leader they move from one amusing set-piece to the next, rubbing off on each other, and losing many vehicles (and Friday's beloved hat).

Dragnet went straight to Number 1 at the box office when it was released in the summer of 1987 and I've loved it ever since I was a kid. Even though I didn't completely understand it, Over the years I've noticed things that I previously missed and it's kept the film fresh and appealing all this time. It's not as fondly remembered as other comedy films from the era (such as The 'burbs, Uncle Buck or Fletch) for some reason but it's well worth owning.

The DVD is in average Dolby 2.0 surround with okay stereo effects and slight ambiance to James Ira Newborn's score and is anamorphically enhanced at 1.78:1. The only extra is a trailer which features scenes not in the movie. But seriously Universal, the time has come for a Blu Ray release. Dragnet was one of the first movies out of the door when DVD came along and I've owned this version for over 11 years. Blu Ray is hardly in its infancy anymore and I'd like you to start releasing more catalog movies. Can we have Dragnet in High-Def NOW please? We need a 1080p re-master and lossless audio for that brilliant score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 3 July 2014
By 
Charlie Brown (Whitefield, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
DVD doesn't play on a multi-region player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Humphrey Bogart revisited, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
A comedy in several layers. A caricature of the old films, using a narrator offstage, dialogues with long lines, obliging the characters to a fast paced speaking, a constant rattling. A wonderful "detailed" script
Warning: Don't watch this film during the night and the windows open. I laughed like a jerk with the offstage narrator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
Classic Aykroyd and Hanks film a laugh out loud a minute. I would and have recommended this movie to friends who sadly did not get chance to see this in the 80's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget your leggings!, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great fun film when I saw it first. Simply ridiculous. Not quite as funny as I remembered it but still raised a chuckle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the net never drags, 17 April 2013
This review is from: Dragnet [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film with its wacky comedy 50s feel yet 90s etc and the chicks . The opposites paired together for comic crime fighting chaos never has me tired .Great buy . Yes I have seen it before , and just ordered it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragnet [DVD]
Dragnet [DVD] by Tom Mankiewicz (DVD - 2003)
3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews