Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2004
I can understand why some don't like this, especially when sometimes the quality vocals are slightly unheard above the sound of the crowd.
But the fact is that any fan of Dashboard will know the songs really well already, and so hearing the crowd in my view only really adds to the atmosphere and provides different versions of familiar tracks: such as on Hands Down and Again I go unnoticed where there is a more rocky aspect.
The standout track is Swiss Army Romance, which is awesome however you hear it. But there isn't a bad track on this album.
The fact that the CD also features the performances on DVD is also very appealing...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2004
Without a specific DVD or video by Chris and the DC boys, i was influenced into buying this by the prospect of getting some good, lengthy live footage on the DVD, unlike the short, rather pointless footage on 'A mark, a mission, a brand, a scar'. But, having bourght it now, i have no regrets.
The CD contains a great live set with a brill performance by Chris. The soothing and relaxing tones make it great for those chillout days and evenings. All the favourite songs from the albums are on there, and there's also some of the excellent older songs from the EP's, 'Remeber to breathe' and 'So impossible' to name just two.
The highlight though, as i expected, is the DVD. It's of a lengthy session, played to a small crowd. It contains pretty much the same set as the CD (i think), and shows the band realy enjoying the music they're making so brilliantly.
I'd recommend this to any Dashboard fan, especially if you havent had the chance to see them live yet. Obviously the atmosphere's better live, but this CD + DVD makes a good substitue for when the band aren't touring the UK.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
Chris Carrabba is what I would term a musical genius. His lyrics are as poignant and romantic as you can get and his musical flair oozes confidence and passion. He combines perfect lyrics with melodies and hooks to die for.
This album is worth every penny.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2002
With Chris Carrabba's newest full length release he brings with him Mike Marsh, Dan Bonebrake and John Lefler, previously only heard on a handful of tracks on their newest full length album "The Places You Have Come To Fear The Most". Although originally starting up Dashboard Confessional as a solo project Chris has further widened his fan base, adding bass guitar and the unbelieveabley talented Mike Marsh on the drums to some old classics such as So Impossible and Remember To Breathe, in the same way the old songs on the new Summer's Kiss EP have been revamped, giving a more upbeat and positive atmosphere around the same depressing words spoken passionately and sometimes screamed along with the crowd who don't miss a word. John Lefler adds subtle but amazingly effective backing guitar and even piano underneath Chris' cutting voice and amazing stage presence, which seems to have the crowd fixated on him as he stands back from the microphone to let them sing the chorus on a few songs. Listening to this cd is like being at one of their concerts, hearing everyone sing along as loud as they can whilst still being able to hear Chris singing clearly
It's amazing to see how far Chris has come since leaving Further Seems Forever to playing on MTV and he has gained more and more popularity and this is a must have for any true Dashboard fan but if you haven't yet heard of Dashboard Confessional then you may want to hear their full length albums first. Also the american version comes with a full DVD of the set which I strongly recommend for those dedicated fans. If you know what to expect from this band then you definately won't be disappointed and it still has a couple of old songs which he's chosen not to play with a full band like The Swiss Army Romance. This is definately worth the money even if you pay just for the new version of Hands Down which is incredible.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
I found myself driving along screaming shut up to the horrible yanks singing in the back ground just got very angry at an album that would have been great listening to a band that frequent these shores hardly at all live.
If you want music then dont buy this, there are not any rarities and at one point Chris Carraba plays to his prepubescent crowd saying things that make you cringe!! "this songs about the best date I ever had" then the girls all go "ahhhhhh" SHUT UP CROWD!!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2006
Firstly, the CD/DVD is amazing and is worth the money many times over. The DVD is a full length presentation of the unplugged session (which the audio CD is taken from), and is watchable in it's own right over and over again. Think of it as buying a DVD with a free CD, that makes more sense to me.
I was interested to see someone else had made the connection between the quality of this unplugged session and the nirvana session in 1994. They are both masterpieces of sincerity.
Dashboard Confessional create a all-in-it-together atmosphere of understanding and sharing of joy and pain. it's kind of like talking to your best friend in -your- hour of need
Kurt Cobain creates the uneasy tension, which is like watching him through a secret camera, playing songs to himself on his bedroom floor in -his- hour of need.
They are both amazing for very different reasons, and both should occupy prime positions on your CD rack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2003
The pin up boy of the emo world Chris Carrabba brings us another great album. After the releases of Swiss Army Romance and The Places You Have Come To Fear The Most this album expected to deliver something special. Unsuprisingly this album lives up to the high standard expected. With well thought out lyrics full of emotion and heartache and raw singing talent Chris doesnt fail and proves that he, and his band are as good live as recorded. This can be seen in the excellent songs The good fight, The places you have come to fear the most and Again I go unnoticed. Each one capturing the talent and emotion of the band. The album is full of energy built by the devoted fans who can be heard singing along. One of the best emo bands for a long time even if your not into emo music its worth checking it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2004
I love Dashboard confessional and listening to everyone sing along at gig's is part of the magic when it comes to their songs, because you know that everyone can relate, but this is exactly why this unplugged album doesn't work for me. I was really excited at the prospect of hearing DC's songs unplugged, mainly because Chris has such a beautiful voice and he sings with such passion, but this cd is just a sing-a-long for grinning adolescents, and for most of the songs you can barely hear him. I wish i hadn't bothered with this CD. It unfortunately smacks of the record company feeding the cash cow, which is a real shame. Still love the band though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2003
Ever since i found a couple of Dashboard Confessional's earlier songs i have been absolutely hooked! This album is beautiful! It helps if you've listened to his previous studio releases - but every song on the album makes the hairs on the back of neck stand on end. I would even go as far as to say this is the greatest live album ever. It contains an excellent mix of his older songs and stuff off his newest release! When the audience join in to some of the songs is when the album becomes magical -all of Chris's lyrics are emphasised so sweetly. Again - ASTOUNDING!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2003
Having been recommended Dashboard Confessional by a friend I was extremely pleasantly surprised with this live offering. Raw and catchy numbers such as Swiss Army Romance are teamed with the deep Places You Have Come To Fear The Most. Comparable perhaps with someone like John Mayer but with more of a rock feel. A great driving album, sit back and enjoy the first artist to appear on MTV Unplugged who hadn't sold 100,000 copies. The secret to their success seems to be word of mouth as they remain relatively unknown, but given time they may achieve cult status.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.06

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)