Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative classic that time cannot erode
This was a pioneering rock album by the band everyone aspired to be at the time, and are influenced by now. Unlike many other groundbreakers, this isn't particularly dated and still holds its own in a market that has moved on.

'Stairway to Heaven' deserves to be remembered as one of the all-time great tracks, but the others aren't fillers. More a case of...
Published on 18 May 2006 by Some Bloke

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great. Naturally
Great music, but will never beat the truly great LZ 2. Get this first to really appreciate this powerful group!
Published 8 months ago by HPVEE


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative classic that time cannot erode, 18 May 2006
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
This was a pioneering rock album by the band everyone aspired to be at the time, and are influenced by now. Unlike many other groundbreakers, this isn't particularly dated and still holds its own in a market that has moved on.

'Stairway to Heaven' deserves to be remembered as one of the all-time great tracks, but the others aren't fillers. More a case of 'Stairway' as the pinnacle of the album. Plant's vocals are forthright, bluesy and angst-ridden. Page's guitar lines are ideal in each situation and provide some great riffs. Bonham's drumming really is incredible rock drumming - hard, heavy, and not always as predicted. Somehow John-Paul Jones and his bass are by comparison, merely perfect.

There's a variety here - rocky numbers like 'Black Dog' and 'Rock n Roll', then slow blues like 'When the Levy Breaks'.

Since this album, the rock guitar has become louder and heavier through Motorhead, AC/DC, Anthrax, Slayer, through to the modern thrash. Despite that, this album still sounds fresh and has an edge of creative genius that many new bands just don't have as much of.

I write this not as someone who was there when it came out and is nostalgic (I'm too young!) but someone who found it after discovering the modern rock and metal world. And it's still, really, that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When I came to the end of this cdI cried inside, 6 Dec 2005
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
When I first bought this albumn I knew little about Led, it was just a spur of the moment thing. I can honestly say that Led are now my favourite band of all time. The true skill of the each individual musician comes through in each song on this albumn, combining their talents in the much loved pastiche of blues and rock music. Some may well have found their first albumn to stray into the territory of 'Cream', but in my humble opinion IV symbols sets Led out as the true masters of rock and roll. I just wish I had been born back when they were still playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't have it get it, 2 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
This is probably one of the best rock records ever done, together with Deep Purple's Machine Head and Made in Japan. I can't find a musically bad track on it, still I'm not fond of the lyrics tainted with mysticism on Battle for Evermore. The opening track Black dog has a wonderful riff wandering over the guitar which shows why Jimmy Page (together with Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath) can take full credit for pioneering the mammoth riffs of hard rock/heavy metal, which also is shown in Misty Mountain Hop, Four Sticks and When the Levee Breaks. I don't need to say something about Stairway to Heaven as it by many is rated as the best rock song ever written. But I want to stress the mastery of three underrated gems on this wonderful record, namely Misty Mountain Hop a very heavy and hooking track, Four Sticks with its driving rhythm in 4/5 and When the Levee Breaks with its, I can't find words to explain it, wonderful guitar sound. All in all it is a record well worth the money spent. And I will give a promise: If you like rock, hard rock or heavy metal, you will not be disappointed and will also have a record to be played on, and on, and on, and on ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 3 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin are the group who have seeped into your consciousness even if you're not aware of having actively listened to any of their music: virtually every rock group since has lifted mannerisms, riffs, attitudes from them, and when you see the variety on II you can understand what a broad inspiration they provided. From the defining, thrilling intro to Rock'n'Roll, through the power of Black Dog, to a gentle tenderness in Going to California - you wouldn't think to associate tenderness with the great cliche of Led Zeppelin and Robert Plant's religion-revealing jeans - this album wraps you up completely. Even if you think you're sick of Stairway to Heaven, hearing it again in the setting of this album freshens it up into a whole new experience. Since discovering Led Zeppelin, I just find most modern music such a let-down, it's almost painful. After a period of total unfashionability, the passion and skill of all four musicians is like a bright light next to today's two-dimensional product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIVE STARS ISN'T ENOUGH!, 28 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
I hated Led Zeppelin until I was forced to listen to IV. By the time 'Black Dog' was over I'd changed my views for ever. By the time 'When The Levee Breaks'had ended Led Zeppelin had become the greatest Rock 'n' Roll band ever to give rise from these shores. Deep Purple had some SERIOUS competition. People rave about how great a guitarist Jimmy Page is (and he is) or how gifted a vocalist Robert Plant is (and he is) ,but the man who IS (or tragically was) Led Zeppelin, is John Bonham...what a drummer! The way he drives 'Black Dog' along, and the intro to 'Rock And Roll'puts him in the ranks of the immortals. The album switches from sheer gutsy heavy metal to melodic and acoustic music, to the climax to the album, where 'When The Levee Breaks' leaves you somewhere in mid air.It's unfair...this should have been a double album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna make you sweat, gonna make you groove, 14 Jan 2013
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
If Led Zep I was the big bold blues album, Zep II the rambunctious rock album, and Zep III a pastoral pearl, then the mighty, magnificent IV - with its iconic cover, old bearded bent-backed hermit framed on a peeling wall - is the apotheosis of what Led Zep were all about and capable of.
To me, this rapturously exultant album sounds as good if not better now than it did forty years ago. It sounded pretty good to me on its release eight days before my twenty-first birthday, and it just seems to grow in wonder and splendour.
Black Dog - well, what can I say? "Hey hey, Mama, have you heard the news...?" We have now. What a fantastic opener. Rock And Roll is too good to be true, and then Sandy Denny - Sandy Denny! - joins Plant, both on their best behaviour, for the glorious Battle Of Evermore, Sandy echoing Plant in her most haunting tones: a marriage made in folk-rock heaven.
Then that intro, which must be one of the most instantly recognisable in all rock music. "There`s a lady who says, all that glitters is gold..." I love the later caterwauling, and Page giving it welly. And listen out for Plant`s intriguing lyric about "a bustle in your hedgerow" - Page asked him about that, RP apparently giving him a gnomic answer along the lines of 'Well, that`ll get people thinking'.
Misty Mountain Hop is incredible. It takes me to the shrouded peak of the title, but what grabs and stuns is some of the most nail-biting, spine-tingling drumming ever heard on a rock album - step up and take a bow, the late great John Bonham - especially near the end, where Bonzo does superhuman things on his drumkit. If I had hair left on my head, it would stand on end.
Four Sticks works if you`re paying attention and not expecting too much from it.
Going To California is just lovely: "...with an achin` in my heart" so tenderly sung by Plant, who`s proved (to Alison Krauss and Patty Griffin, among others) that he can sing almost anything.
The phenomenal When The Levee Breaks is the boys in long, slow, Deep South blues mode, Plant chewing on a moody harmonica (surely a much more evocative word than the slightly affected `harp`) and squeezing out a vocal over seven luxurious minutes of ominous churning rootsiness.

This is one hell of a great album. I think it`s the best rock album ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic in Every Way, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Crazy Bald Heid "kennyb63" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
The greatest album ever made? I don't know. But it is instantly recogniseable, runes, untitled, IV, four symbols whatever you call it is a monumental album. The symbols or runes make their bow on the inner sleeve of this album.

For the second album in a row we are greeted with a jaw droppingly original wtf rock classic. Black dog's twangy opening sounds like Jimmy finding his range until an unaccompanied Plant cuts loose with the famous "Hey, hey, mama, said the way you move, gonna make you sweat, gonna make you groove" blues wail. The stacatto accompaniment sets this song apart. Great rock track, Bonzo beating seven shades out of his kit.

Before you can draw breath the band batter into the aptly named Rock And Roll. A pounding rock classic, sometime set opener. An ensemble piece but its Bonzo clattering the hi-hats that gives the game away in the first second of the intro.

A change down into the pretty tinkling Battle of Evermore, Plant's controlled vocal, makes even his usual swords n' sorcery hokum sound beautiful. Accompanied by the crystal clear voice of the late great Sandy Denny.

The seldom heard obscurity Stairway to Heaven follows. Seriously though folks an enormous anthem that continues to rule the world thirty six years on from its inception. You think you have heard it way too often, but then it comes on the radio or your cd player and be damned if the hairs on the back of your neck don't rise up, and you don't crank the volume up to 11.

Trippy, hippy narrative Misty Mountain Hop is conceptually proposterours but it remains a great track, again Bonzo and Jonesy drive it along setting it apart.

Perhaps Bonzo's finest moment - that could apply to just about every track on here. Top tune.

Going to California is a gentle ballad and amongst their very best. Again the lyric is hippy tosh but the acoustic guitar is exquisitely beautiful, and the vocal shows that Plant's voice is a beautiful, controlled instrument.

When the Levee Breaks. Mighty, mighty, mighty - and kind of poignant when you think of what happened to New Orleans when the levee did break. A massive blues juggernaut driven by Bonzo at his most metronomically powerful. Heavily sampled.

There it is then - an album amongst the very best, never disappoints. Often the first or only album in many peoples collections. But what an album. I have owned it in various guises for over thirty years and can honestly say it thrills me every time. Page's sympathetic remaster works well - stopping Rock And Roll from being white noise and offering clarity and separation in the quiter stuff. If it weren't so corny I would say it was a masterly remaster all round. there I've said it.

If you don't already own this - what the hell is wrong with you? If you have just bought Mothership - this is your next stop on one of musics greatest journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of Led Zep music albums, 28 April 2009
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
Long time ago since I have played this but turned on the radio recently to hear 'Black Dog' and then downloaded my favourite from the album - probably a less usual choice - 'The Battle of Evermore' loved it and still do. Brings back lots of memories as I have the original old vinyl upstairs in the attic. Good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest album in the history of rock?, 29 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
Many polls over the years since its release would suggest so, as "Led Zeppelin IV"

usually appears if not at the top but always in the top 3 - quite an achievement! This

album is no accident, it was forged by four excellent musicians right at the top

of their game, who worked hard creating their image with wily rock solid management

in the form of Peter Grant, relentless touring, and their trump card - "Stairway To

Heaven", often described as the greatest song ever written!

"Led Zeppelin IV" also allowed the band to mature and settle into various musical styles;

folk, prog, blues, heavy rock - but Jimmy Page always hated having his music labelled,

he found it restricting. There is also another powerful personality influencing this album,

hotly debated theories abound about the "prescence" of Aleister Crowley - true or not,

it all adds to the mystique of LZ, many will describe the music in detail here, but here

are the stories that surround the songs!

"Black Dog"-

LZ IV was recorded at Headley Grange studios in Hampshire, this old building had many

spooky stories attached to it, and during the band's stay they were visited by a

mysterious black labrador that hung around the place. This complex number is heavy,

bluesy, with a Muddy Waters' inspired riff.

"Rock and Roll"-

It is impossible to keep still to this good old fashioned rocker! John Bonham had just

recieved a shiny new kit, whilst practising the complicated pattern for "Four Sticks" he

momentarily lost it, and in frustration crashed out the intro for "Rock and Roll" instead -

the rest of the band joined in and jammed and a song was born!

"The Battle of Evermore"-

With mystical references to "Lord of the Rings", the magical mandolin, Sandy Denny's

haunting vocals echoeing Plant's, this song, about a walled citadel under siege, is a

pretty English folk ballad which inspired "wizard and demon" song material for years to

come by folk, prog and metal musicians alike. The song was reworked by Robert and

Jimmy in 1994, with Indian and Egyptian musicians to great effect.

"Stairway to Heaven"-

Arguably the greatest song ever written, and one people still have played at their

funerals! This song is famous across all music genres - while record hunting in a market

fair some years ago a small girl clutching LZ IV asked me "does this have Stairway to

Heaven on it?" All the songs on the album seem to revolve around this one, an

achievement the band are rightly proud of, a rock masterpiece - their most proggish?

As with every great song (such as "Lucy in the Sky"), the song had detractors from

fundamentalist religious groups and ministers claiming backmasked secret and satanic

messages were in the song lauding Satan! ...time for another listen, I must have

missed those!

"Misty Mountain Hop"-

Very similar to "Black Dog" a bluesy riff and complex drumming patterns, the song is

about every hippie's favourite pastime smoking pot, and an invitation by the Police to

come to tea! Could this be the first rap song?

"Four Sticks"-

Such a complicated drum pattern Bonzo struggled to learn, he ended up with two sticks

in each hand to great effect, a hypnotic song with a great heavy riff.

"Going to California"-

An American folk style song this time, the song is a tribute to Joni Mitchell and the

band's musical spiritual home.

"When the Levee Breaks"-

A much-sampled classic, the amazing drum sound on this track was achieved by placing

Bonham's kit beneath the stairwell at Headley Grange. Bonham's drum sound is

legendary on this track, an amazing psychedelic trip written around an old blues song

by Memphis Minnie, Zeppelin were often accused of ripping off black music, nowadays

rappin' black musicians are "ripping" off Led Zeppelin! Also Michael Jackson's "Bad" bore

many similarities to "Hearbreaker", so there!

Whatever one's musical background or tastes "Led Zeppelin IV" deserves a place in any

music collection, it has come full circle and is "cool" again, absolutely essential listening,

and a huge influence on many music genres including prog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, but lacking the song I bought the album for., 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
I guess I should've checked the tracks on the album before I bought it, but I couldn't help but be disappointed when I played it to find that it lacked Bohemian Rhapsody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin IV
Led Zeppelin IV by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews