Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very strong collection of their hits
So many of their songs are well known, and not just to those who were raised on this music, but to people of all ages. Part of the reason may be that surf music is inextricably linked with the sixties - you won't find any modern equivalent.
On this American compilation, you get the classic songs they wrote themselves - California girls, Fun fun fun, Good vibrations,...
Published on 31 Jan 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beter uit die tijd mag je niet verwachten
Leuk om deze in mijn bezit te hebben, qua geluid moet je er echter niet te veel van verwachten. Het is acceptabel maar niet hoogstaand. Wel leuk om die dingen nog eens terug te bewonderen.
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by Wim Bouwens


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very strong collection of their hits, 31 Jan 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of [Us Import] (Audio CD)
So many of their songs are well known, and not just to those who were raised on this music, but to people of all ages. Part of the reason may be that surf music is inextricably linked with the sixties - you won't find any modern equivalent.
On this American compilation, you get the classic songs they wrote themselves - California girls, Fun fun fun, Good vibrations, Little deuce coupe, Help me Rhonda, God only knows, Darlin', I get around and Wouldn't it be nice to name just a few - together with songs that they covered in their own unique way - Do you wanna dance and Sloop John B.
There have been plenty of compilations of their music down the years and will be many more. Given the number of classic songs they recorded, picking just thirty inevitably means that some great songs get left out. A 30 track compilation released in the UK in 2003 contained 24 of the 30 tracks available here – the other six tracks being Little Honda, Then I kissed her, Caroline no, Break away, Cotton fields and Lady Lynda, instead of Shut down, Be true to your school, In your room, Getcha back, Come go with me and Good timing. Clearly, there isn't a lot to choose between the two, so I recommend that you just buy your local version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin, 8 April 2009
By 
M. C. Wheadon "Mark Wheadon" (Canterbury, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've heard some very ropy Beach Boys albums over the years. Producers often feel the need to stereoify the mono recordings in ways which sometimes have been breathtakingly awful (to the point of making me wonder if my setup's broken and I'l listening to only one channel of the stereo).

That's not the case here. These are the classic Beach Boys tracks as they should be - unmolested, or when they've been processed, processed in a way which is subtle, effective and sympathetic.

If you buy this to ensure your music collection has a sufficient quota of classic Beach Boys stuff, then you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars California conformin', 28 Jan 2006
By 
Peter Reeve (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of [Us Import] (Audio CD)
This is the music your Mum wanted you to listen to - a homage to a materialistic life in the sun, a life of smart cars, pretty girls and milk shakes, with not a hint of politics or protest. "Be True to Your School" sounds like a parody today. Hard to believe, but it was perfectly serious in 1963.
If you have grown up with synthesized and electronic music, you will find it hard to imagine the impact of The Beach Boys' music when it was first released. "Good Vibrations" in particular, created a sensation and a real sense that popular music would not be the same again. There was also considerable unease when it was realized they could not create the same sound live on stage. How times change.
Some listeners have expressed disappointment that not all the tracks have been remastered into stereo versions, but bearing in mind that it was often a deliberate choice to record them in mono originally (the fact that Brian Wilson was deaf in one ear might have had something to do with it), you could argue that it is wrong to rerecord them in stereo. You're hearing what they intended.
Their two main influences, Chuck Berry and The Everly Brothers, are very obvious in this compilation. It includes a Berry song, "Rock and Roll Music" which I could have done without, but it does help to show where they came from musically. They began as a fusion of hard rock and soft country.
Also obvious is their affinity with The Mamas and the Papas - complex vocal harmonies, a love affair with California, a smooth, tuneful sound. If you like one group, you'll almost certainly like the other. No surprise therefore that this album includes "Kokomo", a late hit co-written with a couple of Papas. Also no surprise that offspring of Boy Brian and Papa John went on to form Wilson Phillips.
The traditional "Sloop John B" serves to remind us that the 60s folk revival influenced The Beach Boys as well as it did the more obvious groups. Lonnie Donegan had already had a hit in the UK with this song, years before, and when the Boys' version was a hit, he re-released his, "Because there's renewed interest in it." Inevitably, his version bombed. When all is said and done, The Boys were more rockers than folkies.
There is a huge number of 'best of' Beach Boy collections to choose from, so you may want to shop around. This album has 30 tracks, comprising their big hits, and is available at discount prices (in the US). So I recommend this as your best single-disk choice, in the US. In the UK, at the time of writing this review, there is a box set of the same name, available at discount. That looks like a better bagain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 16 July 2009
By 
Mrs. G. Bevan (Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of [Us Import] (Audio CD)
This CD is absolutely brilliant. My husband and I are retired and it takes us back to our youth listening and singing along to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys at their best, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Heard a couple of these tracks on radio recently and thought I really would like a Cd of their songs. This collection did not disappoint me and I am thoroughly enjoying hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beach heaven, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say an all time classic.Play this at the beach on a warm sunny evening and its a party
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Beach Boys collection available, 23 May 2012
By 
Michael Lancaster (Tauranga, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of [Us Import] (Audio CD)
a CD can hold 79 minutes of music.... whoever has compiled this album has done a fantastic job! The only tracks that SHOULD'VE been included (but are missing) are, off the top of my head, "Cottonfields", "Break Away" and "Lady Lynda". Besides that, this is a great collection AND there is a bonus dvd included with rare performances and promotional video clips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEACH BOYS IN STEREO, WELL PARTLY, 14 May 2012
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of [Us Import] (Audio CD)
At the time of writing this is the closest you can get to their greatest hits in remastered true stereo.
Although some would not agree with me, the Beach Boys' sound lacking in mono, they were pioneers of multi tracking together with Spector's "wall of sound" and both are guilty of a lack of proper stereo releases, even more so with Spector, can he remaster them from inside prison !!???

The reasons seem to be the reluctance of Brian Wilson, who is deaf in one ear and Spector said of his artists , they can't sing and sound terrible in stereo, so apart from some vinyls in the 60's there has been a refusal or atleast a reluctance to issue proper stereo.

The tracks that are still in mono can be obtained online in stereo free, just do a google, they will be unofficial takes or rehersal tracks, but at least they are in stereo and will surfice until official versions come out.

It is so bad there still are no official stereo releases of Good Vibrations, Barbara Ann, Help Me Rhonda, Do It Again, to name but three.

Apart from my gripes, a "must have" for anyone one who wants the Beach Boys' Hits, highly recommended.

PS Even the newly released "Smile" massive box set has only stereo part tracks plus backing tracks of Good Vibrations, surely there is enough to to a decent stereo job here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy, 17 July 2008
By 
N. Kennedy "music lover" (The Moon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Truly a fantastic compilation album from one of the greatest and most treasured bands of all time.

The Beach Boys covered so much ground in their music, from girls, cars, heartbreak, romance man it is all here, and of course it ends with 'good vibrations' arguably the greatest song of all time.

'Sounds of summer' truly is a treat to listen to, put it on in the car, at home or best of all during a day out with friends or family and it puts you in a good mood.

I recommend along with this album that you should buy 'the warmth of the sun' kind of it's brother album for the perfect summer package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting and Feel Good Music, 28 April 2009
By 
michymoo (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Showing my age now, but a fab album with all the great well known hits.

Music which is happy and uplifting, ideal for those lazy summer days or BBQ evenings!

Must admit to not being able to listen to the whole album at once, but love it when ipod shuffle is switched on and they turn up randomly - a real happy blast from the past! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of [Us Import]
Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of [Us Import] by The Beach Boys (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews