Customer Reviews


394 Reviews
5 star:
 (283)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome for hdd disassembly
I couldn't find any review that said this, so I'll say it: anyone that's interested in taking apart old hard drives for the magnets/curiosity or whatnot will really appreciate these. They will work perfectly on the screws used on hdd enclosures and the smaller torx screws used inside to keep the small components (and platters) together.

The coloured bits at the...
Published on 13 Oct 2010 by M. Meadows

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
metal is some what soft and tips broke after 1-2nd use, also no torx so replacing component on macbook came to halt untill further tools bought...would suggest in future getting a more robust and complete kit. Having said that packaged nicley and professionally
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by DrSam


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome for hdd disassembly, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LINDY Computer Technician Precision Torx Set (Personal Computers)
I couldn't find any review that said this, so I'll say it: anyone that's interested in taking apart old hard drives for the magnets/curiosity or whatnot will really appreciate these. They will work perfectly on the screws used on hdd enclosures and the smaller torx screws used inside to keep the small components (and platters) together.

The coloured bits at the top of the screwdrivers are not attached to the body, merely molded around the top, meaning you can hold the colured bit and turn the body with your fingers to make removing screws very easy. Well worth getting. After 15 drives completely disassembled the heads of the screwdrivers aren't looking deformed either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
metal is some what soft and tips broke after 1-2nd use, also no torx so replacing component on macbook came to halt untill further tools bought...would suggest in future getting a more robust and complete kit. Having said that packaged nicley and professionally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Torx set, works with HDD/SSD upgrade on Macbook Pro., 22 Feb 2012
By 
Reviews Guy (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LINDY Computer Technician Precision Torx Set (Personal Computers)
Length:: 6:28 Mins

In this video review, you'll see the size, design, and durability features of this product ( LINDY Computer Technician Precision Torx Set ).

It has been used a few times and held up very well with no tip distortion.

The last use was for a Macbook Pro SSD upgrade that was completed successfully with the help of this product, but please note that to actually gain access to the inside of the Macbook Pro, you'll need these: LINDY Computer Technician Precision Screwdriver Set, and then the Torx set to actually remove the HDD/SSD.

The screwdriver set came well-packaged, it also included a nice plastic case where each screwdriver stays put until you need it.

For an affordable price, you can't go wrong. This included Torx T6, T7, T8, T9 and T10 with 20mm-long bits.

I recommend this product based on its quality and price.

It's worth noting that this is NOT Torx Security (with a hole in the middle of the bit), this is Torx only, therefore it won't go inside Torx Security screws (that have a pin in the middle where the hole in the bit slots in), as an example the XBOX 360 controllers use Torx Security screws therefore this set won't work if you want to use it to open the XBOX 360 controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 13 April 2010
By 
Neil Hardie (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LINDY Computer Technician Precision Torx Set (Personal Computers)
Inexpensive, well packaged and suited my purposes (swapping a laptop hard drive) perfectly. The handles are properly sculpted for easy grip. The barrels are short to make access easier in confined spaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, 27 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have used these for changing the hard drive on my macbook pro. Good quality screwdrivers at a very good price. recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works for Macbook Pro (March 2009 model: 5,1), 22 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LINDY Computer Technician Precision Torx Set (Personal Computers)
Brought this tool set to upgrade the hard drive my MBP (model in title) and the tool is fine for doing this job. Note: for upgrading the Hard drive a Philip #00 screwdriver is also required for the MBP bracket removal (not included in this set), LINDY's precision screwdriver set has one.

I'd assumed it was made of poor metal and would probably not last very long. I was surprised to find this was not the case, I believe the 'screwbit' is made of steel, not stainless as there is a black coating (protect it from rusting I guess) around the metal screwtip which will come off after a little use. The handle part is plastic, but comfortable to use.

Pros:
+ Very cheap, yet a decent tool. Only £3.39 when I purchased it.
+ Works with the MBP if that is what you're after.
+ Fine for upgrading notebooks, etc. Wherever a Torx is needed.

Cons:
- Black coating will come off with use and expose the steel, which may rust in the presence of water or air moisture.
- Knit-picking now, but probably not for professional use as the product description states.

4 Stars - does the job and is cost effective. Only loses one star because it's not stainless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless?, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was trying to take out screws from a hdd caddy then realised the screws weren't spinning but the tips of the screwdrivers were. Only two of these screwdrivers were actually functional. I feel ripped off. If you want quality, don't cheap out like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value set!, 2 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this screwdriver and torx set primarily for replacing the hard drive and RAM in my old laptop. These are certainly high quality for the price, I also love the rotating heads to speed up the process of undoing loose screws. One thing I did notice on a particularly tight screw, I had to take a tighter grip of the screwdriver and noticed that it did flex slightly, also as they are precision it is not easy to get a grip on them for the tighter screws.
Pros:
• High quality metal
• Rotating head
• Excellent casing
• In-expensive
• Ideal for hard drive replacement
Cons:
• Not very good grip
• Difficult to undo tight screws

Overall, excellent value for money, definitely recommend buying these for any Laptop or computer upgrade or for those interested in the internal workings of a hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap And Good Quality, 8 Jan 2012
By 
D Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say that this product was pretty good quality. I have had no problems with them. They have worked great. They haven't rounded off any screws or anything and i a proud to say they where very cheap. I had next day delivery because i needed them in a hurry to swap a keyboard on my old DELL INSPIRON 2115. Once again i would have to recommend these to anybody who wants good screwdrivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product for an affordable price - Opens Macbook Pro easily., 22 Feb 2012
By 
Reviews Guy (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Length:: 4:53 Mins

In this video review, you'll see the size, design, and durability features of this product ( LINDY Computer Technician Precision Screwdriver Set ).

It has been used a few times and held up very well with no tip distortion.

The product came well-packaged, it also included a nice plastic case where each screwdriver stays put until you need it.

For an affordable price, you can't go wrong. This included Philips #00, #0, #1, and flathead 1.4, 1.8 and 2.4mm screwdrivers with 20mm-long bits.

I recommend this product based on its quality and price.

This set allows you to open the Macbook Pro easily. If you're opening it for a RAM upgrade, this is all you'll need. If you'll be upgrading your HDD/SSD, you'll need this product to actually access the inside of the computer, and then this set here: LINDY Computer Technician Precision Torx Set to change the HDD/SSD, which use Torx screws that are not included in this kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews