Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent opera, excellent procuction, excellent DVD presentation.
Eva Marton is wonderful in the title role, both in acting and singing. Particulary in act 2 scene 2, where she subtly conveys the reactions she recalls in act 3. Watch her face when Calaf tries to kiss the hem of her robe. Placido Domingo is also effective, showing Calaf's arrogance and selfishness convincingly. Leona Mitchell is heartbreaking as Liu, her unrequited...
Published on 7 May 2008 by Parkie

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars sub-titles???
The advert for this video implied that it had english sub-titles. From memory it seems this was a little ambiguous, but sub-titles there were not
Published on 25 July 2012 by dancingdave45


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent opera, excellent procuction, excellent DVD presentation., 7 May 2008
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Eva Marton is wonderful in the title role, both in acting and singing. Particulary in act 2 scene 2, where she subtly conveys the reactions she recalls in act 3. Watch her face when Calaf tries to kiss the hem of her robe. Placido Domingo is also effective, showing Calaf's arrogance and selfishness convincingly. Leona Mitchell is heartbreaking as Liu, her unrequited devotion shining through in her voice and acting.

The Mandarin makes the most of his moment, turning what is basically plot exposition into a rabble rousing speech designed to fire up the peasants while the Emperor is portrayed as being weighed down by guilt at allowing Turandot to make her terrible bargain.

The scenery is magnificent, from the crowded streets of Peking to the stark elegance of the palace garden at night. The most stunning moment is surely the first appearance of Turandot, making good use of the Metropolitan opera's impressive stage machinery. The costumes are also beautiful and look "right".

My only criticism of the presentation is the failure to show the Act 2 Scene 2 reveal as the audience would have seen it. And that's about as minor a quibble as you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best productions from the MET, 15 Feb 2007
By 
Robert Petersen (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When I first saw this production on VHS in 1994, I was really bowled over with the fine singing and acting from all the principals. James Levine and his MET Orchestra produced fine sound and sensative accompaniment and overall, this production really impressed me. I vowed that when it came out on DVD, I would be the first to get a copy. This was over 3 years ago! I watch this DVD repeatedly and I am still bowled over with the overall effect of the singing and staging. Eva Marton as Turandot has been superbly costumed and directed by Franco Zefferelli and to my ears, a fine Turandot. She owns the stage in Act 2 Scene 2 and her curtain call at the end of the opera is a well-deserved ovation! Domingo had a bit of an off night with this performance, but still manages to deliver the goods as Calaf. Leona Mitchell will make you cry with her singing as Liu and the rest of the cast is first rate! This will be a difficult choice amongst some people, however the only competition will be the 1983 Vienna Turandot with Harold Prince directing and Lorin Maazel conducting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfull masterpiece, magnicent perfomances, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The opera lovers can't forget this inestimable DVD !
The best of Puccini with the wonderfull Eva Marton, powerfull Placido Domingos, Franco Zefirelli and James Levine, all to offer us pleasure hours.
The adjuvant cast works quite well, but especially Leona Mitchell as 'Liú' have an amazing voice and flawless technic !
The Metropolitan Chorus and Orchestra are both splendid, so I must finish my review with my title 'wonderfull masterpiece, magnificent perfomances'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turandot DVD, 22 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have both the 1988 and 2009 met versions on DVD. Of course, the trick is to get to see the performances live, and for those lucky enough to do so, both performances will have seemed wonderful experiences.

The 2009 version, also with set design by the genius Franco Zeffirelli, is available in near-HD or Blu Ray. The colours and resolution are very much better and far less dark than the 1988 version and many of the supporting performers are equally good. For example, Ping, Pong and Pang (Hopkins, Stevenson and Valdes) appear the equal of the 1988 performers (Schexnayder, Glassman and Laciura).

The main advantage of the 2009 version is the high quality video which brings home just how ornate and beautiful Zeffirelli's production is. However, the singing by the main performers in the 1988 is a league above that of 2009. Eva Marton is quite outstanding and Domingo, if not quite at his very best, is very strong throughout. Both performers display high levels of acting to their roles and the closeups of Marton in particular, reveal subtleties which might be lost to the live audiences. In such company as these, the performances of Maria Guleghina and Marcello Giordani in the 2009 version start to pale. Marina Poplavskaya, surely a super star in the making, is impressive in the 2009 version, yet Leona Mitchell operates at an even higher level as Liu in 1988. Goodness, what talent was available in 1988.

Both performances are so entertaining in their own ways that I recommend both! Whilst the 2009 version contains some excellent treats for the eye, the 1988 is close to the highest quality singing ever heard on DVD. The 2008 version contains a wonderful set, brilliant costumes and dancing that even improves, albeit slightly, on Zeffirelli's 88 masterpiece. The quality of the 2008 film is also very substantially better. But if its singing you want on your DVD, the 1988 is the one to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turandot DVD, 30 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Most viewers seem to regard this as still the best video of the opera. I would agree that it is a very good one, though it shows its age in being for 4:3 display. The audio quality is good, but not excellent. Modern audio DVDs are generally clearer. Of course, this was a live recording which generally reduces sound quality. The performance is very good.

Having the DVD, with subtitles, enables the plot of the opera to be understood, for those of us challenged in the Italian department. However, once the plot is known I think that the greater musical quality of the best CDs gives an ultimately more satisfying experience.

I have to say that I find Turandot less satisfying than the rest of Puccini's main works, perhaps because the scale is so much larger, but that is a personal opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STAGING, A LITTLE SHORT ON ACTING, 3 May 2013
By 
I. Zaneres (west midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I will take a view of the artistes first. Paul Pushka as Timur has a rich throaty voice, quite good. Leona Mitchell a sweet voiced Liu, a close second to Barbara Fritoli at Beijing. Placido Domingo, well the voice of course is fine, but he sings to the audience rather than interacting with the other characters, he does not seem to be in the character, but in a dressed up concert. Cuenod the emporer is the best that I have heard, he does not unlike some other versions seem to have been given the role as a long service award. The three gentlemen wha are Ping,Pang and Pong are quite brilliant. There is something about these roles that brings out the best, in every version I have these characters are made the most of by the participants. Eva Marton blasts away at her first entry, but then moderates a bit, and does impart some feeling. She is better here that in the later San Francisco offering, but I prefer Guleghina who is still a bit overpowering. My favourite is Casolla from the forbidden city.
The staging is all well done, with the royal court absolutely gorgeous. Take particular note of the magnificent masks.
The handbook is excellent, There is a detailed aria listing, there are comprehensive articles on the history of the opera, and Puccinis problems. The synopsis is also detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow factor, 19 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Bought this because it had 5 star reviews and they are usually very accurate --This had WOW factor ! Liu was quite exceptionally good as of course was Placido Domingo ( I never expect anything else from him) but the surprise for me was Eva Marton.She has a big voice which is not always comfortable to hear,but her acting ability was remarkably good and she subtly managed to put humanity into a difficult role,showing cruelty , confusion and eventually understanding and love- very impressive.The production is lovely with extravagant costumes which I loved.I shall take pleasure in seeing this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turandot- Puccini- NTSC edition (1988) DVD, 8 Jan 2011
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a tremendous production of a tremendous Opera. The first act is like a finale, ending with the unknown Prince (Placido Domingo) striking a large Gong three times in acceptance of the challenge. In addition to Puccini's own romanticism, there are shades of Wagner, and Mahler. Eva Marton makes a monumental and beautiful Chinese Princess Turandot who condemns noble suitors to death if they court her, and can not solve three riddles. Her formidable stance full of hatred is slowly stripped from her as the unknown Prince Calaf solves each riddle, and scrolls attached to her back are unfurled.
Franco Zeffirelli directs the film of a stage performance at the Metropolitan Opera, with James Levine conducting the Metropolitan Orchestra, Chorus, and Ballet. There is a choice of subtitles, and a booklet with an interesting analysis by Roger Parker 1988, plus photographs. There are also 5.1 audio options on this Deutsche Grammophon NTSC edition.
Leona Mitchel plays Liu, the lovely Slave girl who saves Peking from Turandot's ravages of hate with her love, and Paul Plishka sings Timur, the aged father of Calaf. Brian Schexneyder, Allan Glassman, and Anthony Laciura, provide some clever and wistfull comic interludes as Ping, Pang, and Pong, three priests. Here one can not help bringing to mind Autumn from Mahler's 'Song of The Earth'.
Puccini died from cancer of the throat before he completed the score for the last duet between Turandot and Calaf, so Franco Alfano was commissioned to do this, following the 36 pages of piano sketches. Alfano added some of his own personal touches to the last scene, which was vetted by conductor Toscannini, which might account for the feeling of a rather abrupt ending. However none of the drama is lost, and Puccini's intention is carried through as Turandot reveals the name of the unknown Prince as 'Love' to the Emperor and her subjects. The power of Eva Marton's voice is obviously a key factor in making this an astounding production, of an opera, which unlike Madame Butterfly and Tosca, has a gloriously happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really pleased with purchase, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Thank you for your fast efficient service. Really pleased with purchase. It has made the perfect present for a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Turandot on DVD!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Puccini's Turandot is one of my favourite operas, but rarely I find a dazzling production with excellent performers. This performance is one of them. Firstly, Zeffirelli's production is the best production ever made for Turandot, with awesome settings and costumes by any aspect. Secondly, the performers are amazing; Eva Marton is the best Turandot I have ever seen and heard (both on CD and DVD) and Placido Domingo is a great Calaf. Leona Mitchell is a wonderful Liu -because of her magical singing and acting . The Metropolitan Chorus sings with so much intensity and passion the choruses and James Levine conducts so good! So, if you're an Opera fan this is an essential you musn't miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turandot - Puccini - NTSC edition [1988] [DVD] [2003]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews