Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars161
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£16.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2013
Bought this as a Xmas present for my wife who has lost her original copy. read the reviews, of which there many, but was so confused by the plethora of versions available I got the wrong one. Would happily return it if I could. If you are looking to buy this BE CAREFUL and read reviews and descriptions to make sure you get the version you want. John Cleese has no business being on this album! My wife thinks I am an idiot, after all, how hard can it be to buy a CD of Tubular Bells and get it wrong!!!!????
PS The bonus DVD is juvenile rubbish, would have been spectacular video effects in the 60's, but then so was Ray Harryhausen with his stop motion fighting skeletons, in 2003 it looks more like a school project for a 10 yr old child!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
I JUST LOVE THIS CD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
just like old times!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2004
This has to be Mike Oldfield's best album (along with Platinum and Five Miles Out) and one of the best albuns in the world.
The sound quality of this edition is great. I also like the surround mix made but even if I didn't it would worth buying it just for the SACD (2-channel) and CD layers.
GREAT.
0Comment5 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
I bought the original version many years ago as part of the 'Boxed' special edition which I played endlessly. Musically, this re-work is still a masterpiece, but I prefer the original. Vivian Stanshall's introduction of the instruments is a tough act to follow, and I'm afraid John Cleese does not really do it for me. Similarly, the new caveman dialogue seems too well spoken compared to the original, especially if you believe the stories about how it came about and close your eyes and imagine the recording. ('Lyrics?1 I'll give him f***ing lyrics!!')
So, different from the original, a brilliant piece of work, just enjoy.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
The original album was incredible, imaginative, clever, visionary etc.
This is the same piece replayed, almost note for note, in an updated recording studio. It adds nothing to the original, and takes away all the charm.
I want to give it five stars because the concept of Tubular Bells deserves five stars, however a rehash of the same thing 30 odd years later doesn't deserve to be in the same class. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
If you own the original, listen to it and love it. If you don't own it, get it. This edit is for fanatical collectors only.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Not my favourite.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
I love the music!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
A modern classic
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Talented or what
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.70
£20.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.