Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power To The Peaceful
It doesn't matter if you like Soul Funk Jazz or Reggae,if your'e into Black music you'l love Michael Frantini. As an ardent campaigner against the death penalty in the USA and as a man of peace, he certainly has something to sing about. The track - What I be, will have you dancing where ever you are. Everyone deserves Black music, go buy.
Published on 23 Jun 2010 by dave copeland

versus
8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uhhh...no
The previous reviewer is soooo mistaken. I have loved everything Spearhead/Michael Franti/Disposable Heroes have ever done...until now.
This is, hands down, the worst piece of crap I've made the mistake of buying in a long, long time. This is simply not worthy of Spearhead. I don't even know why it was released. With the exception of "Bomb the World," there are zero,...
Published on 6 Jan 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power To The Peaceful, 23 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Deserves Music (Audio CD)
It doesn't matter if you like Soul Funk Jazz or Reggae,if your'e into Black music you'l love Michael Frantini. As an ardent campaigner against the death penalty in the USA and as a man of peace, he certainly has something to sing about. The track - What I be, will have you dancing where ever you are. Everyone deserves Black music, go buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 5 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Everyone Deserves Music (Audio CD)
Fantastic, Spearhead fans will love this. Follows in the tradition of other Spearhead albums without sounding like more of the same. Sexy, chilled out hip hop and with a positive message. Thought provoking lyrics (included in the cover)promoting peace, no-one could feel down listening to "love invincible". I'd recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 14 July 2004
This review is from: Everyone Deserves Music (Audio CD)
I Just read the reveiw by the guy from Denmark- Exactly the same thing happened when I saw him at the Glastonbury festival this year- even now listening to this album brings back happy memories. As for the album itself, it is feelgood music- guaranteed to make you feel happy whenever you listen to it (Everyone Deserves Music, Love invincible etc...) Dont let the 1 star reveiw put you off- this album sums up that loving message that our world is desperately in need of...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uhhh...no, 6 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Everyone Deserves Music (Audio CD)
The previous reviewer is soooo mistaken. I have loved everything Spearhead/Michael Franti/Disposable Heroes have ever done...until now.
This is, hands down, the worst piece of crap I've made the mistake of buying in a long, long time. This is simply not worthy of Spearhead. I don't even know why it was released. With the exception of "Bomb the World," there are zero, count 'em zero, decent songs on the album.
Gone are the banging beats. Gone is the experimentation. Gone is the anger, intelligence and outspokeness that has characterized all of Franti's past work.
Basically, this album consists almost entirely of weak pop beats, ballads and soft, inane lyrics. This marks the pussification of Spearhead. Knowing the political climate we live in today and knowing the political bent of Franti, I'm just stunned that this is the best he could muster. Where the hell is the outrage? Damn it, now, more than ever, we need musicians that have something intelligent to say, to say it. Given Franti's past, I expected more. This crap could have been done by Mandy Moore. For God's sake even Paris, who has put out utter garbage for the last few years, relocated his balls and recently put out something with fire and passion (very good album, by the way).
Anyway, I digress. I'm not saying all musicians have to say something, but if you base your entire career on making strong political and social statements, as Spearhead has, then you can't cop out just when you're needed most. Plus, what the hell happened to the beats?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Mud To Sunshine, 6 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Everyone Deserves Music (Audio CD)
I saw Michael Franti at a 4-days music festical in Denmark with about 160 bands. It had been raining from monday to sunday, where he should perform before a bit of a depressed audience. But when he took the stage, the sun came out and he totally changed the muddy mood to a loving hippie "let's hug each other" mood. He spoke some very important words against Bush before singing Bomb The World, and he gave a good speech against the wall in Palestina.
A very cool guy with a very cool band, who's lyrics are intelligent and moving. He has to be seen live, so if you get the oppurtunity to go to one of their shows, GO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure genius, 11 Aug 2004
This review is from: Everyone Deserves Music (Audio CD)
i just came back from glastonbury where i first heard spearhead, i loved them so much i brought this CD. it doesn't what ever kind of music you like, they will speak to you. they are just what the world needs. spearhead are a band that hates war and loves, love and know just how to say it. i can't stress anough how amazing they are. so buy this cd and let yourself grow ever wiser and fill your heart with love. enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 4 July 2004
This review is from: Everyone Deserves Music (Audio CD)
Don't let the one star review put you off- I don't think the reviewer quite understood the message of the album. Yes, the anger isn't as pronounced as in previous albums but everyone who believes in and fights for a better world needs to use both anger and LOVE to fuel them, otherwise you'd just become a bitter old nihilist as you get older.
This album's focusing on the love side of things- its still attacking whats wrong in society but its also trying to remind everyone of the fundimentals of protest- love each other and your enemies, and keep the faith- there are some wonderful things in life and you can't let the badness blind you.
It is a beautiful album and will make you feel better about life when you hear it- If you liked their 'Stay Human' song and album, don't hesitate to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best thing ever, 11 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Everyone Deserves Music (Audio CD)
i also found spearhead at this years glastonbury, which was my 16th glastonbury and i can honestly say i have never seen a better glastonbury set in my life. this cd is so topical, the one star reviwer needs to go actually listen to the cd before reviewing it, which they clearly havent done, as this cd is amazing. it is pure A-class song writting and we need more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everyone Deserves Music
Everyone Deserves Music by Michael Franti & Spearhead (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews