Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues/rock at its very best
This is in many ways the perfect blues/rock album. Purists say it isn't 'proper' blues because Gary uses a Marshall stack with the gain turned up. Well let me tell you, in my opinion this rocked-up reworking of the blues works really well! I love it! I love melodic, hard rock guitar and I love Gary's playing. Add this style to some blues classics, throw in a great...
Published on 24 May 2007 by Adamski

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy rocker meets Blues. Blues don't recognise him.
I don't doubt that Gary Moore means well, and on the back of the late eighties blues revival this crossover effort certainly sold well, but, for all Moore's respectful hat tipping to his elders and betters, 'Still Got The Blues' sounds like an old seventies rocker who sure wishes still he had the blues, but in all honestly never had them in the first place.
Still,...
Published on 3 Jan 2003 by Olly Buxton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues/rock at its very best, 24 May 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
This is in many ways the perfect blues/rock album. Purists say it isn't 'proper' blues because Gary uses a Marshall stack with the gain turned up. Well let me tell you, in my opinion this rocked-up reworking of the blues works really well! I love it! I love melodic, hard rock guitar and I love Gary's playing. Add this style to some blues classics, throw in a great production and the whole thing kicks muchos butt! I think Gary perhaps took the criticism to heart and wanted to be judged as a real bluesman or maybe he just mellowed with time but his later blues albums don't rock nearly as much as this one, which is a shame because for my money he got the formula spot-on with this release. Every song is a corker and the solos, wow! Check out the solos in 'Still Got The Blues' and 'Walking By Myself' in particular for true six string genius. If you're a fan of rock guitar you will not hear better licks and solos than this! The remastered version, as many do, suffers from the 'bonus tracks' stuck on the end. It isn't that they're bad but they detract from the original album. I always think these bonus tracks should be on a second cd, not tacked on the end of the album. Buy the cd and then burn a copy without the bonus tracks on! That way you'll hear the album as it was supposed to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Rock Blues, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
This album ticks so many boxes. I like the blues played with a bit of grunt and that's exactly what this album does. Not strictly a blues album but Gary Moore clearly knows the blues and plays it so.

He plays with some of the greats and knows his way around a guitar, if you like the blues played loud and hard then buy this album,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rock/Blues album to blow your head off, 9 Aug 2000
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
What can I say about this album that has not been said before ? The biggest selling blues album ever, if you like rock or blues and do not have this album then I suggest that you buy it today. "Oh ! Pretty Woman" features Blues legend Albert King, "Too Tired" features the late Albert Collins, and Brian Downey plays on a few tracks as well. This album is rock blues at its best so add it to your collection and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best in Blues, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
This is a brillant, and The Best blues album by Gary Moore. If you have bought it yet, then go out and get a copy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy with seller, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
Happy with this seller love the cd with gary moore still got the blues .will have to look out for other gary moore cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Got the Blues, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
I had this CD on cassette many moons ago and love the music. I have just updated that's all. Cant write anymore about it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Moore - Still Got the Blues, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
A great album, one of his best. I had to buy this for a second time as the last one moved out with my sons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from a virtuoso, 7 Jan 2013
By 
W. HEAL (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (MP3 Download)
A masterclass in screaming electric blues. Moore had an enormous dynamic range and just coaxed the best sounds out of his guitar. Stomping riffs, clean sweeping licks, ludicrous sustain and killer tone. What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more brill blues, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
as on previous cd review - keep on rocking -will inspire a new generation of potential blues writers/players bless Gary R.I.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Studio Album!, 3 Oct 2012
This review is from: Still Got The Blues (Audio CD)
Best Studio Album by Gary, absolutley loved it when i first heard it back in the 90s. Changed my perception on blues and guitar playing. Masterpiece.

PS Checkout a english Blues Rock band called "Snakewater", debut album produced by Grammy Award Nominee Chris Tsangarides (Gary Moore / Thin Lizzy / Judas Preist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Still Got The Blues
Still Got The Blues by Gary Moore (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews