Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece
Queensryche's masterful concept album Operation Mindcrime is without doubt the peak of the band's career and a milestone in Metal. It sounds pretensious to say this but this album really has an atmosphere to it, the story draws you into Nikkis dark world and the shadowy plans of Dr X. The short sections of dialogue and linking instrumental tracks really add to the overall...
Published on 11 Dec. 2009 by Harry

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good cd
Published 5 months ago by mark redfern


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely awesome, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
D. P. Lomax (doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered (Audio CD)
I hold my head in shame.being a metal fan for over 25 years and only just discovering how awesome queensryche are. Operation mindcrime is one the very rock albums ive had the privilege to listen to. Wailing guitars amazing leads great vocal delivery from gt, drumming is par excellence, just love this stuff to bits. Need to catch up on everything else theyve done. What a fool i am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Queensr˙che Album - and also the ultimate metal concept album, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
I am not going to review this album song by song, since the other reviews here and also non-Amazon reviews already have done this perfectly.

I quickly became a fan of Queensr˙che when they released 'The Warning', because I loved their sound and musicianship, the lyrics, and of course Geoff Tate's incredible vocals. Soon after that 'Rage for Order' came out, and this wonderful album will forever be one of my very favourites! But Queensr˙che's third full-lenght album - 'Operation: Mindcrime' - is something else entirely! This is a true concept album, and in contrast to most concept album attempts by other bands, this album has not a single weak spot! The songs, each and every one strong in both music and lyrics, are neatly and cunningly interconnected. Excellent!

The sound of this band is awsome, and even if the mix and production may sound is a tiny bit 'muffled' sometimes, the production is actually very good.

All in all, this album is just awesome. Turn up the volume, please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of the magnitude of Pink Floyd's The Wall, 6 Nov. 1999
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
A concept album, hypothesising a global takeover conceived by an anonymous american doctor (Dr. X) who has found an effective way to mind control through the induced use of opiates and subliminal stimuli, bending lost, disillusioned young people to his will. Once enslaved, he sends off his acolytes to kill all politicians (and whoever gets in the way) in an attempt to overthrow the establishment, at the same time inciting people to revolution. His aim is to eventually become the new messiah. The lyrics offer a bleak view of, and a relentless, ruthless attack on, our ailing society. The album is a wall of sound, fast rythm-heavy rock/metal with deep, meaningful lyrics and astonishing guitar solos. Ballads and anthems also have their place, balancing out the heaviest moments of the album. Lose yourself in the sound the first time around, then follow the lyrics on the inner sleeve, you will be captivated, you will forget yourself, you will join in the cause, you will "Speak the word". If you like this CD, you will find similar themes (psychological damage, dark/moody lyrics) in Queensryche's "Promised Land".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 28 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered (Audio CD)
I recently bought this again on a whim as it's truly a masterpiece as far as i'm concerned. I originally bought a vinyl copy when it first came out, after being taken to a gig the band did at the Town and Country club in London. I wasn't even a fan then: i'd not even heard of them, but was hooked straight away afterwards. The music is extremely well written, the vocals are outstanding, and the storyline is immersive and interesting. Even after all this time this album still sounds fresh and energetic. There's a certain 'feel' to it that not many bands capture... it's difficult to put your finger on that special something, but it's this which differentiates a good album and a great album, and this is definately a great album. My top five of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speak the word, 1 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered (Audio CD)
The path to Mindcrime starts out promisingly on the patchy but embryonic 'Warning' CD with the digitally charged paranoia of 'NM156', the socialist optimism of 'Take Hold of The Flame' and the atmospheric meanderings of 'Roads to Madness'. Building on the sound and themes of these three (and only three) standout songs, 1986's 'Rage For Order' re wrote the metal/Prog rock rule book - a sharp, intelligent wall of dynamic sound, multi layered to perfection and delivering a loose theme around Worldwide paranoia and control. The album was, effectively, perfect. The stage was set for a full blown, follow up, concept album. Where Mindcrime twisted away from Rage was in the darkness of the themes and the real world grittiness of the story line - gone were the ill conceived futuristic carpet-come-Flash Gordon suits of Rage's album cover band shots and in came wall to wall S and M black leather - Queensryche had flung themselves into an underworld of murder, prostitution, corruption and drugs - and these themes needed something special - Mindcrime, thankfully, delivered it in bucket loads.

Concept albums suffer on a number of fronts. Firstly the linked nature of the songs make the record difficult to dip in and out of and some songs don't stand on their own feet as they form useful thematic bridges to aid the musical and story flow - this results in the listener having to listen to the whole thing, which can be a disincentive to ever play it from end to end.

Secondly they are normally the preserve of ageing Prog rockers who feel that all those years in private school need a creative outpouring for their angst-filled dragon and sorcery views of the world.

Finally, they tend to be rubbish.

Mindcrime avoids all three of these pitfalls because of the following basic facts. Firstly, as noted, the theme and plot are gritty and contemporary (now and in 1987/88), secondly each song works perfectly on its own considerable merits and thirdly (and I've wasted 2 paragraphs getting to this simple fact) Mindcrime is quite possibly the best metal album of all time.

Opening with the staccato drums of Anarchy X (interestingly the ditched demo of the song 'Rage For Order', which didn't make the final cut on the cd of the same name), the scene is set with the full pelt call to arms of 'Revolution Calling' before the first plot line is dipped into with the telephone introduction of the title track. Claustropobic and vitriolic the mood is therefore set before we have the frenetic duel attacking metal numbers of Speak and Spreading The Disease. Up to this point the standard of song writing is astounding but, relatively speaking, the plot and theatrics are more muted - to some degree the background story is being put in place and it's not until the 'Mission' that the album veers off onto a different level of tension and atmosphere. From the Mission onwards the album is spell binding with effective orchestration, duets with prostitute nuns, chanting monks and so on. This tension is maintained until the more up beat pairing of two of the album singles 'Breaking The Silence' and 'I Don't Believe In Love' which are a welcome relief from the story line of the implosion of the characters played out by Geoff and the supporting actors. Finally, the whole CD then builds to the Finale of 'Eyes of Stranger' which exhaustingly rounds things off in a wall of screaming guitars.

So, in summary, I can't even begin to do justice to this cd, so I won't bother (we are not worthy..). I'll just repeat what I said earlier - quite possibly the best metal record ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 9 July 2013
By 
BD Muratori (Chester, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
This album is as good today as it was when it came out. The music is simply fantastic as a concept album, it is the best I have ever heard. Saw them live a couple of times, both for this tour and the next (Empire). For the Empire show, after the first song, the entire audience started shouting and demanding the Mindcrime show all over again! I think this says it all. Plus it is actual today as it was back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime concept album., 4 Mar. 2003
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
'I remember now.'
I might find it difficult to remember what I was doing exactly back in 1988 but I can be sure that quite a lot of 88 and the following year was spent listening to this album. For me Queensryche came of age with Mindcrime. Geoff Tate’s vocals bleed every last drop of emotion from the lyrics, colouring the complex tapestry woven by the rest of the band and the trademark layered guitars. So far I've never been tempted to update any of my old vinyl to CD but I guess this was the hardest to resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I never tire of this listening to this masterpiece, 2 Nov. 2003
By 
JSH (Borehamwood, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
This album is as fresh and relevant today as the day it was released in 1988. A prophetic masterpiece of storytelling weaving young idealism, drugs, social revolution and cynical political betrayal around a timelessly tragic love story. Do not hesitate, just buy this classic - you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
I first heard this as a teenager, now I am older with more varied tastes, a revisit to this concept album has inspired me. It felt as good as the first time I heard it, It is heavy music but it tells a story and that is missing from so much music these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad album - demonstrates a solid foundation on which they built for future recordings, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered (Audio CD)
Having liked their later stuff, I thought I would listen to the earlier recordings. This is obviously not as good, but it is interesting to hear and feel the ideas that as they grew and matured lead on to the kind of music they went on to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered
Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered by Queensr˙che (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews