Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece
Queensryche's masterful concept album Operation Mindcrime is without doubt the peak of the band's career and a milestone in Metal. It sounds pretensious to say this but this album really has an atmosphere to it, the story draws you into Nikkis dark world and the shadowy plans of Dr X. The short sections of dialogue and linking instrumental tracks really add to the overall...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by Harry

versus
3 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not my cup of rosey lee
im not doubting the love that people have for this album,it has recieved bucket fulls of praise over the years and thats fair enough,one man loves something,someone else hates it,someone else doesnt get it,i would say im in the latter of those three as i dont see the fuss behind this album.
I have a been a metalhead since i was 11 and thats 20 years ago now,i have...
Published on 26 Jan 2010 by sean paul mccann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime concept album., 4 Mar 2003
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
'I remember now.'
I might find it difficult to remember what I was doing exactly back in 1988 but I can be sure that quite a lot of 88 and the following year was spent listening to this album. For me Queensryche came of age with Mindcrime. Geoff Tate’s vocals bleed every last drop of emotion from the lyrics, colouring the complex tapestry woven by the rest of the band and the trademark layered guitars. So far I've never been tempted to update any of my old vinyl to CD but I guess this was the hardest to resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best concept albums ever made IMO, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
One of the best concept albums ever made IMO, and with this release coming with a fantastic Live.. bonus disc of the album, not much else to say, except superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
I first heard this as a teenager, now I am older with more varied tastes, a revisit to this concept album has inspired me. It felt as good as the first time I heard it, It is heavy music but it tells a story and that is missing from so much music these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Queensr˙che Album - and also the ultimate metal concept album, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
I am not going to review this album song by song, since the other reviews here and also non-Amazon reviews already have done this perfectly.

I quickly became a fan of Queensr˙che when they released 'The Warning', because I loved their sound and musicianship, the lyrics, and of course Geoff Tate's incredible vocals. Soon after that 'Rage for Order' came out, and this wonderful album will forever be one of my very favourites! But Queensr˙che's third full-lenght album - 'Operation: Mindcrime' - is something else entirely! This is a true concept album, and in contrast to most concept album attempts by other bands, this album has not a single weak spot! The songs, each and every one strong in both music and lyrics, are neatly and cunningly interconnected. Excellent!

The sound of this band is awsome, and even if the mix and production may sound is a tiny bit 'muffled' sometimes, the production is actually very good.

All in all, this album is just awesome. Turn up the volume, please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No words needed, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Queensryche best ever! The storyline of this concept album translate perfect into the music. It is almost like watching a movie with your eyes closed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rather Quite Good!, 12 Mar 2014
By 
D. Thompson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
Bought this as one of the best rock album of the 1980's. Starts off a little bit suspect but as it plays, by track three i am quite impressed. Catchy rock tunes with clever little hooks which stick in your mind.
Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad album - demonstrates a solid foundation on which they built for future recordings, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered (Audio CD)
Having liked their later stuff, I thought I would listen to the earlier recordings. This is obviously not as good, but it is interesting to hear and feel the ideas that as they grew and matured lead on to the kind of music they went on to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy days, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered (Audio CD)
I could go on forever saying how brilliant this concept album was at the time and it still holds up today as one of the best rock albums of all time,I need say no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clasic, 10 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
Operation mindcrime is by far queensryche best work to date.A must for any rock collection.(5 more words required)....Shame all the video releases were rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 9 July 2013
By 
BD Muratori (Chester, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation: Mindcrime (Audio CD)
This album is as good today as it was when it came out. The music is simply fantastic as a concept album, it is the best I have ever heard. Saw them live a couple of times, both for this tour and the next (Empire). For the Empire show, after the first song, the entire audience started shouting and demanding the Mindcrime show all over again! I think this says it all. Plus it is actual today as it was back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered
Operation: Mindcrime: Remastered by Queensr˙che (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews