Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Classic War Films
Two very good war films made within three years of each other. One British, the other American.

First things first, Sink The Bismarck is one of those stiff upper lip films exploring the conflict between the Royal Navy and the German Battleship Bismarck which was at that time one of the largest ships ever built. Kenneth More plays Captain Jonathan Shepherd, the...
Published on 10 Feb 2007 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful
clint has a very minor role in this movie only reason for buying it.
Published 1 month ago by Stu


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Classic War Films, 10 Feb 2007
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck / The Enemy Below (2-Disc Double Pack) [DVD] (1960/1957) (DVD)
Two very good war films made within three years of each other. One British, the other American.

First things first, Sink The Bismarck is one of those stiff upper lip films exploring the conflict between the Royal Navy and the German Battleship Bismarck which was at that time one of the largest ships ever built. Kenneth More plays Captain Jonathan Shepherd, the director of operations who is given the uneviable task of trapping and the eventual sinking of this great ship. There is a great tragedy along the way with the terrible loss of HMS Hood which was blown up during an engagement with the Bismarck in the Denmarck Strait, only three survivors being picked up. This tragedy made it imeprative that the Bismarck had to be sunk at all costs. It was eventually sunk by numerous British ships off the French Coast. The final scenes showing its destruction are harrowing to watch. Supplemented with actual archive footage, and Ed Murrow playing himself adding a news commentary during certain scenes give the film an almost documentary feel. Alright, some of the ships are plainly models, but that doesnt distract from the film itself. Filmed in widescreen, black and white, with good print and sound. Worth seeing.

The Enemy Below made earlier in 1957 has remained one of those classic war films which is still enjoyable today. Some critics have pointed out that it may be too Hollywood, and not really a true reflection of war as it was at that time. But I did find this a very human drama, played out between two opposing captains, engaged in a cat and mouse chase between an American destroyer commanded by Robert Mitchum and a German Submarine commanded by Curt Jurgens. There is much tension in this film, with decent pace, and a finale where for a time, war is forgotten, and the opposing captains reconcile whilst trying to survive amidst the wreckage of their various vessals. The ending is quite moving as both sides come together to bury, remember and pay tribute to their fallen comrades.

Filmed in colour, widescreen, with decent sound. A very good buy indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's to you my friend and you my friend, 8 July 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
During World Was II a U-boat and a destroyer are in a cat-and-mouse situation to the end. The question is who the cat is and who is the mouse? They use standard clichés and extraordinary tactics; however there is not need for anything supernatural or far fetched to hold your attention. It is a battle of wits and wills between the Commanders of both vessels. We are there as they both sweat out time or take chances.
For the most part everyone is speaking English so you will not have to strain your eyes to read the small print at the bottom of the screen. Being made before CGI we will watch some battles and scenes made with the use of models.
Yes you have seen this story portrayed again in such classics as "Das Boot" (1982). What is more interesting is even the same dialog is played out in the movie "Star Trek II - The wrath of Kahn" (1982)
You will find this movie worth repeated viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Sub vs. Sub-Killer, 29 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie classic is one of the best action packed dramas of World War II dealing with an American Destroyer and a German U-boat. Robert Mitchum plays the American destroyer commander and Curt Jurgens plays the U-boat commander. Their sea craft cross paths in the South Atlantic Ocean and engage in a deadly cat and mouse game that can only end in the death of one of them. This duel of two very experience naval officers covers thousands of miles and is action packed. Over all the models are realistic enough that you can just sit back and be engrossed in the hunt. This movie not only shows us the mandatory hunting of the enemy in a deadly chess game where one mistake means defeat and death. But it also shows us that even in war there can be hope and one can show his humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent WWII Pic, 21 July 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Enemy Below [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
Okay, so this film is now, quite remarkably, not too far short of its 70th birthday. However, it has aged very well. Set in the midst of WWII, The Enemy Below is a highly suspenseful story of a dogfight between a U.S. warship and a German submarine. Robert Mitchum stars as Murrell, the experienced captain of an American destroyer, who goes head to head against Curt Jurgens, the equally experienced commander of the German U-boat. The special effects, given that this film was made nearly 70 years ago, are frankly astonishing, and it's no surprise to learn that the movie won an Oscar for those effects. Despite the hostilities between the two countries, the two men grow a mutual admiration for each other's skills at the helm of their respective vessels, as they pursue one another across the North Atlantic. There is one stunning sequence when the destroyer is dropping mines into the sea, which I doubt could be bettered or made more realistic even with modern CGI. In fact, I suspect that modern CGI might well make that sequence with the mines a little less convincing. I think that Hollywood could and should make a brilliant modern version of this wonderful old movie, starring somebody like William Hurt in the role of Murrell. If you fancy a relaxing Sunday afternoon on the sofa, watching a good old fashioned war film that's none too heavy on the violence and doesn't bang on the anti-war drum, this movie works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's to you my friend and you my friend, 26 Oct 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
During World Was II a U-boat and a destroyer are in a cat-and-mouse situation to the end. The question is who the cat is and who is the mouse? They use standard clichés and extraordinary tactics; however there is not need for anything supernatural or far fetched to hold your attention. It is a battle of wits and wills between the Commanders of both vessels. We are there as they both sweat out time or take chances.
For the most part everyone is speaking English so you will not have to strain your eyes to read the small print at the bottom of the screen. Being made before CGI we will watch some battles and scenes made with the use of models.
Yes you have seen this story portrayed again in such classics as "Das Boot" (1982). What is more interesting is even the same dialog is played out in the movie "Star Trek II - The wrath of Kahn" (1982)
You will find this movie worth repeated viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommend sub film, 15 Jan 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is not the average sub-film that centers on the crews of the sub and the sub-chaser. This is a two-man cat and mouse film, marvelously done with style and incisive insight.
Robert Mitchum is the man who rises to do what is needed. Not a superhero, but a very human man who goes into war and does what is required. He is the Captain of a U.S. destroyer sent out to track U-boats. Curt Jurgens is his mirror reflection - below - a Captain of the U-Boat that becomes the target of Mitchum's search. He is not a product of the nazi war-machine, but again, a very likable man just defending his country. This is demonstrated with deft humor when Jurgens very deliberately hangs his jacket over the plaque of Hitler's propaganda.
The script eschews the stereotypical "nazi monsters", and protrays a German crew with very real - and universal - emotions. They, too, were just men doing their job and what is required. Instead of having us root for the Americans to blow up the evil Germans, you are put in the position of caring equally for both sides. You comprehend that they are men, offering their lives for their command, not in a political way, but in a time-honoured fashion of a man going to war. You understand both sides REALLY do not want to be here, to kill or be killed; they would rather home. No rousing stereotypical propaganda. In the end, they will kill each other if they must, but given the choice, they would rather not.
A little dated appeeance on the boat scenes by today's standards. It's obvious toy models when the boats crash, but easily overlooked and dismissed when balanced with the very impressive lack of finger-pointing and flag-waving for either nationality. Both Mitchum and Jurgens are dead-bang on target in their lead roles, with David Hedison, Theodore Bickel and Doug McClure round out a super cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Will simply blow you out of the water!, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck / The Enemy Below (2-Disc Double Pack) [DVD] (1960/1957) (DVD)
What can I say? Two great classic movies at a fantastic price.

Sink The Bismark (B&W) is an interesting and moving film (a relative of mine went down with the Hood) concerning the British Navy's attempts to track down and sink Hitler's "pride & joy" the (purportedly) invincible battleship Bismark.

The Enemy Below (Colour) is a fictional account of a deadly game of cat & mouse between a US Navy destroyer and a Nazi U-boat. Robert Mitchum as the US Captain and Curt Jurgens as the U-boat commander both give emotional performances. Jurgens especially is brilliant - his facial expressions alone convey all you need to know about the man.

The special effects have not dated at all - "Are you mad? " I hear you say! No, I'm not because even as a child I could see that models were being used, but I was enjoying the story and performances so much I didn't care! Unlike the movies today where it's also obvious when CGI is being used, but the story and acting is abysmal so, the entire movie is ruined!

I thoroughly recommend both these movies from a time when they actually entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brain Vs Brain., 12 Feb 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Enemy Below is a World War II drama set completely at sea, it details the battle of wits between Captain Murrell aboard his U.S. Destroyer, and Capt Von Stolberg down in his German Submarine.

The Enemy Below is a fine picture, it has been harshly treated by some critics over the years because it falls into a number of sub-genre war films that proudly proclaim that we should respect the enemy. The 50s was a decade that saw many a war film surface {pardon the submarine pun} that rid itself of Gung-Ho fervour, and put a more humane slant on the opposition forces in movies. With that in mind one can reasonably understand any frustrations viewers have with this one, if? They have seen far too many films of its ilk? But to me, outside of the standard bearers like The Bridge On The River Kwai, this picture looks fabulous and engrosses from first reel to last.

Robert Mitchum {Murrell} and Curd Jürgens {Von Stolbeg}, in truth, have done better work in their respective sleep, but I personally get a real kick out of the performances of the two men here. Respect and admiration for each Captain is perfectly portrayed. In amongst the explosions and the tick-tock nature of the piece, we have two fine soldiers who are weary and wise to the folly of war, with both Mitchum and Jürgens holding this particular viewer in the palms of their hands. Winning the Academy Award for best special effects {no stage stuff here, it's all out off the coast of Oahu}, featuring the beast like Whitehurst ship, and of course two actors who knew that restraint is sometimes a valuable commodity, it's a real well put together production in my eyes. There is a school of thought that says all war films are anti war films, and that may well be the case, but some shine brighter than others, and this be one such picture. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Enemy Below - Superior submarine drama, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This engrossing and entertaining film is a classic of the submarine chase drama.

Whilst on routine patrol in the Second World War, Robert Mitchum's destroyer happens across a German submarine commanded by Curt Jurgens. What follows is a superior drama as a game of cat and mouse ensues.

What makes this a better than average entry in the genre is that we get to see the action both above and below the waves. Both commanders and crews are well developed, making them believable and making us interested in both of them. Mitchum and Jurgens are both believable as the commanders, showing two weary but experienced men in a fight to the end, but each with a great respect for their adversary. It's well directed, well scripted and well acted, making for a very entertaining film. And I have to say I really did not see the finale coming!

This 20th Century Fox Studio Classics presents the film in 2.35:1 aspect ratio with a 4.0 sound. Both picture and soundtrack have been nicely transferred and it looks and sounds good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a super action film. I enjoyed how the two main charactors seem so real, while being brave, they were also proper people. A good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews