Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guitar sings the blues
An outstanding tribute to the British Blues in the best tradition of Peter Green. However, in this CD I feel that Gary is even better than his hero Greeny. You can also feel the influence of Tommy Eyre pushing through in more than just the keyboards.

Here Gary has written seven original songs out of the eleven and performed them all with solid, melodic, guitar...
Published on 23 July 2009 by R. F. Stevens

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still got the (lesser) blues
Gary Moore's playing style and signature sound was not to everyone's taste. But his skills on the guitar were never in question. Here he showcased these skills on 'After Hours', another blues/rock-album.

While this album is not as strong as some of his earlier work and overall is less daring, fans of Moore should be pleased. For more casual listeners of the...
Published on 15 April 2013 by Torben Madsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guitar sings the blues, 23 July 2009
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: After Hours (Audio CD)
An outstanding tribute to the British Blues in the best tradition of Peter Green. However, in this CD I feel that Gary is even better than his hero Greeny. You can also feel the influence of Tommy Eyre pushing through in more than just the keyboards.

Here Gary has written seven original songs out of the eleven and performed them all with solid, melodic, guitar virtuosity, not one misses the target. This has the feel of the musicians playing what they themselves want to play After Hours; there is a deep enjoyment, even a savouring of the runs and licks.

Why has this CD been hidden away? I only knew to look for it because I had heard a friend's copy.

You might also like to take a look at the double CD After Hours/Blues for Greeny or just the excellent tribute to Peter Green Blues for Greeny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guitar sings the blues, 17 Feb. 2004
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: After hours (Audio CD)
An outstanding tribute to the British Blues in the best tradition of Peter Green. However, in this CD I feel that Gary is even better than his hero Greeny.

You can also feel the influence of Tommy Eyre pushing through in more than just the keyboards. Here Gary has written seven original songs out of the eleven and performed them all with solid, melodic, guitar virtuosity, not one misses the target.

This has the feel of the musicians playing what they themselves want to play After Hours; there is a deep enjoyment, even a savouring of the runs and licks. Why has this CD been hidden away? I only knew to look for it because I had heard a friends copy.

You might also like to take a look at the double CD After Hours/Blues for Greeny or just the excellent tribute to Peter Green Blues for Greeny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow-up to "Still Got The Blues" - not quite as good but still fantastic!, 24 May 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: After Hours (Audio CD)
This is Still Got The Blues part 2. The quality of songs isn't quite up to its illustrious partner but the guitar is still scintillating. That isn't to say the songs are bad, far from it. Story Of The Blues has a solo to equal Gary's (and ANYONE else's) best. Worth the entrance price alone! The second and last of Gary's rocked-up blues albums. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moore produces another good rock blues album., 9 Aug. 2000
This review is from: After hours (Audio CD)
As with "Still Got" Gary plays fast Rock blues on tracks such as the singles "Cold Day in Hell" and "Since I met you Baby" which features the great B.B. King. However, he also shows that he can play slow blues on tracks such as "Jumping at Shadows" where he uses his fingers and thumb instead of a plectrum and the single " The Story of the Blues". If you like the blues (how they should be played) then buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album - his best, 16 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: After Hours (Audio CD)
I have listened to this album over and over since I bought the original in 1992.

It leaves you in little doubt that Gary Moore must be one of the greatest blues (and rock) guitarists ever - he has complete mastery. His vocals are good too. I've never understood why so few peoplw seem to have heard 'After hours' - whenever I play it people ask - who is this? - and love it!

In a time when exceptional guitar players are sadly almost as rare as the dodo, Gary Moore should be seen and heard more (sorry for the pun!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still got the (lesser) blues, 15 April 2013
By 
Torben Madsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Hours (Audio CD)
Gary Moore's playing style and signature sound was not to everyone's taste. But his skills on the guitar were never in question. Here he showcased these skills on 'After Hours', another blues/rock-album.

While this album is not as strong as some of his earlier work and overall is less daring, fans of Moore should be pleased. For more casual listeners of the genre, the result is pleasing, but a bit workmanlike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best, but still pretty good, 13 Nov. 2006
By 
Macca "Macca" (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: After Hours (Audio CD)
It's strange writing this review so long after buying the album. I can remember exactly where I was when I first heard Cold Day in Hell on the car radio - I was blown away by it, and that prompted me to discover Gary Moore. Truly one of the most under-rated guitarists around.

This is a very polished, "Stax" influenced album and quite a departure from the simple, stripped down feel of Still Got the Blues.

Listening now though it's nowhere near as good as Moore's blues debut, with the exception of the opener, Jumpin' at Shadows, and Only Fool In Town which is still a real rock-blues fire-cracker!

I think there are better individual performances on some of his more recent albums. To be fair though he is an exceptional guitarist and he rarely goes below "Good", which is some achievement in 30 odd years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Moore After Hours, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Hours (Audio CD)
I am a massive Gary Moore fan and was sadden by his early demise. But with music like this he will never be forgotten. His guitar playing is fantastic and his voice is often overlooked but it shouldn't be as his voice is exceptional. I highly recommend this to any old or new Gary Moore fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blues, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Hours (Audio CD)
Great Blues- brought up to date( even though 1990's) Blues will always be relevant no matter what age or style as long as it represents the original blues guys- has to be American ( though many influenced English players are still keeping the tradition) !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top blues funk, 14 July 2012
By 
John Gammon (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Hours (Audio CD)
Just bought this CD and thought it was very, very good - full, powerful vocals, positive band sound. I'd be very surprised though if Gary didn't acknowledge a debt to Robert Cray for this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After Hours
After Hours by Gary Moore (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews