Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic
At last, the unreleased, much talked about original ending to Little Shop of Horrors is available for the first time in full colour and sound quality as part of the full movie! This ending was hated by test audiences on the film's release for a few reasons (which I won't mention here for spoiler reasons). However, I firmly believe that this original 20 minute ending is...
Published 17 months ago by Dale Hudson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie.. Lousy transfer
Love this old movie. But this DVD that I just recieved (Elstreet Hill Entertainment) .. jeepers.. The picture "quality" is just awfull. The VHS copy I bought some 20 years ago was far better. It is really really bad!!! To make matters worse I just found the full movie on youtube. Where the picture quality is superb!! So much for "trying to support the industry"..
Published 9 months ago by Hansen


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Havin' some fun now..., 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
If you haven't seen this film, you haven't lived!! This is one of those films that you can watch repeatedly and not get bored of it, and with a soundtrack that'll have you reaching for the hairbrush and waking up the neighbours. The main attraction is Audrey II, the 'mean green mother from outerspace'(voiced by Levi Stubbs), and with fantastic actors including Rick Moranis as the nerdy Seymour and Steve Martin as the sadistic dentist Orin it's not a film to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feed me!!!, 25 July 2003
This review is from: Little Shop of Horrors [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This DVD is a must for any fan of the movie. The added extras are amazing and the directors commentary is second to none, you learn so many secrets about the movie, it can make your head explode! So have some nostaliga and sit and watch this movie with some...snacks. Everybody sing with me now: 'Cause i'm a Dentist, and a sucess!'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Shop of Horros - Blu-ray, 2 April 2014
By 
Brad Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a film that my family like to watch every now and then and even better on the Blu-ray transfer.

The addition of the alternative ending is not something I would recommend buying this Blu-ray addition for - it comes over as quite a silly and extremely amateurish an unnecessary change. The original film is still a very good one to watch.

I was tempted to mark down the stars because of the alternative ending available, but that would be unfair to the original film. Just ignore that part of the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nuclear Flower Plant, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Fans of Fraggle Rock and Sesame Street will see a very familiar creative streak and aesthetic in this wild, eccentric 1986 sci-fi/musical/horror. Though very different from his previous films The Dark Crystal and Labyrinth, Frank Oz (when not voicing Kermit or planting cellophane bags of Angel Dust on Dan Aykroyd) does seem right at home and the perfect choice to direct this movie of a giant hungry plant gone mad.

Nerdy florist Seymore Krelborn (Rick Moranis) encourages his boss to display a bizarre new plant, the Audrey II, in the shop window in order to entice more customers into their failing business. The plan works, and as Audrey II grows larger so does their fame. But Audrey demands to be fed, and blood and human meat are at the top of the preferred menu, as so, in a sort-of botanist version of Hellraiser Seymore arranges to keep Audrey II fed with people who deserve to die.

Little does he know that Audrey II actually has plans for world domination and is merely using him as a naive puppet. Many musical numbers and cameos later (from John Candy, Bill Murray, and Steve Martin) the film forks into two different endings, depending on what version your watching. The theatrical cut, which I never really liked, gives us a happy ending that was shot merely to appease a fickle test audience (insert groans and rolling eyes here) while the extended ending of Frank Oz's director's cut is more epic, darker, crazier, and feels like a more natural homage to creature features of the 1950s such as Godzilla or Creature from the Black Lagoon. I can't believe this ending was ditched and not seen for over 25 years.

Little Shop of Horrors deserves and enduring popularity and if you watch it I insist on the director's cut.

The Blu-ray sports a lovely 1.78:1 1080p picture with DTS HD-MA sound. A commentary is included, which branches according to what ending the viewer chooses. A 10-minute retrospective documentary on the DC ending, and a vintage documentary are also on there, along with an outtake reel and two trailers. The Digibook is very nice and contains much more text than is usual for these packages, as well as an insert from Oz himself detailing the DC a little bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feed me Seymour!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Shop of Horrors [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
A classic 80's film that my daughetr has justcome across watching her school do a production...a must have stocking filler to watch together and sing along too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Shop of Horrors, Blu Ray - Amazing but watch the right version, 19 Nov 2013
I loved this film as a kid but even more so now. I've never liked musicals but this is awesome, just buy it.
Please note: There are two movies on this Blu-ray Disc. To avoid dissapointment, watch the original theatrical version & NOT the directors cut. It contains nothing extra, just a rubbish ending.
I give 5 stars for the cinema version & 2 stars for the directors cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie.. Lousy transfer, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this old movie. But this DVD that I just recieved (Elstreet Hill Entertainment) .. jeepers.. The picture "quality" is just awfull. The VHS copy I bought some 20 years ago was far better. It is really really bad!!! To make matters worse I just found the full movie on youtube. Where the picture quality is superb!! So much for "trying to support the industry"..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cult Movie, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have always loved this fantastic film so the stars are for the Blue Ray. The picture quality is great far better than the DVD I already had (which wasn't bad) two different versions of the film (one with the original version which is longer with a completely different end) both in brilliant HD. Even if you have the DVD try upgrading to this BD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Child hood memorisers, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Miss Katie L. Allen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Shop of Horrors [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Bought this as a child went to see the live show and wanted to show my son it. The film is as good as I remember is and cheap. Arrived on time and knowing i won't get disappointed with amazon would order DVDs again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Arnold (essex, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Shop of Horrors [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
arrived really quickly, bought to see what show granddaughter was going into, would recommend for a family could bescary for toddlers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Shop of Horrors [DVD] [1986]
Little Shop of Horrors [DVD] [1986] by Frank Oz (DVD - 2003)
4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews