Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire romance and violence
I haven't seen any other Vampire Hunter D anime, or read any of the books, so I didn't know what to expect from this film but I am pleased to say that it is a brilliant film. Bloodlust follows D, a half human, half vampire bounty hunter on the trail of a vampire who has kidnapped a young girl. D must contend with not only the vampire himself, but also rival hunters,...
Published on 22 Jun 2006 by T. R. Alexander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Need to read the comics first.
Vampire Hunter D is a classic example of Manga at it's best. Trust me... having read some of the Vampire Hunter D comics I can say that this is a perfect transaction between paper and viewing screen. Sure the animation is a little ropey but then again this was made in 1985 so hey.
The story is your average vampire hunter story.
Count Magnus Lee, a 5000 year old...
Published on 8 May 2005 by madmanmikexp


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire romance and violence, 22 Jun 2006
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I haven't seen any other Vampire Hunter D anime, or read any of the books, so I didn't know what to expect from this film but I am pleased to say that it is a brilliant film. Bloodlust follows D, a half human, half vampire bounty hunter on the trail of a vampire who has kidnapped a young girl. D must contend with not only the vampire himself, but also rival hunters, mercenary creatures and villagers who object to his mixed parentage. I did enjoy this film immensely, the characters are great, the story is involving and, although some of the animation is slightly below average, there are some beautiful backdrops and scenery. After seeing this film I will definitely be seeking out other Vampire Hunter D things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for anyone, who considers themself an anime fan., 4 Mar 2005
I bought this film on impulse, i was in a store and had a bit
of money spare and thought hey i might aswell boost up my anime
collection, so i had a look around and all i could find were
the crappy MANGA LTD budget Dvds (vampire wars and so on)and i
was about to loose hope of finding anything watchable but after
20 mins of browsing I noticed Bloodlust sticking out of the crap
like a diamond in the rough, and i immediately purchased it,and
i wasnt dissapointed.

This film is very well made, the animation, is fluid,crisp, deep
and detailed and by far superiour to anything else out there produced recently
i couldnt believe how much of an improvement it was compared to the animation
from the older OVA, it was truly breathtaking, especially the battle scenes
which are incredibly detailed and fluid.

The voice acting in this film is also of a very high standard
all of the characters sound exactly as you would think,
which adds to the realism of the animation (quick info:VHD was
one of the first anime to be made for a british dubb
originally,and then be translated to japanese).

The plot of the film is well written, keeping you on the edge of your
seat throughout, only slowing down to emphasise the end climax,
which is well realised.

This film is heart wrenching and action packed, definately a
must have for anyone, who considers themself an anime fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of anime, 27 Dec 2004
I got this DVD on the basis of liking the director's previous work (Ninja Scroll, Cyber City), and was thrilled to find it was up there with those titles. The animation is similar to Ninja Scroll, and the characters are imaginatively designed, from a woman who 'merges' with the trees, to a bed bound psychic who projects himself around in a floating light form.

The pace of the film almost seems too fast and action packed at first, but the scenes are so creative, you end up just going with it. I love the style, which continues the cross between gothic vampire images with a sci-fi aesthetic seen in the original Vampire Hunter D. It was also nice to see a story which breaks from the traditional save the girl formula, with few characters definable as just 'good' or 'bad.

This has definately become one of my favourite animations, with seemingly effortless imagination and am engaging script which is as concerned with the characters individual struggles as well as the plot. The action can get a bit gory, but never seems inappropriate for the 15 rating. Its about an hour and a half long, and includes a short making of feature which I haven't watched yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benchmark Stuff, 11 Dec 2004
Excellent Anime with brilliant animation and plenty of vampire action. I'd rate this right up there alongside Ninja Scroll and Blood; The Last Vampire
Kawajirii's films are usually excellent with super-fluid character animation and amazing action scenes. The backgrounds and characters in this film are extremely well crafted.
If your a fan of Kawajirii's stuff, a fan of Anime in general or just like Vampire/Action films then this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old but good vampire anime, 21 May 2009
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampire Hunter D [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a set of light novels, Vampire Hunter D is a reasonably old anime film that, despite showing its age somewhat, is still entertaining and well worth watching. When the ancient vampire Count Magnus Lee sets his sights on the young farmer Doris Lang as his next human bride, Doris hires the mysterious vampire hunter known only as D to protect her and destroy the Count.

As I have already said, this is a quite old anime film and it does show with some rather basic animation and only the English language dub available. This is not to say that the film is bad though as it does have a good, if light, plot, some good fights and a couple of nice twists. Vampire Hunter D is definitely not the greatest vampire anime around but it is entertaining and wouldn't be out of place in any anime fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars D is for Disapointing ... or dumb ass?, 24 Jun 2008
This review is from: Vampire Hunter D [DVD] (DVD)
How anyone can slag this film off is beyond me as for its time (1985) this had some of the sweetest graphics and even by todays standards, although lacking, the anime graphics are still kinda kool.... its a classic .... get over it.

Although the story line is kinda what you would expect, the film is kinda fast paced with some good scenes and alot of new ideas (for 1985) ... its well worth a look and def anime fans will appreciate its true value ... i think perhaps if they brought out one of those digitaly re masterd versions it would get the respect it deserves even in a modern market it would trample the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dampeel, 3 Feb 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vampire Hunter D [DVD] (DVD)
"Vampire Hunter D" is a pretty deserving anime classic -- moody hero, gothic atmosphere, and buckets of blood.

While the animation is a bit dated, the solid direction and creepy story are more than enough to compensate. This dark, gloomy adaptation of Hideyuki Kikuchi's novels is a postapocalyptic cowboy/vampire story... with a twist. And boy, is it a twist.

Farm girl Doris is bitten by the ancient Count Lee (named after Christopher Lee), and is in danger of turning into a vampire herself. But fortunately she encounters D, a silent vampire hunter who agrees to protect her and her little brother from the Count and his underlings.

But Doris gets kidnapped despite D's efforts, and D sneaks into the castle and battles past mutants and snake-women to rescue Doris. But that isn't the end of the conflict -- Lee is determined to have Doris for his new wife, and D is just as determined to destroy the malign old vampire.

"Vampire Hunter D" looks a little dated to modern anime fans -- kind of smudgy and stiff (look at D's weird stabbing scene). Fortunately, the story more than makes up for this -- basically it's an old western, but with monsters, vampires, and cyborg horses.

The whole thing is very dark and shadowy, even in prim little towns, up until the final scenes when we finally see some sun. The storyline moves pretty slowly for awhile, but speeds up rapidly when Doris is abducted the second time, right up to the earthshattering finale.

It's also peppered with some solid fight scenes, as well as the gore: severed limbs, electric whips, exploding heads, flying organs and literal gushers of blood. While the tone is quite grim, some of the dialogue is pretty funny ("For the first time in one hundred years I haven't been bored once!"). Including everything said by Left Hand, the hilarious parasite in D's... left hand.

D himself is an enigma for most of the movie -- repressed, quiet, kind to kids, but with a hidden vampiric side that only turns up occasionally. It takes careful attention to figure out who this "dampeel" is. And while Doris could have been a bit tougher, she comes across very realistically as a young girl in a terrifying situation.

"Vampire Hunter D" is a postapocalyptic goth movie, with a likably taciturn hero,a timeless storyline, and a lot of graphic anime violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dunpeel, 23 April 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"Vampire Hunter D" is a pretty deserving anime classic -- moody hero, gothic atmosphere, and buckets of blood.

While the animation is a bit dated, the solid direction and creepy story are more than enough to compensate. This dark, gloomy adaptation of Hideyuki Kikuchi's novels is a postapocalyptic cowboy/vampire story... with a twist. And boy, is it a twist.

Farm girl Doris is bitten by the ancient Count Lee (named after Christopher Lee), and is in danger of turning into a vampire herself. But fortunately she encounters D, a silent vampire hunter who agrees to protect her and her little brother from the Count and his underlings.

But Doris gets kidnapped despite D's efforts, and D sneaks into the castle and battles past mutants and snake-women to rescue Doris. But that isn't the end of the conflict -- Lee is determined to have Doris for his new wife, and D is just as determined to destroy the malign old vampire.

"Vampire Hunter D" looks a little dated to modern anime fans -- kind of smudgy and stiff (look at D's weird stabbing scene). Fortunately, the story more than makes up for this -- basically it's an old western, but with monsters, vampires, and cyborg horses.

The whole thing is very dark and shadowy, even in prim little towns, up until the final scenes when we finally see some sun. The storyline moves pretty slowly for awhile, but speeds up rapidly when Doris is abducted the second time, right up to the earthshattering finale.

It's also peppered with some solid fight scenes, as well as the gore: severed limbs, electric whips, exploding heads, flying organs and literal gushers of blood. While the tone is quite grim, some of the dialogue is pretty funny ("For the first time in one hundred years I haven't been bored once!"). Including everything said by Left Hand, the hilarious parasite in D's... left hand.

D himself is an enigma for most of the movie -- repressed, quiet, kind to kids, but with a hidden vampiric side that only turns up occasionally. It takes careful attention to figure out who this "dampeel" is. And while Doris could have been a bit tougher, she comes across very realistically as a young girl in a terrifying situation.

"Vampire Hunter D" is a postapocalyptic goth movie, with a likably taciturn hero,a timeless storyline, and a lot of graphic anime violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb!!!, 30 Dec 2004
In my opinion, this film has it all and is rapidly becoming a favourite of mine.
I have not seen the original VHD but for better or worse, as far as I can tell, this is nothing like it.
OK. So to begin. Beautiful animation. It is simply awesome. That's all there is to it.
The character design? Beautiful. The Barbarois in particular.
And the dubbing. Well actually VHD Bloodlust is one of few animes in which the English audio was recorded first. This could be why it is so good, each character's voice fits perfectly. This may also be why I recognise a few VAs from the Animatrix.
The storyline is excellant, it's a perfect mix of sci-fi, horror and romance.
Basically in the distant future, vampires rule the night however there are few left. Bounty-hunters are killing them, one such hunter is the half-human, half-vampire (Dunpeal)Vampire Hunter D. That's the start of it all anyway...
I also the love the music, it fits perfectly throughout the entire film.
I can't recommend this enough. Buy it. If you regret it, theres something wrong with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film's bark is certainly worse then its bite., 18 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Vampire Hunter D [VHS] (VHS Tape)
When a village girl called Doris Lang is attacked by an evil count called Magnus Lee she hires the services of a vampire hunter called D to solve the problem. But as D discovers, he's got his work cut out for him, having to protect Doris and her brother Dan from the clutches of the ruthless and powerful count.
This story involves a lot of violence, bloodshed and gore which is quite surprising for a 15-rated film, but it's still very entertaining.
If you like Manga for its animated horror films then this is definitely for you. Recommended!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vampire Hunter D [DVD]
Vampire Hunter D [DVD] by Yoshiaki Kawajiri (DVD - 2003)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews