Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hate is a bottomless cup; I will pour and pour." - Euripides
The Last House on the Left is a sick, nasty film about evil and revenge which doesn't chicken out, except in some stupid "comic relief" scenes. It's called exploitation, but in my opinion it's less exploitive than its remake, which let its audience off the hook with a happy ending, as if to say: "all that rape and carnage you just saw? Don't worry about that, all the...
Published on 24 Oct. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low budget, ageing, but still with cult status
The film which brought Wes Craven to the attention of the horror movie world, "Last House on the Left" (originally "Night of Vengeance") is an enigmatically titled reworking of Ingmar Bergman's classic "The Virgin Spring" - for 'reworking' read 'dumbed down'.
In its day (released in 1972, shot earlier), it was seen as a horrific gore fest and was denounced as...
Published on 10 Oct. 2005 by Budge Burgess


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Fool's Gold, 28 Sept. 2008
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Many people claim this film to be something of a cult classic - something on a par with Mean Streets or The Evil Dead - as a film from a great director before he sold out and became famous.

Do not be fooled - it is nothing of the sort!

This film has appalling acting, a rubbish plot and an outdated sense of what is shocking. All these are forgivable in a film just as Nosferatu can be forgiven. However, there is something so typically Wes Craven in this film, like the later A Nightmare On Elm Street's that does things shoddily and 'shockingly' when really they weren't even really bad at the time.

I wish I could say this was a diamond in the rough and, indeed, there are some redeeming qualities in it (the chainsaw bit at the end). Unfortunately its affectatious ways and generally illucid dialogue mean it deserves its non-cult status.

P.S. With the release of the new Wes Craven version of this, you may be tempted to watch this one. However, just because a film is re-released doesn't make it good. Personally, I feel it reveals more about the director's *lack* of originality and desire to earn money for nothing.
After all, would you re-release The Shining or The Evil Dead? Dear God, I hope not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A horrid horrid film, 9 Jun. 2003
This film is just plain wrong,
There are a few problems with it, Point number one, it had a terrible repetitive soundtrack, With songs that were happy, in a film like this, tackiling such serious issues, i think not Mr Craven
Point number two is that, i dont know what this film is trying to convey accross, if it tries to shock and repell the audience then it does succed (dont get me wrong, im not a old stick in the mud, im only 19). The rape scene(s) in the wood, and the chase that follows is truely repulsive. It is beyond me how someone could enjoy this
Point number three, the cinematography is apalling, it cuts from one shot to another and u dont know what on earth is going on.
The only thing that COULD save this, is the acting, its amazing, convincing oles from all, especially the two bungling Policmen (Was Wes Craven trying to add some comic relief?)
My simple view on this film is that it was BAD, and it got a lucky break from being banned, because that got it onthe video nasties list and thus LOTS of FREE publicity
It got the 2nd star for acting, hope ive helped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is one film I hope to forget for the rest of my life!!!, 16 July 2004
By 
B. Mustafa "yamcha" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last House On The Left (2 Disc Special Edition) [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
I have always been a true horror fan and back in the day my friends used to tell me about a horror film known as "last house on the left" and how it was banned for its nastiness. As good as the title sounded I was disappointed when my friends told me it would never again be available.
How wrong they were!! last house on the left was finally available and on a two disc special edition DVD. So without reading other reviews (which I should have done), I ordered a copy. It all looked good at first but as soon as the film started within twenty minutes I was asking myself this question "why did I bother?" this film is NOT a horror film whatsoever, its simply a sadistic crime thriller so to speak.
Its simply about two young ladys who try to score on dope at a concert and they knock at the wrong door and three criminals torture and rape them both at their house and in particular at the woods. When the two girls are then killed, the killers seek refuge in one of the victims parents house. When the parents find out about the criminals and their daughters death they seek their revenge in equally horrofic fashion.
So, lets see: this film is disturbing and very perversed to say the least, but it is definately not the only one. I have seen other thrillers that are worse than this. And since the film has been cut only shows that the BBFC was not willing to show the missing scenes: the girl being craved by the knife and the other being disembodied which thankfully is a good thing, who wants to see stuff like that! well I saw it and I think its very disturbing but thats what this film is meant to be.
It gets two stars mainly because of the extra special features which I think is better than the film itself. Anyone who hasent seen it I will say this if your expecting a horror film FORGET IT!! but if you want to see a film that will disturb then this is it.
Also this film does have one valid point: never attempt to visit anyones house for some silly substance, because the consequences could be high.
What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took 31 years, but it's finally here, 25 May 2003
This review is from: Last House On The Left (2 Disc Special Edition) [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
Well, it's here to buy at last, and they've released Last House On The Left in a format to be proud of. This 2 DVD set containing a plethora of documentaries, features and commentaries certainly does justice to one of the most maligned films ever made by a mainstream director (Wes Craven, before he made the likes of Nightmare On Elm Street and Scream). The plot, based as it is on Ingmar Bergman's The Virgin Spring, has two girls being kidnapped whilst trying to hitch-hike, then being raped, tortured, degraded and murdered by a recently escaped gang of criminals. The gang hide out at one of the girls' house, but her parents figure out what has happened and take their revenge in a particularly Old Testament style.
Despite the film being over thirty years old, the BBFC have not relented in their decision to insist on over thirty second of cuts. Having seen the uncut version, I can say I am slightly surprised, as the material removed is no worse than that which is left in, but the law is the law. In fact, the whole film does not really justify the reputation which it finds itself saddled with, of being one of the nastiest pieces of cinema ever filmed, though time has slightly dented its impact, and I do speak from the viewpoint of a cynical, seen-it-all-before gore lover.
This film's stature amongst horror fans is legendary, and rightly so. If you're not too easily shocked or upset, and you want to see one of the most influential and talked about horror films of all time, you can finally do so having to buy it from Holland as I was initially forced to do, and you also get hours of extras thrown in for the same price. An essential purchase for fans of horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing Masterpiece, 28 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Last House On The Left (2 Disc Special Edition) [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
THE LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT is the only movie of its kind - reputed by producer Sean Cunningham and director Wes Craven as something they will never dare branch out to perform again.
And it's clear to see why when you see the movie.
This Anchor Bay collectors set luckily comes with 2 versions of the film - but it is infact the rarer version "Krug & Company" that wins out; with footage unavailable in the newly passed version by the BBFC. It is the alternate version ("Krug & Company") that I advise you watch first, even though there are many blemishes and disruptive sound on the transfer to DVD.
This Anchor Bay edition is superb - even if we in the UK are not legally able to witness the uncut version.
On Disc #1, you have the remastered feature in 5.1 Dolby Surround; as well as two trailers and a 40 minute featurette interviewing Wes Craven, producer Sean Cunningham as well as star David Hess and others. There is also a hidden bonus easter egg to find on this disc - once found you will be able to unlock the footage that was banned from the UK version via the Internet (of which I have now seen and can not for the life of me see why the BBFC took it out). Disc 2 is loaded with extras - listed by Amazon above.
Add to this a great collectors booklet and a smart collectors case and you have one heck of a DVD set.
You know doubt know the story the film deals with, so I won't go through it here , but suffice to say it's extremely disturbing, very horrific and perhaps one of the single most important horror films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the curse of infamy, 18 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Last House On The Left (2 Disc Special Edition) [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
this film suffers badly from its censorship cuts (like 'the hills have eyes' & 'I spit on your grave') and the final edit is made to look shabby. however, this film is better than the two referenced above. craven does exhibit some sense of cinema - his use of music for one is well done here.
this film tells the story of a gang of criminals who assault and kill two girls only to get their comeupence from the parents. these rape-revenge films are largely subject to controversy and bans but the infamy they gain leaves it difficult to be objective - or dissapointed(?). it's a seventies film so the acting is corny and what was then cool certainly isn't now(hiding alcohol in a river tied to string?) the rape scene isn't pleasent but then that's no surprise and the scene when one of the girls is made to pee herself isn't nice either.
this film has a reputation as being nasty but as with most of these films it has dated 'not so well'. one of the better films in this sub-genre but still not a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LAST HOUSE SUMMARY, Nick. Wes Craven fan, 11 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Last House On The Left (2 Disc Special Edition) [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
Last house on the surface appears to be just another cheap exploitation flick, but if probed by your film eye you should realise that it is actually one of Wes's best works. all in all good wholesome family entertainment, joking aside, this is a very harsh and violent movie but also a brilliantly shot and directed movie, the script is somewhat lacking but the performances make up for that little doosie, i strongly recomened this title to anyone who likes films that dont tip toe around the subject matter or to anyone who is a fan of wes craven or indeed Sean S. cunningham (no not the ginger from happy days) as he was the producer of this movie and actually gave Wes his first break in film.
so go on, enjoy, but do keep in mind this BBFC version of the movie is cut(when will those punks learn), but you can see all the cut scenes in a stills montage in the extra features(nice one boys!), but for a film that has been banned in the UK for 30 years it's about time we got to see something.
if you want to see the uncut version it can be found somewhere on the world wide web, but it's your job to find it. sadly i have to leave filmville for the time being but take care and i'll see you in the funny pages..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive and brutal, 12 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last House On The Left (2 Disc Special Edition) [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
Wow what a movie. Yes it is brutal and violent but it is also well acted by the lead characters and directed by one of the horror greats in Wes Craven. Though I do feel the climax is a bit unrealistic, the movie is all about the first hour or so.

Depraved but well shot, notice the gentle music score in the most brutal of scenes, this is a touch of a genius at work. The second killing and how it is constructed after the rape is almost pure cinema. A great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was the new version but it turned out to be the original. The story is a pair of teenage girls are headed to a rock concert for one's birthday. While trying to score marijuana in the city, the girls are kidnapped by a gang of psychotic convicts. Won't say too much more as will spoil the story. All I will say is considering its age it is a good film, its slow to begin with but when it gets going it is a watchable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An example of when 'classic' is an overused word!, 16 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Film: It's always going to be difficult to write a review for a movie as notorious as 'Last House on the Left' for a number of reasons. Firstly, what can you say that hasn't been said before regarding a movie nearly 40 years old? Secondly, the original theatrical release ran a whole 7 minutes longer than any version available for home viewing today (including the Region 1 'Unrated' version). This missing footage also features the more explicit violence from the movie, so we're unlikely to get a true representation of how the movie was originally intended (it garnered universal condemnation when originally released, reportedly with cinema goers clambering to destroy the negative). Hence we can only review the edited version available, but seeing as I've been a big fan of horror, sci-fi and fantasy for as long as I can remember, and for one reason or another 'Last House on the Left' was a film that always eluded my viewing (until now), let's give it a go. It's fair to say that 'Last House..' was made in a decade synonymous with classic horror movies - 'The Exorcist', 'The Omen', 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', 'Halloween' and 'Carrie' amongst them. 'Last House on the Left', unfortunately, isn't one of them, and it's doubtful the full 91 minute version would change that. The directorial debut of Wes Craven, with creative assistance from Sean Cunningham (both of whom would go on to acclaimed success in the 80's) and originally released in 1972 the film is essentially a remake of 60's Swedish movie 'The Virgin Spring'. Then, as here, the story centres around a teenage girl (and only child) of a well-to-do family who is kidnapped, tortured, raped and ultimately murdered by a gang of thugs. Later circumstance leads the same perpetrators to the house of their victim where they find themselves under attack from the parents. Here Craven simply throws in an additional female to be defiled on screen. When viewing the 'unrated' 84 mins version today (the most explicit version available) one question springs to mind - what was all the fuss about? We can only assume that the missing scenes would have in some way pushed the shock value to extremes (perhaps it's a good thing we'll likely never find out). Now I'm not suggesting that the subject matter was not disturbing, and yes some scenes where unsettling, but to market this movie as a 'landmark in horror cinema' is, to be frank, a bit of a joke. The acting was on the whole below par (although the best performances came from the two victims), the dialogue at times excruciating, the awful musical score was totally inappropriate to the scenes (which some have commended but I personally found ridiculous) and the hackneyed attempts at comic relief (particularly with the two 'Laurel and Hardy' type Police Officers but also with early scenes of the central victims parents) were bordering on objectionable. '..Keep repeating it's only a movie' was the famous tagline - it should have read 'Keep repeating it'll develop into a decent movie', which alas it doesn't! The DVD: Considering the age of the movie and the rather amateurish filming the quality of the widescreen print is surprisingly good. As for audio, considering that a 5.1 option is available on other versions and this is supposed to be the 'Collectors Edition' I don't know why only mono is available, which is a shame as the sound quality in the movie isn't too great (often the score drowns out the dialogue). The extra's include featurette 'Still Standing' which is basically Craven telling us how surprised he was at the success of the film (he's not the only one!) and 'Celluloid Crime Of The Century' which includes interviews with Craven and Cunningham plus those actors playing the villains in the movie, and this documentary is in many ways more interesting than the movie itself. There's also a feature on the movie score, which is somewhat ironic considering how bad it was! And if you haven't been totally disappointed by the movie itself (and hat's off to you if you haven't) then you can also watch the 'Never Before Seen Footage' which is basically an extended soundless sequence of the attack on the girls (and appears to be part of that missing 7 mins of footage), as well as one deleted scene (which is pretty badly acted). Plus there are loads of trailers for movies you'll probably never want to see! Summary: 'Last House on the Left' may be an interesting footnote on horror cinema and undoubtedly influenced the current slew of 'torture' flicks, but it's reputation vastly outweighs it's actual quality and ultimately it just isn't a very good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last House On The Left (2 Disc Special Edition) [1972] [DVD]
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews