Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
I bought this in 82 and was absolutley blown away. Saw GM at the Lyceum In Sheffield on this tour and was spellbound at the speed and energy of the guy. This is Rock Album Masterpiece with to much in 1 packet. Moore seems to be showing off every style in the book and is on Fire throughout. I did not think anyone could play like this and be able to sing at the same time...
Published on 11 April 2007 by Seasoned Rock Fan

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gary I'm disappointed
I own numerous of Gary blues albums and have seen him live a few times. I bought this album really based on that track record and the positive reviews on Amazon. But to say I'm hugely disappointed is an understatement. I'm afraid if you're used to the high quality playing, songs and recordings that Gary has produced over the years, avoid this one, with the exception of...
Published on 15 May 2010 by Richard G. Alder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 April 2007
This review is from: Corridors Of Power (Audio CD)
I bought this in 82 and was absolutley blown away. Saw GM at the Lyceum In Sheffield on this tour and was spellbound at the speed and energy of the guy. This is Rock Album Masterpiece with to much in 1 packet. Moore seems to be showing off every style in the book and is on Fire throughout. I did not think anyone could play like this and be able to sing at the same time but was so wrong!!.

This album was too good to be ever bettered and Moore could never re-capture this energy - Song writing with such consistency again.

Still as good today as then - Respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary's Power Album, 26 Mar 2004
This review is from: Corridors Of Power (Audio CD)
This was the start proper of Gary's solo career (back on the steets and G-Force not withstanding) and showed him to have matured as a guitarist, writer and singer. The production by Jeff Glixman is very 80's, but it has a grit and power that work well, even with the ballards. A great remastered CD make this a good place to start with Gary's rock phase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock, 26 Mar 2004
By 
Craig Penton (Coventry, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corridors Of Power (Audio CD)
This record was my first introduction to Gary Moore's Music and remains a firm favourite with me. It features one of the best line-ups' of the Gary Moore band featuring no less than former Whitesnake bassist Neil Murray, Deep Purple's Ian Paice on drums, and the talents of Jack Bruce on guest-vocals along with Billy Squier drummer Bobby Chouinard on drums, Tommy Eyre on keyboards and Mo Foster fulfilling additional bass duties.

The music represented here is rooted firmly in Moore's hard rock era and, shows a clear development from earlier work such as Back On The Streets and Dirty Fingers. Songs such as the cover version of Free's Wishing Well and original songs Cold Hearted and I Can't Wait Until Tomorrow were mainstays of his early 80's live shows and display Moore's talents extremely well none more so than the stand out tracks Rockin' Every Night and the tour de force of the End Of The World with its guitar solo intro.

The production by Jeff Glixman is consistent with most 80's production and was probably cutting edge at the time, but has helped to date the record somewhat. However, I would heartily recommend that, you crank up the volume and prepare yourself to rock out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time-less Rock Classic, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Corridors of Power (Audio CD)
My first introduction to Gary Moore - Concert at University of Surrey, Guildford - WOW!!! Went straight out and bought this classic Rock album - and still listen to it almost 20 years later. The key to this album is in the Title - POWER - with Gary at his Rockin' best - including a superb cover of Free's Wishing Well. This is a "must-have" album for fans of Gary or Heavy Rock in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Album - Never bettered, 5 May 2006
By 
GM Fan (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corridors Of Power (Audio CD)
I bought this album in 1982 and wore it out. It's an absolute masterpiece of guitar wizardry and excellent songs. If you have not bought this album then do so because you not get a finer rock album. This album contained too many great songs and should have been spread across 2 albums with other songs from Victims of future filled around these. Listen to the guitar solo on cold hearted and you see that GM gets infront of himself with speed almost like a car accelerating out of control down a hill and then moore clipd the edges of the speed and brings it back line confirming he was in control along as the song fades out.

The opening song sets off with such an explosion and this carries all the way through album rising and falling with rockers and ballads. Still as awesome as ever nearly 25yrs later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Moore, 3 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. S. K. Pomroy (Ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corridors Of Power (Audio CD)
Hard to believe it's so long ago that I bought this album, not long after it was first released. I was knocked out by it then and time has only heightened my appreciation of it. I have to say that although I tend to think that Gary really found his own (hard rock) niche with the Wild Frontier record, this one remains my favourite. It's basically classic old school hard rock. It's chock full of great tunes - rockers like Don't Take Me For A Loser, Rocking Every Night, End of The World, a magnificent ballad in the shape of Alway's Gonna Love You and the blues based Cold Hearted and I Can't Wait Until Tomorrow. His playing is first class (as always) and he's backed by a stella cast of musicians (Ian Paice, Neil Murray, even Jack Bruce puts in an appearance). The bonus tracks are a bit of a disappointment. Two of the three bonus tracks are additional versions of Falling In Love With You (both sound like demos and attempts to "gloss up" the song into more of an 80's pop tune - a bit like they did, with much commercial success it has to be said, with Empty Rooms a year or two later). Not bad but nothing get excited about or anything that adds to the basic album. Much better would have been to include the three track live single that was supplied as a bonus with the original vinyl album (Parisienne Walkways, Back on The Streets and Rocking Every Night). With regard to the sound quality (this is remastered apparently!), it sounds very much like the original vinyl, which is a good thing! It's a very earthy kind of production - not the best I've heard, but then again it's a breath of fresh air compared to many of the squeaky clean but souless production jobs that seem so prevalent these days. In summary - a great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock - Will The Real Gary Moore Please Stand Up!, 22 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Corridors of Power (Audio CD)
Just who the hell is Gary Moore? Jazz Rocker? Blues Man? Or straight-ahead rocker, as in the case of this album? Well, for my money, this is the real Gary Moore. Corridors is a blend of rockers and ballads, where every hook and every solo works superbly, reminding you of where Mr Moore's roots really are, whether on self-penned weepies like Always Gonna Love You or the seriously heavy cover of Wishing Well. There are one or two gloriously over the top moments of fret-melting metallic axe indulgence too. But they're done so damn well that I defy you not to love them. File it under Classic British Metal, and prepare to play it to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars premier league, 26 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Corridors Of Power (Audio CD)
This album introduced me to the guitarist (and what an introduction).I went to Reading in 1982 to see someone else who i cannot even remember. Gary Moore,s guitar playing just blew me away (john sloman was on vocals). Corridors of power is one of the best melodic rock albums by a british artist even today. End of the world, i can,t wait are just superb on cd or live. power chords and panache of the best quality. seen Gary about twenty/thirty odd times after and wish he would play some of it a bit more often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His Best By A Long Way, 26 May 2005
This review is from: Corridors Of Power (Audio CD)
I discovered Gary Moore by total accident when I was gifted a ticket to see him on the Norwich UEA gig of his Corridors Of Power UK tour and he was simply awesome. Sometimes an artist produces something early in their career that comes too soon. For Fleetwood Mac it was Rumours and for Moore it was this album.
Nothing Moore has produced since comes close to the fresh and powerul sound he found here. His follow-up album Victims Of The Future was nothing more than a cynical attempt to produce Corridors Part 2 and it was a poor follow-up. His production of the long-standing classic Wishing Well is head and shoulders above any version both before and since. Dont Take Me For A Loser and End Of The World are simply awesome peices of controlled metal mastery. Moores disappearance into blues guitar was a sad loss to the rock world but maybe even he realised he had peaked far too early in this sphere.
This ranks among my favourite metal albums ever ..buy it and play it loud with some tequila.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gary I'm disappointed, 15 May 2010
This review is from: Corridors Of Power (Audio CD)
I own numerous of Gary blues albums and have seen him live a few times. I bought this album really based on that track record and the positive reviews on Amazon. But to say I'm hugely disappointed is an understatement. I'm afraid if you're used to the high quality playing, songs and recordings that Gary has produced over the years, avoid this one, with the exception of the cover of Wishing Well, this is bland uninteresting metal/soft-rock.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corridors Of Power
Corridors Of Power by Gary Moore (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews