Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh Baby ! Adventurous 80's Classic that'd be great Sitting in your collection !?
There was a time when Elisabeth Shue was going to be 'the next big thing' and watching this film you truly believed it too.

The lovely Elisabeth holds the film together with her pure energy and 'like-ability factor'. As seventeen year old babysitter Christine - almost a baby herself - she manages to experience a series of mishaps, scrapes, run-ins and (yes)...
Published on 17 Jan. 2008 by Clinty

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Years ago when I first watched it it was a lot more enjoyable
Published 8 months ago by luke oliver


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh Baby ! Adventurous 80's Classic that'd be great Sitting in your collection !?, 17 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: Adventures In Babysitting [DVD] (DVD)
There was a time when Elisabeth Shue was going to be 'the next big thing' and watching this film you truly believed it too.

The lovely Elisabeth holds the film together with her pure energy and 'like-ability factor'. As seventeen year old babysitter Christine - almost a baby herself - she manages to experience a series of mishaps, scrapes, run-ins and (yes) adventures in the course of one long evening, when she reluctantly agrees to pick up her runaway friend from the downtown bus depot (Brenda - hilarious bit part in this film - who adds some really funny moments whilst stranded at the depot ?! ).

The children who tag along for the ride are lovely out-of-town naive characters who each contribute something to the value of the plot.

This is one of my favourite films - it seems to catch a certain nostalgia about films made in that period - it doesn't take itself too seriously - it cracks on at a decent pace - it's funny, camp and has an innocence that captivates the audience.

A fab little film. Great for entertaining the teens, mums, dads and family of a weekend. Just a shame Elisabeth never did make it into the 'shues' of the likes of Julia Roberts or Nicole Kidman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Review, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Read any one of the reviews here for a summary of the film itself. It's a great film and I agree with everyone here....and, it's because I agree with them that I decided to buy this blu-ray once I knew it was region free.
I ordered mine direct from Amazon.com and I've just finished watching it. It's been about seven years since I last watched this film, and I'm very pleased to say that I still enjoyed every minute of it.
But, this is a review of the blu-ray and I have to be honest - it's NOT as good as I'd hoped it would be. BUT...it's a lot better than the reviews on Amazon.com would have you believe. I'm really glad I didn't read any of the reviews on there; because if I had I may have re-thought my decision to buy this. Yes, there is some grain - especially on some of the indoor and night scenes; and, yes, there are a couple of moments when I did think "that doesn't look very good". However, all of this is outweighed by the rest of the film which looks great. The opening sequence as Chris dances around her bedroom to 'Then He Kissed Me' is a joy to behold in high def; having always looked pretty bad on DVD.
Personally, I think this is well worth the upgrade to blu; but ONLY if you really love the film. There are no real extras to speak of (despite the 25th Anniversary tag) with only a bunch of trailers present. But, the upgrade to a DTS soundtrack makes up for that in my opinion.
I certainly won't hesitate to buy more of Disney/Touchstone back catalogue releases as they come out (coming soon are Hocus Pocus and Beaches; both of which I will be buying!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun comedy, 20 Aug. 2007
I'm actually reviewing this R1 American DVD, which appears to have a longer running time than the R2 UK one(maybe the BBFC cut some portions of dialogue and scenes to make it a more acceptable 12 rated film?). And also, this one it seems is in it's original aspect ratio of 1.85:1.

Anyway, this is a fun adventure film that is quite entertaining to watch. What starts as a typical babysitting job to look after the Andersons' daughter(Sara) and teen son(Brad, who quite fancies Chris) turns into something else when Chris is called by her friend Brenda who's run away from home and wants Chris to pick her up so she can stay with her.

Of course, things don't run smoothly and the group, stuck with the teen boy's friend(Daryl) who insists on joining them on their journey in the car, find themselves in a number of various situations and some revelations along the way.

I remember watching this late at night on BBC1(titled in the listings as 'A Night On The Town') and really enjoying it so I had to get the DVD so I could see it again. It does get a little silly at times but I think that's part of it's charm.

The DVD has no extras that I've seen just the film and some recommendations as what you may also wish to see if you liked this.

Overall, a pleasing and enjoyable family film 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant kiddies film, 23 Jun. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures In Babysitting [DVD] (DVD)
this film brings back lots of memories as a child, i probably watched it over 100 times and it was my favourite film by far! As a kid watching the film, you wish you were there on the adventure, brilliant, brilliant film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely funny classic from the 80s, 14 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Adventures In Babysitting [DVD] (DVD)
The avalanche of goofball comedies in the 80s left me rather cold, but this tremendous piece of entertainment from director Chris Columbus is a movie I can watch again and again and still enjoy with a pang of nostalgia.

Simple plot - teenage girl gets stood up so relucantly agrees to babysit two younger kids in the suburbs. Babysitters friend calls, begging to be rescued from the city centre, so off they drive, only to suffer a puncture on the freeway... This is the start of a wonderful series of set pieces culminating in a tremendous climax at the very function the kids' parents are attending.

There are many highlights but scene in the jazz bar is both hilarious and ingenious as the kids perform the "Babysitting Blues". The showdown on the tube train is also superb - shockingly this is sometimes cut from the TV version as it contains a swearword!

Despite its age, the film holds up well and remains a terrific watch. Elisabeth Shue is fantastic throughout.

If you missed this one first time round, get it get it get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Movie, 14 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: Adventures In Babysitting [DVD] (DVD)
This film is Magical.

The adventures these kids got into was almost surreal - I watch this film almost incredulously every time - each scene is just perfect even in standalone but together they become a sum greater than their parts. It wouldn't be fair to mention the scrapes they get into but amazing they certainly are!

It was made during the era dare I say where innocence still showed. Those days are long gone but films like this are a wonderful reminder.

A perfect family film, but with some mild references to sex you might either a) cringe in embarrassment or b) just smile dumbly when watching with the kids! Myself I just burst out laughing. This is one funny light comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Night on The Town, 5 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Adventures In Babysitting [DVD] (DVD)
Elisabeth Shue is a brilliant actress who does not receive the recognition she deserves from Hollywood. However, in the 1987' teen classic "Adventures in Babysitting" her character receives more attention than she would like.
She plays Chris Parker, a high-school senior who is getting ready for a night out with her boyfriend. At the last minute, her boyfriend decides to cancel the date and Chris has nothing better to do in her evening, but babysitting the Andersons' children while their parents have a night out in the Chicago city centre.
That's the beginning of a very eventful night. The Andersons' kids, Sarah and Brad are a handful and together with Brad's best friend, the sexual maniac Darryl. Chris sees herself in a difficult situation when she has to drive into town to rescue a friend who is stuck in the bus station with no money and no where to go. She has no alternative but takes the kids with her to what would be a quick drive to town and back home, if it wasn't for a flat tire on the highway that changes what was supposed to be a small transgression into a run for their lives.
The film is fast-paced and full of humorous moments. One of the best scenes is when Chris and the kids, while running away from gangsters, ended up on the stage of a blues club with Albert Collins; "Nobody leaves the stage without singing the blues." This scene alone does a lot for the film.
The film is guaranteed fun. It has the kind of action that we hardly see in the films being produced in the recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this movie, 25 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Adventures In Babysitting [DVD] (DVD)
This is a movie that you can watch hundreds of times.
It's about a girl names Chris who agrees to babysitting for her neighbours kids when her boyfriend says he cn't make it to their date.
The chaos starts when Chris' friend Brenda calls asking to get picked up from the city bus station. Chris then has to take the kids into the city. You join them as they escape theifs sing in a jazz bar get in a ganster fight and crash a university party.
The movie is so funny i laugh my pants off no matter how many times I see it!!! Buy it now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The correct way to sit on a baby, 3 Oct. 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Adventures in Babysitting is one of those movies that all of the kids back in the day saw apart from me. No particular reason, I just never got around to it. With the new Blu-ray I figured now would be right time to catch up on what I missed.

It's not a John Hughes movie, but it does have a similar aesthetic and is set in a cold, snowy Chicago (a common Hughes theme), and it's the director debut of Chris Columbus who worked with Hughes on the first two Home Alone movies. Babysitting is quite similar in that is has a bunch of kids/teens getting into all kinds of hi-jinks while evading and outsmarting crooked grown-ups.

Elizabeth Shue plays Chris Parker (no relation to Jennifer Parker from BTTF) a girl who has been stood-up by her sleazeball boyfriend and ends up babysitting for a wealthy couple while they go hob-nobbing in the city. Though content to sit in the house all night she gets a frantic call from her friend Brenda (Penelope Ann Miller) who is trapped in an inner city bus station and needs rescued. Multiple detours and deviations make the rescue no easy task. I guess in this sense the movie feels a little bit like Planes, Trains and Automobiles.

It's all inoffensive and good-natured, though I was surprised to hear a couple of F-bombs in there, and some of the dialogue is a little raunchy. Babysitting is no classic, but has lasting appeal and is a fun ride. Michael Kamen also provides a score which sounds like a Die Hard prototype, lending a little more weight to the adventure than would be typical. Stay watching until after the credits for an extra scene.

The Blu-ray presents the movie in 1.85:1 1080p with DTS HD-MA sound, both are pretty good considering the age and budget limitations of the $7 million production. Disney have some nerve calling this a '25th Anniversary Edition' though, it contains absolutely no extras whatsoever apart from a couple of brief, upfront clips of Paranorman and Who Framed Roger Rabbit. There isn't even any disc art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tough time for baby sitter and poor Thor lost his helmet, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures In Babysitting [DVD] (DVD)
Funny dialogue, engaging characters, a chance to sing the blues and a Thor obsessed little girl.

The baby sitter of the title has to save her short sighted (in more ways than one) friend. Circumstances, and a little blackmail, mean she has to bring along her young charge and the girls older brother, as well as the brothers friend.
Their car breaks down, is damaged on route to being repaired and an unplanned trip to a criminal hideout (thanks to a charming rogue car thief) leads to their lives being endangered and a spontaneous blues performance.
Several adventures later, including being caught in the middle of a gang fight (one of the movies few weak scenes) the erstwhile heroes manage to rescue distressed damsel, recover car from 'Thors' garage and get home safely before the parents get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures In Babysitting [DVD]
Adventures In Babysitting [DVD] by Chris Columbus (DVD - 2003)
£5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews