Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comical Musicals do not get any better
When Doris Day & Howard Keel signed up for this colorful production one could have hardly have imagined that fifty years later this movie would still have the power to enthrall both young and old. I recently made my youngest nephews and nieces "sit through" Calamity Jane and I can assure you it did not take long before there was an absolute silence around the T.V. This...
Published on 10 Aug 2003 by Liam Tighe

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not happy.
DVD came and it was loose in the casing and therefore it was scratched.
Published 21 days ago by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comical Musicals do not get any better, 10 Aug 2003
By 
Liam Tighe "tighertie" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calamity Jane [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
When Doris Day & Howard Keel signed up for this colorful production one could have hardly have imagined that fifty years later this movie would still have the power to enthrall both young and old. I recently made my youngest nephews and nieces "sit through" Calamity Jane and I can assure you it did not take long before there was an absolute silence around the T.V. This musical has everything, a great cast in its prime and some wonderful songs, especialy the timeless oscar winning "Secret Love". This film abounds with energy, laughter, sadness and of course the classic fairy tale ending. They really do not make 'em like this any more. A sure fire 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Doris Day's finest moments..., 4 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Calamity Jane [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
There are, I think, few that would argue that Day didn't have a beautiful voice and she gets a fine chance to use it here in classic songs like 'Secret Love' and 'Black Hills of Dakota' but her performance as the stubborn tomboy Calamity Jane is just as perfect. This is a comedy musical and Day hams it up but without losing the heart of the character - in amongst the laughter we really feel for poor Jane as she loves and loses then loves again.
Howard Keel is well cast as Bill and his verbal sparring with Calam' in "I can do without you' is one of the film's many highlights.
The film is great fun to watch and I imagine that this film would appeal to all ages - there is nothing in it that would disturb either your young child or your granny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doris and Howard in their matching cowboy outfits, 14 Nov 2000
This review is from: Calamity Jane [VHS] (VHS Tape)
From the opening credits with Doris as Calamity Jane fighting the "injun's" this is another sparkling musical with colourful sets, plenty of verve and fizz and such tunes as Deadwood Stage, Keep it under your Hat, Secret Love, and I can do without You. This sets the feminist movement back 50 years with Katy Brown, the new girl in town as the trophy girlfriend the men fight over and the song "A woman's touch" with the fantastic line "The pies and cakes a woman bakes can make a fella tell her that he loves her very much " ( if only it was that easy!)but thats half the fun of it all. Its another fine hour for DD as she steals the scene every time although Howard Keel as Wild Bill Hickock runs a very close second. Altogether now - whip crack away whip crack away whip crack away!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I shout it from the Highest Hills!, 13 May 2005
By 
R. K. Harvey "harvey_rebecca" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calamity Jane [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
I have loved this film so so many years now and I want to tell everyone that this dvd is a must have. Noone else could have (or ever could) play Calamity Jane as well as Doris Day did. Watch it until you know the songs off by heart, then watch it again to sing along to. Buy This Film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doris hits a high note, 8 July 2006
By 
Andrew Curtis (Radstock, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calamity Jane [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
This movie can lay claim to be Doris Day's greatest work. And for someone with a career that lasted decades, and saw her be the number one movie, tv and recording star during that time, that is saying something.

True, there are some weak points - Howard Keel is under-used, and some of the songs are a little weak ("My heart is higher than a hawk") - To quote Howard himself at one of his concerts, "What was that one about?". And one is left with the feeling that the film wanted to be Annie Get Your Gun, but didn't quite make it.

But this is more than made up for by the shining light of Doris Day, who with the energy and the (often overlooked)comic talent she posessed gives us some memorable moments to treasure. Also her rare gift with a ballad was never shown better on film than with Secret Love, one of her most iconic songs.

Doris Day's best? Probably.

Howard Keel's? Nope - try Seven Brides.

Top Ten Musical? No. But it should still make it into any Musicals collection for the quality of the central performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A song in the wild wild west., 13 Nov 2003
By 
Adam Tawfik (Deen Haag, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Calamity Jane [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is Doris Day's and Howard Keel's best. This movie has great songs, and great color. This movie may not be accurate of Calamity Jane's life, but it's light humour, and a lot of fun. Doris Day is perfect for the title role. She is really funny. Howard Keel has a powerful voice. Gale Robbins is a wicked character Adalied Adams. I recommend this movie to all mucical- comedy lovers. Buy this movie today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best musical......ever!!!!!!!!!, 10 Oct 2002
This review is from: Calamity Jane [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Although I may be a little biased {Being a big fan of both Howard Keel, Doris Day and musicals in general} I still think this is one fantastic film and worth watching more than once.
The acting although may be stylised engages you in the action and you find yourself always singing along to the wonderful songs. It is a lovely story even if a little difficult to believe at times, but isn't that the point of musicals, to get caught up in a make believe world that always has a happy ending?
If you like your films with a happy ending, wonderful stars and a whole lot of singing, dancing and gun slinging then this is the movie for you. If you don't, give it a try, you never know you may learn to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a joyful and exilerating feel good movie, 2 Feb 2005
By 
HENRY DUTHIE (johnstone scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Calamity Jane [VHS] (VHS Tape)
i have seen this movie many many times and doris day is sensational in it she is vivacious and bubbly and her voice was at its very best at this time she is generous to the other actors in the movie but she still manages to steal almost every scene she is in .........after seeing calamity jane boy do you feel good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I lost my heart in the black hills..., 5 Sep 2003
By 
Jo (haverhill, suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Calamity Jane [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
This film is my favourite musical of all time. It has something for everyone, lots of dancing, singing, shooting and love in unlikely places.
Doris Day plays Calamity Jane; she dresses like a man, rides like a man, talks like a man and fights like a man. The only problem is she's not a man, and she and all the men in Deadwood City are in danger of forgetting it!
After her friend and hotel owner Harry is almost lynched by the townsfolk for unwittingly employing an actor to entertain them instead of an actress, Calamity Jane promises to go to the 'windy city' of Chicago to bring back their favourite actress Adeilade Adams to perform in Deadwood.
This time Calamity Jane has bitten off more than she can chew. Miss Adams is a huge star on her way to Paris and wouldn't dream of setting foot in Deadwood. Her maid Katie Brown is trying on Miss Adam's costumes in her dressing room when Calamity Jane bursts it. She mistakes Katie for Adelaide and begs her to return to Deadwood. Katie seeing her shot at stardom readily agrees.
Once in Deadwood all the men in town go crazy over the new arrival including Calamitys best friend Wild Bill, and the man she has her eye on; Lt Danny Gil-Martin. Katie soon admits she's not really a huge star but by this time everyone loves her for herself and doesn't care.
What follows is a fight for the girl. Bill and Danny want Katie, Katie wants Danny and Calamity wants Danny too. Katie moves in with Calamity and starts to make her more ladylike. This results in Calamity being the belle of the ball when they go to a local dance.
At the dance Katie and Danny kiss watched by a jealous Bill and Calamity. Calamity is so mad she shoots a glass of punch from Katies hand. Later she sees the error in her ways after wild Bill gives her a good talking too. She realises that she has been in love with Bill all along and rushes to apologise to Katie and share her good news. In the meantime Katie has left towm.
In true Calamity Jane style she chases to stop the stage from leaving and brings Katie back to Deadwood where the film ends with a double wedding.
This film is fantastic. The acting is first rate with great performances by Doris Day and Howard Keel (what a voice) as Wild Bill. The songs are so catchy you'll be humming them for weeks! They really don't make them like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Just Blew In From The Windy City..., 3 Jun 2005
By 
Victoria (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calamity Jane [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
This film was a childhood favourite of mine - my mother used to put it on to shut me up and I would sit mesmerised!! It has everything you need in a good musical - classy performances, songs you can sing along to and characters you love. I recently visited my grandparents and we all sat listening to the soundtrack singing to our favourite songs!! My 14 year old sister is also a huge fan. This film will never age. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Calamity Jane [DVD] [1953]
Calamity Jane [DVD] [1953] by David Butler (DVD - 2003)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews