Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Swell!
Just released on DVD format, this fabulous musical remake of George Cukor's The Philadelphia Story (1940) sees Grace Kelly in her last ever film role before crossing the pond to marry into the Monaco monarchy (she even wore her actual engagement ring in the movie).
Kelly plays the spoilt heiress Tracy Samantha Lord, a rather icy perfectionist (this generation would...
Published on 8 Jun. 2003 by Pip Farquharson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD quality problem
Superb film -- took me back to my youth -- but the DVD copy I have has poor sound, so that I missed much of the wit. Songs were a bit better. Look for a different edition.
Published 15 months ago by DavidX


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Swell!, 8 Jun. 2003
By 
Pip Farquharson (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Society [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
Just released on DVD format, this fabulous musical remake of George Cukor's The Philadelphia Story (1940) sees Grace Kelly in her last ever film role before crossing the pond to marry into the Monaco monarchy (she even wore her actual engagement ring in the movie).
Kelly plays the spoilt heiress Tracy Samantha Lord, a rather icy perfectionist (this generation would say 'control freak'), who is due to marry the stuffy George Kitteridge (John Lund) when her ex-husband C K Dexter-Haven (Bing Crosby), unexpectedly turns up... Still in love with her, he puts in place a subtle plan to win back her heart. Throw in an incorrigible little sister, a playboy dad, a couple of snoops from Spy magazine, Louis Armstrong (as himself) and buckets of champagne... and now you has jazz!
With a witty script and quite the line-up (it was the first time Crosby and Frank Sinatra, playing Spy magazine reporter, appeared on screen together), the romantic comedy is carried by one of Cole Porter's best - and one of his last - musical scores which includes Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?, Well, Did You Evah?, Now You Has Jazz, and Kelly and Crosby's moving duet True Love.
Rarely are remakes a patch on the original but in this case High Society is an exception. That said, however, The Philadelphia Story - with an equally strong cast that includes Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant and James Stewart - is as swell a party...
Like most rereleases of older movies onto DVD, what actually makes you update your video copy are the bonus features. This version includes a short documentary on 'the making of...', narrated by Celeste Holm (born 1919, who played Spy magazine photographer). Although it makes for entertaining viewing (throwing up little snippets such as how Kelly's father warned Prince Rainier of Monaco before they got married she was a crap driver), one can't help thinking that someone cruelly substituted Holm's oxygen tank with helium. Which is slightly distracting. Other special features are a nostalgic newsreel of the film's 1956 première, the original theater trailer and, rather bizarrely, 'Millionaire Droopy', a five-minute cartoon about two dogs (Spike and Droopy) battling over an inheritance, which uh... has absolutely no relevance to High Society at all.
Overall verdict? Thoroughly entertaining and an absolute must for fans of classic musicals and all that jazz...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Society - the movie, 21 Dec. 2009
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Society [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
High Society - the movie

With Sinatra and Crosby together at last in the same movie, Grace Kelly to add glamour and sophistication, Celeste Holm and Louis Calhern to provide humour, Louis Armstrong and his AllStars doing their thing, and a wonderful score by Cole Porter, this movie totally lived up to what we might expect from such a star-studded array of talent. I can't pick out any best songs because they were all memorable - the romance of `True love' (Crosby and Kelly) and `Mind if I make love to you' (Sinatra), the superb timing of Sinatra and Crosby in `Well, did you evah!', of Crosby and Armstrong in `Now you has jazz', and of Sinatra and Holm in `Who wants to be a millionaire?'. . . the list goes on. A truly five-star musical written around the Newport (R.I.) Jazz Festival as a theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting and colourful movie!, 28 Feb. 2007
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: High Society [DVD] (DVD)
Uplifting, and feel-good musical starring Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra and Grace Kelly!

This is a lovely film full of entertaining songs and performances, and all done in rich and sumptuous colour! Grace Kelly gets 'the pick of the boys' in this - but ends up re-marrying her estranged husband, played by Bing Crosby. Whilst never really mad about Bing Crosby, one has to say, that at almost 53 years of age here (and remember; people were much older for their years back then than they are now) still looked a bit of a spunk! Especially when compared to the too-rugged looking Frank Sinatra, and the slightly serious and boring chap she (Grace Kelly) intends to marry.

Watch this lovely movie, and forever after go on singing 'Who Wants To Be A Millionaire'!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Don't Make 'em Like This Any More!, 12 Mar. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. S. Pearce "JennyStar" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Society [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
This is a total and utter classic and definitely one of my favourites of all time - ( I am a BIG Grace Kelly fan) and Grace Kelly absolutely dazzles in this film from start to finish. The film has everything for the true escapist: glamour, humour, romance all set within the world of the fabulously rich! Grace Kelly (who once expressed a desire to be a comedienne) shows her versatility and her impeccable sense of timimg for the delivery of her lines and over-dramatic gestures.
Also in this film are Bing Crosby and a very young Frank Sinatra so the songs are recognisable (for those of cetain age!!) Top of the musical bill however, is Loius Armstrong (Sachmo) who plays himself beautifully. It is a typical love story with a happy ending and I love it, love it, love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth re-watching., 23 Oct. 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: High Society [DVD] (DVD)
By now you know this is a remake of "The Philadelphia Story" and may have a tendency to compare them. I did this my self at first; then I realized they each have their strong points. I even get them mixed up now and them. All you have to do is remember this is the musical. My favorite song in the list is "True Love". Of course as with everything different people are bound to have different favorites and there are plenty to chose from.

In case you are new to the story, basically C.K. Dexter-Haven (Bing Crosby) and Tracy Samantha Lord (Grace Kelly) are divorced. Tracy is getting married again. The clan is gathering. We watch as they go through the motions and emotions of courting and reevaluating their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great film!, 2 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Society [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
A great Classic with top-drawer actors. Super story and the film certainly captures it well. Light-hearted with some drama. Grace Kelly, I think, in one of her finest roles. Really great songs too. Must have watched it at least 20 times and it's still fresh. First saw it when I was 12 years old and I have loved it ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Crosby,s Infatuation, 23 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Society [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
Played on a Blu-Ray player with upscalling and a 55 inch super High Definition TV this film is outstanding in both vision and sound quality and doe,s not give it,s age away, the print is also in the correct format so there is no distortion of the actors figures. Next to the film TO Catch A Thief this in my opinion is Grace Kelly,s best.
Bing Crosby,s real life infatuation with Grace Kelly comes across in this film, Crosby had a disastrous marriage and was very unhappy in it and looked to Grace Kelly for comfort, this she returned to a limited degree but turned down his marriage proposals. For those interested in finding out more about this I can refer you to GRACE KELLY HER LIFE AND LOVES BY JANE ELLEN WAYNE ALSO AVAILABLE ON THE AMAZON SITE just one of many books on the subject. The more I learn about Film Stars life's the more I realize that their wealth and fame brought them little comfort, see my reviews relating to Grace Kelly and her royal marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Musical Ever Made?, 14 April 2009
By 
Ms. Deborah Ivany (wales,goytre) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Society [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
I have loved this film for about 30 years (gosh, am I really THAT old!) It's one of those films that you can watch again & again and never tire of. Grace Kelly, Bing Crosby & Frank Sinatra - what more could you ask for??!! Fabulous songs, costumes, humour and characters. If you don't like musicals then don't bother but if you do then buy it now & enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 July 2009
By 
Mrs. C. Churcher "'Red'" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Society [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
This is just a great film, if you like Frank Sinatra and /or Bing Crosby. Not forgetting Louis Armstrong of course... I find myself singing the songs at work and its amazing how many people know them regardless of age. Its a jolly film with the ending that you want...some very funny moments as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most perfect feel-good movie - ever?, 18 April 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: High Society [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
I can't tell how many times I have re-watched this and it's still as wonderful, funny, romantic and just perfect as the first time.

From Grace Kelly's incredible beauty as the ice-queen Tracy, to Frank Sinatra's cheeky journalist, from Bing Crosby's love-lorn yet still witty ex-husband to Louis Armstrong's playing of himself; even the secondary characters, especially Tracy's younger sister (and I'm not a fan of cute kids) and her mother are just pitch-perfect.

It's almost scary to think how old this movie is now but I can't imagine it being bettered. Pure class from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Society [DVD] [1956]
High Society [DVD] [1956] by Charles Walters (DVD - 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews