Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game, but you may not need it....
I'm a pretty big Resident Evil fan, so when I heard about the Resident Evil remake for the GameCube, I was pretty excited. Bought that, loved it and sat patiently waiting for RE2.
That's when things took a (slight) turn for the worst. RE2 is a direct port from the PlayStation original, but this isn't necessarily a bad thing. The game itself is excellent as games go,...
Published on 15 May 2003 by liam_dempsey2

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So how does the GAMECUBE version hold up?
Okay, this review will be looking at how the Gamecube conversion of this game compares to the others rather than the game itself, which apparently 2.5 million people have already made up their own minds about.
Graphically, this game is almost too sharp. The FMV movie sequences are so clear that every thing looks like its made of very shiny plastic. The N64 version...
Published on 11 Jun 2003 by J. Giles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Reason I Love Resident Evil so much, 13 Mar 2004
By 
Gary Rose "g_r7" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
I do feel that everyone is being a bit unfair with the GC verison of RE2. Ok its not as good as the RE1 remake or 0 but its better than RE3: Nemesis (which is still great and 4 stars from me).
All the bad that the other reviews are ture. Its not scary compared to RE1 remake (which made me very very scared, which is why I love it so) but this is the reason I love RE now. I was at my mates house everyday playing it his PSone and I did get the N64 version becuase of it. And now I get to enjoy it on my GameCube so I dont see any real bad points.
One last thing; the game doesn't play as well as RE1 remake of RE0 BUT it plays a hell of a lot better on the GameCube than on the N64 or PSone, so if you never had the joy/torrer or playing it elsewhere then buy this game now. Its great and about 3 times longer than the other because of there being four game on it and two hidden ones.
Just don't play any more than 30 for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the RE series returns., 6 Jun 2003
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
Ask any hardcore resi fan what their favourite game is and they'll say RE2. The graphics still stand up to other games, even today. It has the most intensive storyline ever. The game is HUGE. There are 4 main scenarios, 3 large side games (one of which is part of the storyline), but unfortunately all the galleries are missing in the GC version. For RE nooBs you'll need to play this if you want to understand any of the storylines of the other RE games. The FMVs are still fantastic, especially the famous one showing the outbreak. Very realistic characters. Very nice weapons. My favourite game yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil 2 the second game in the original trilogy, 12 Sep 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
Resident evil 2 is what many resident evil fans consider to be the best game in the series. Not only does it continue the story of the first game rather well but unlike it's predecessor and subsequent games; resident evil 2 offers four different scenarios.

So to set the scene depending on who you play as we are greeted by an Fmv scene of either Leon or Claire travelling to Raccoon City. Both characters arrive and discover the town overrun by zombies, they manage to escape in a police cruiser and start driving and it is here we learn; that Leon is a rookie cop arriving for his first day, and Claire is searching for her brother Chris Redfield; our protaganist from resident evil 1. Their moonlight drive is cut short however and both Claire and Leon are seperated by an explosion that seperates them. Leon shouts to claire on the opposite side to head to the police station. Now the game is over to you.

Resident Evil 2 plays exactly like the previous game and takes place for the most part inside the Police station. Because of it being a former museum the RPD station is very similar in design to the mansion, and most of the time inside it will consist of you having to hunt down keys to progress. As you progress you will continue onwards to the sewer system and finally just like the first game, the lab. However resident evil 2 does have some differences; to begin with it is only Leon that will recieve the shotgun and Magnum, Resident evil 2 is also the first game to pioneer injured walking and when the chosen character is in caution or danger, they will limp. As I also mentioned above this game features four different scenarios of the main game, an A and a B. When you complete one of the character's A scenario you can then play their B scenario. The difference between A and B is: Different bosses, different dialog and scenes, new areas of the game to explore, a new ultimate ending, and finally as the B game takes place after the other character's A scenario, some of the things you do in that scenario A will affect the outcome in B. This feature and the two scenarios were believe it or not part inspired by the film Back to the Future part 2. It is also possible in this game to pick up a side pack in either scenario to increase the amount you can carry in your inventory, and like Chris and Jill; Leon and Claire have their respective lockpicks and lighters. Continuing the tradition of playing as another character in this game you will at somepoint play as a little girl named Sherry, and a woman named Ada Wong. After completion of the game you can unlock up to 2 new scenarios, or if you are playing the dreamcast, playstion dual shock, N64, pc or gamecube version, you can also unlock the Extreme Battle mode; which is similar to the resident evil 3 Mercenaries scenario; except that you aren't timed and can save. Finally in any of the A scenario's if you manage to reach the police station without picking up an item, you can pick up a special key which will allow either character to change to another costume; one of which comes with a new weapon.

Except for the typical zombie, spider, crow, and the cerberus, all the enemies in the game are brand new. The new enemies in resident evil 2 range from a Licker; a mutated zombie that now has claws and a body piercing tongue, a giant moth but encountering it is avoidable, a Giant alligator which can be killed in two different ways, A G virus mutation, a mutated Ivy, a new Tyrant programmed to pursue you constantly; although it is only seen in the B scenario, and of course the games main boss William Birkin. This mutated monster unlike any previous resident evil bosses will continue to mutate and get stronger each time you fight him, so ensure to stock up on ammo.

The weaponry in resident evil 2 features the standard handgun, magnum, shotgun, grenade launcher, rocket launcher, and of course the knife. As I said above the shotgun and magnum are not obtainable by Claire, and even though she doesn't get a shotgun she does get a bowgun and a sparkshot. In addition to the standard weaponry you can also unlock a gattling gun, machine gun, and rocket launcher each with unlimited ammo. It is also possible during the main game to find hand gun parts, magnum parts, and shotgun parts to modify the magnum, shotgun and handgun in to more powerful weapons.

Grahically this game has improved drastically. For a start the live action acting has gone completely in favour of a new CG FMV style of cutscene. The pre rendered backgrounds are looking a lot more detailed and photographic and the main hall of the police station looks absolutely stunning! The 3d in game models of the characters and enemies are a lot more detailed, and the inventory items are now no longer 3d viewable objects; They are instead photographs. Even though this game is pre rendered this game has more of an interactive environment for example; you can hurt yourself by walking towards fire, objects can break, and you can even shoot the screen with a gun and it will crack.

The story line continues where resident evil 1 left off. The Mansion has been destroyed and Barry, Jill, Rebecca and Chris surived. They return to the city where they start to discover that the city is in as much danger as the former Mansion. Meanwhile Dr William Birkin a brilliant Umbrella scientist has created a new virus the G virus. Superior in every way to his T virus and capable of creating the ultimate bio weapon. Then due to an unfortunate incident Raccoon City is transformed in to a living nightmare. Unlike resident evil 1 the second game has more than a few different characters that each have their own story to tell.

The music is done again by Masami Ueda and his team from the first game, although this time the music has more of a dramatic sound to it because the producer Shinji Mikami wanted the game to be more of a hollywood style. Consequently instead of the darker gothic sound in the first game, here we have more of a theme of desperation, escape and action.

The replay value of resident evil 2 is excellent and outweighs the first and third games due largely to the A and B scenarios, as well as the unlockable scenarios; hunk, tofu, and ex battle. However even with all the extra modes I feel that Resident Evil 2 is probably the most linear of the 3 games, is this a bad thing? Well yes and no. It would've been nice to be able to choose your ending like the first game; it would of indeed been nice to be able to actually have more than one ending alone. There is virtually nothing you can do in this game that affects your ending and whilst Resident Evil 2 is in many ways superior to the first game, I can't help but feel after playing it a dozen times that it falls a bit short of Resident Evil 1 and even 3.

You see originally Resident Evil 2 was going to be a much different game much! The story line for the most part remained unchanged, but it was a lot harder, and the game allowed you to save and cooperate with other survivors. Unfortunately due to Capcom the game was scrapped, rebuilt, and consequently rushed to completion. This is evident in the fact that the RPD map design is the same as the Arklay Mansion, and there are many inconsistencies with the station design as well as other areas. The only room left unchanged is the experiment room in the lab that can be unlocked by finger print access, have a look for yourself and note the red light. This was clearly going to be a puzzle.

Finally I give Resident Evil 2 full marks because even though the main game in my opinion falls a bit short, the music, atmosphere, graphics, and of course the tons of extra scenarios available outweigh it; this is why a lot of people consider this game to be the best in the series. I recommend this game to any survival horror and resident evil fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same Thing xD, 18 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. L. C. Emmott "Lee Emmott" (Uk Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
This is one of games that was on another console then copyed onto another with what?
With no updated story or graphics too, come on we want to see a new version of this just like number one but no the team of Capcom thought it was really funny to make the same game over and over and copy it somewhat reckless idea!

Note they is only two people you can be again and some voice acting is really awful to listen to that's my downside the good side you get a extra mode battle mode yeah I actully like that mode!

So after all this Capcom likes too make the same game over and over or import the same games over and over what a waste!

PS: I never really liked this one of the graphics just like number three come on we want an updated version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Are you sure this is on the GameCube?, 4 Jun 2003
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
After seeing the fantastic verions of RE on the Gamecube made so far, I having been waiting for ages to get this, my personal favourite version of the game.
I suppose I should have been slightly sceptical due to the somewhat cheap price.
Anyway upon loading, I was gutted to see that this is a carbon-copy of the original Playstation game. Ok, the textures are smoother but otherwise there is NOOOOO difference, so graphically its very shoddy for a GC game. NO new layout like the Gamecube version of the original RE. NO new defence systems or tactics either like that version.
So what would have been a Five star game [come on its a classic] get two stars knocked of for sheer laziness. Its a great game, but you feel a little cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 6 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. D. A. Finney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
First let me say that you really shouldn’t listen to all these people who say that the games graphics are poor compared to the resident evil 1 remake and resident evil 0. Of course the graphics aren’t as good because resident evil 2 is basically the original playstation game which has had its graphic’s and frame rate done up a bit for the cube release. And for all those people who have said in there reviews that they felt cheated all I can say is that the games where brought out on gamecube so that people who never got a chance to play them on the playstation could. And in closing just remember that this game is one of resident evil's roots and is well worth the money if you didn’t have the original playstation version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of The Series, 9 May 2003
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
Althought i have'nt played this game yet it's actually a port of the original version, which mean's there's no change to the grafix's or sounds which is a little disapointing. But hopefully they've ported it from either the N64 or PC version and not from the slow and old phoney greystation.
I it your the first resi game you've bought be sure to keep the light on and take the role of clair redfield who's searching for her brother chris and leon kennedy who's dad get's zombiefied and try's to eat him.
For the price amazon are asking for it you'd be a fool to miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Import review -- U.S., 8 May 2003
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
I have been a big fan of the series since 1999 when I was introduced to Resident Evil 2 on the PlayStation. I was immediately hooked. So naturally, when I heard of a remake for the GameCube, I was a little excited (having loved the Resident Evil 1 remake). But then I found out it would be an almost straight port.
Because the game has graphics like the N64 version, it feels a lot like the N64 version. And how annoying that is (I already own the N64 version)! If you already have the N64 version (or indeed any other version) -- stop reading now. You don't need this game.
Gameplay 6/10:
Any one who's ever played any of the Resident Evil games know the controls are pretty annoying. Same here.
Story 8/10:
The best story of the series and although a little far fetched in places, it will keep you interested.
Audio/Video 4/10:
Below average -- they've only been enhanced a little (barely noticeable). Very disappointing.
Replayability 8/10:
Actually quite good.
Like I said earlier, if you have a version of this game already don't bother. There's simply nothing more here. If you missed it first time round and can get over the slightly dated features, go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A simple upgraded ps game, 18 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
There is denying that there was great anticipation for this latsest instalment of resident evil but it has not delivered. it is simple an upgraded ps one game with little difference. there are no breath take like in resident evil. this game is not a must buy. in fact only the die hard fans will want this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No reason to buy, 20 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) (Video Game)
Resident Evil is a must yeah right when it got released in 1998 on GC i was expeting a remake like Resident Evil Rebirth(or Resident Evil remake or just Resident Evil)the controls is stupid the graphics are like on the Pc version bad but the story is still as good as when it arrived in 1998 if you don't have RE2 on PSone N64 PC or Dreamcast buy this otherwise stay away from this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil 2 (GameCube)
Resident Evil 2 (GameCube) by Capcom (GameCube)
Used & New from: 26.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews