Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an american pie beater
[...] In a way it's a different animal to the american pie franchise, slackers is more surreal. The basic premise of the film is a group of guys cheating their way through college using innovative ways, but alas, they get found-out and held to ransom buy the geek on campus. Either the gang hook him up with the target of his affection, or he will get them kicked out of...
Published on 8 Feb 2007 by L. Travell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as people would have you believe.
the first time i watched this film i thought it was okay, but i watched it again and enjoyed it a lot more the 2nd time round. it is different to other films of the same genre. what sets it apart is it's rather quirky sense of humour that admittedly won't be to everyones taste. there are some highly amusing moments mainly delivered by Schwartzman who plays the stalker...
Published 15 months ago by tobyonekenobi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an american pie beater, 8 Feb 2007
By 
L. Travell "trev productions" (Gosport, Hants. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
[...] In a way it's a different animal to the american pie franchise, slackers is more surreal. The basic premise of the film is a group of guys cheating their way through college using innovative ways, but alas, they get found-out and held to ransom buy the geek on campus. Either the gang hook him up with the target of his affection, or he will get them kicked out of school. The plot is a bit thin on the ground, but hey if your into these films your not really hooked up on 'plot', what you want is cheap laughs and this has plenty of them all served up in a well directed, well characterised and very off the wall comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guaranteed Laugh a minute thanks to Cool Ethan, 23 April 2003
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
'Not another teen movie!' I hear you cry, but this is way different than films such as American Pie and Road Trip. This is not a bad thing though.
Jeff, Sam and Dave, 3 typical 'party-first and study-later' guys are in their final year of University. Upto this point they have managed to cheat their whole way through high school and college, but their little secret is about to blown wide-open by the campus geek Cool Ethan (Jason Schwartzman). Cool Ethan catches them cheating and threatens to get them kicked out of Uni, unless they get him Angela, and girl who he holds an wierd and twisted obsession for.
However, Dave (Devon Sawa) finds himself falling in love with Angela and must decide to choose the girl and face getting him and his friends kicked out of Uni, or helping Cool Ethan and missing out on true love.
Despite the romantic tendencies this film has, I recommend this film to anyone who likes to laugh as this is guaranteed to having you laughing from start to finish, all thanks to Cool Ethan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Film, 27 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Never before in the field of human film making has a film starring so few, made me laugh so much. Insane in parts, just crazy in others, this film will make you laugh so hard you might loosen your bowels.
Devon Swaha shows again that he can be brilliant in a comedy (see Idle Hands) and Jason Schwartzman hasn;t been this good since Rushmoore. With a supporting cast of funy, funny people this film delivers on all levels, just don't watch sober.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one word... Spongebath!, 21 July 2005
By 
Ms. P. Ritchie "bobbybobson" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is one of my FAVOURITE films! It's great. Nothing but clever, harmless fun with plenty of laughs. My 2 most favourite scenes are the hair doll and the spongebath! They are hilarious/quite surreal! The song that plays along with the spongebath scene (and end credits) is excellent, although I can't for the life of me figure out who sings it! If you're unsure about buying this film, do not hesitate. You wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as people would have you believe., 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
the first time i watched this film i thought it was okay, but i watched it again and enjoyed it a lot more the 2nd time round. it is different to other films of the same genre. what sets it apart is it's rather quirky sense of humour that admittedly won't be to everyones taste. there are some highly amusing moments mainly delivered by Schwartzman who plays the stalker nerd character excellently. jamie king is always solid, but isn't really given much of a role. devon sawa is a little disappointing as the lead, and not as good as he is in idle hands, while segel too, isn't really given enough quality dialogue to do anything with. on the whole the film is okay and worth a punt if you fancy something a bit different to the normal team film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars boring!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The two stars is nothing to do with the quality of the packaging or service, as this was very good. The DVD is just very boring and not as funny as I thought it would be. I would not recommend this film to a friend it is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I love comedies, got all American Pie, Van Wilder and tonnes of others.
But I can only say that this is complete and utter crap.
Don't waste your time or money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Good Film to watch when nothing on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Love this movie so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who hired van dorren, 13 Feb 2010
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
A few funny gags of which a couple are hilarious and an energetic young cast and two great cameos, but what on earth made them think Mamie van Doren was a good choice. The scene in question is in the hospital and it is just not funny or clever, bareing her breasts is one thing but having the young actor suck her nipple. And thank god they deleted the moment where he puts his fingers or I would have to see a professional. I beg you all if you watch this movie look away or go deaf and blind for a moment when Van Doren is on screen(I mean the woman was at the time 70 years old).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slackers [DVD] [2002]
Slackers [DVD] [2002] by Dewey Nicks (DVD - 2003)
£3.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews