Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail to the thief!
Even if these reissues are just a way of squeezing every last penny out of Radiohead fans, the record company have done a great job on them.
The album itself makes up the first CD. i will not say much about it as everything that needs to be said about Hail to the Thief is probably covered in other peoples' reviews. it is left just as it was, as it should be in my...
Published on 26 Oct 2010 by Kid Z

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fail To The Thief!
The final Radiohead album for EMI, "Hail To The Thief" came a couple of years later and takes the musical experimentalism and new directions of the previous two albums, and forges them into a concentrated whole. It neither broke new ground, nor spoilt the narrative. Radiohead created in this a stuttering, paranoid whole, obsessed with the end of times, the final days of...
Published on 24 July 2009 by Mr. M. A. Reed


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the thieves, 5 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
From a promising debut, to producing 2 all time classic albums (The Bends / OK Computer) and a fairly good follow up in Kid A, things have gone south quickly. Apart from a couple of nice songs (Pyramid Song / You and Whose Army) Amnesiac was no where near "Radiohead" standard. And now HTTT which is stuck in the same rut.
The first song 2+2+5 took my breath away. For one glorious moment I thought Radiohead has returned from going off on a comptempory tangent and were back to rule the world.
Unfortunately, it slipped straight back into the tuneless waste of many of their recent music.
Following this album, I now think of Radiohead as a corporate rock band - with no soul, who return ever few years with a dreary tuneless outlook on life.
They seem to have lost the plot, like so many before them, and forgotten that to make a classic album, the songs have to be good. This album has no tunes and is crying out for a Street Spirit / Creep.
The past classics will always remain great, but if they continue to put this music up for sale then they truly are thieves.
They have slipped way below the premier league of rock bands now around with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars guoghil, 15 Oct 2007
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
...what happened? The Kid A/Amnesiac era for this band was a hugely creative and productive time, yet, just two years after, we're presented with the blandness of Hail to the Thief. I think I understand what they've done here; instead of either reverting back to "regular" rock music or continuing their voyage into experimentation, they've attempted to walk the middle line and please both sets of fans. Pleased? Maybe. Enthralled?? Thrilled?? Not a chance! Perhaps I'm being too harsh here; there's definitely some decent tracks present, yet the whole project sticks out like a sore thumb when you consider the progression the group had previously made from album to album. I have a huge emotional attachment to Kid A, so the standards I have for Radiohead albums is unfairly high, but this fails to excite on any level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I used to like Radiohead, 19 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
Songs - nope, tunes - nope, pretentious rubbish - Yep.
Radiohead used to be the best band around.
Fair enough, they have chosen to "push the boundaries" but surely you can do that by writing some more quality songs and albums. OK Computer has overshadowed EVERY album for the past
7(ish) years. Why they put drivel like this out is anyones guess. It is bad electronica mixed with bad rock. You may as well listen to mike oldfield and bon jovi at the same time. At least that would be funny.
It makes me wonder what they will do next. An album that is invisible that can only be played by a specially constructed mantlepiece. They have gone so far up there own back sides it would seem anything is now possible.
If you choose to buy this then great. It will only gather dust on your CD shelf after a couple of awkward listens. Save your money and buy some good Radiohead stuff (i.e. Pablo Honey, The Bends or OK Computer). If you want some good electronica, check out Kraftwerk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 17 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
This is total pretentious rubbish. I had thought after The Bends and OK Computer that this band were the new Floyd, but having listened to this I know they're not. It goes beyond the "innovative" to the utter ridiculous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another disappointing album from Radiohead !!, 10 Jun 2003
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
So what happened? The Bends was unquestionably an excellent album, but everything that followed has been disappointing to say the least. Anyone who thought things could not get much worse than OK Computer obviously did not buy Kid-A which quite honestly should never have been produced. And what is all this gibberish about globalisation and George Bush? When the music fails to deliver trying to refocus into politics is never going to work. What we need is another 'Bends' and I'm certain they will be embracing commerciality and capitalism at its finest, in true right wing 80s style. Come on guys, this is the third failed attempt and we are losing patience. Do not buy (even for use as a beer mat!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to become one of the greatest albums of all time., 13 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
Radiohead are back to their raw and vibrant best. I have been a fan since the early days. The Bends was my favourite album of 1995 and I believe this new album will be the closest the band will ever get to that masterpiece. I love all of Radiohead's albums, all for different reasons. They all deserve 5 stars but from what I have heard about this album, it's going to be something special. It's not going to be as polished and perfect as the last two, which is a good thing, it's going to have the live feel, the more rawness, looseness and of the moment sound like TB and OKC. It just shows how much talent they have and as they hit the 6th album benchmark I hope they will carry on for another decade to bring us at least 10 albums worth of the best music we will ever hear. Radiohead beat The Beatles, The Stones, Pink Floyd, Queen, all of the greats that have come before. They just can't be beaten for originality and pure musical talent. How many bands can change colour as much as Radiohead and pull it off so spectacularly each time? Enjoy them while you can...they will be so painfully missed when they're gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is the big deal with Radiohead!!!, 17 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
Radiohead, back in their heyday, were a great band who produced brilliant, alternative sounding tracks like Iron Lung, Street Spirit (Fade Out), Just, Anyone Can Play Guitar, Karma Police etc etc etc. However, the last 2 or 3 albums, including this new one, have just been appauling.
First problem with this album, with the exception of the first track, 2+2=5, which is really rather good, and reminds me of Radiohead's better days, is that it is repetitive and boring. Radiohead were once respected for, with each album released, introducing new elements to their music. I feel they have failed to do this on this album.
Another problem area is Yorke's vocals. His singing really is way too whiny and he just doesnt seem up to scratch any more.
If you are a Radiohead fan, you will almost certainly buy this album anyway. If you are new to Radiohead, do not buy this album, judge them on their earlier, far better work, and not on their recent few releases, of which this, Hail To The Thief, is by far the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but Sleep Room are Better, 27 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
Radiohead have been one of the most superb bands in my lifetime, yet thier tendencey now to over complicate beauty in thier music can be frustrating.
I have recently returned from a gig performed by the up and coming band Sleep Room, and to be honest, these are the guys who I will be spending my hard earned cash on in the future. Thoughtful, intricate, dark and intense, Sleep Room, while not sounding like Radiohead, capture that feeling that Radiohead once did - the feeling of having music penetrate you emotionally.
Brilliant guitars, and heart tugging vocals, these guys really have a great understanding of how to write wonderfully complex yet memorable music.
Come on Sleep Room, get an album out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AAAARGH !!!!, 5 Aug 2003
By 
Brian Elliott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
Having read the hype [ even recommended by Late Night Review / Newsnight BBC2 ] I fell for it : What a disappointment !
A dreadful dirge of whining teenage acne angst - if you want music of alienation / angst / rage etc. then Pink Floyd did it incomparably better - Animals / Dark Side / Wish you were here [ musically and lyrically ] etc. etc.
A case of the Emperors' new clothes as far as the critics are concerned - what do they see in it ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phew, for a minute there they lost themselves., 8 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
We're saved. Since Ok Computer music has been crap, for all these years we've only had Californication and By The Way to entertain us. Luckily now we have Hail To The Thief aswell. Radiohead are one of my favourite bands but I REALLY REALLY HATED KID A AND AMNESIAC, all that stupid computerized nonsense was really annoying me. Finaly Radiohead are a band again intsead of one guy sitting at a computer and pressing different buttons randomly. Thank you Radiohead this album rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hail To The Thief
Hail To The Thief by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews