Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy comes to life again!
This new 'Augmented Reality' edition is essentially the previous Blu-ray transfer on a new disc, and so on first inspection, is not really noteworthy. However, like all the latest Universal 100 products, this is a damn fine release that works out excellent value. What you're getting for under eight quid (at the time of writing) is the film in a stunning transfer, brand...
Published on 23 April 2012 by Picard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the mummy
Got this to replace an old video, i am disappointed it dose not have the music video included, and found the quality of picture a bit grainy.
Published 12 months ago by pammywams


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy comes to life again!, 23 April 2012
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This new 'Augmented Reality' edition is essentially the previous Blu-ray transfer on a new disc, and so on first inspection, is not really noteworthy. However, like all the latest Universal 100 products, this is a damn fine release that works out excellent value. What you're getting for under eight quid (at the time of writing) is the film in a stunning transfer, brand new HD documentaries and a great selection of special features from the previous releases - both DVD and Blu-ray.

Both 'The Mummy' and it's sequel are the two gems of the saga that, in time, started to falter with some poor productions. I'm delighted that Universal have selected this original film as part of it's centenary celebrations as it has clearly become a modern day classic. The juxtaposition of the swashbuckling but ultimately careless Brendan Frasier and focus on historical themes is absolutely spot on, and makes for a hugely entertaining movie. I know many people that have watched this film who normally wouldn't touch anything with such a combination, but they loved it. And as a deep lover of Ancient Egypt myself, I get a great sense of release* from watching Rachel Weisz battle with history! Boy, she's beautiful and deadly...

... In short however, this release of The Mummy is flawless and I'll certainly be flicking through Universal's other '100' titles as they're all the same price. In case you're wondering what the 'Augmented Reality' deal is, you're given the opportunity to hold an Apple iOS device (iPhone/Pad) and point the built-in camera at the slipcover of this product. The Universal App (which you must download) then creates a 3D image on your screen of... well, I won't spoil it, but it's fun if you want to pass a minute or two.

*The release I refer to is PURELY cognitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I've never seen a mummy look like this before. He's still... still... juicy", 28 Mar. 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mummy [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
As far as films made for pure entertainement go this is one of the best. Below, more of my impressions with some limited SPOILERS.

In Thebes, Egypt, 1,290 BC, high priest Imhotep (Arnold Vosloo), a handsome man well versed in the arts of occult and black magic, engaged in an affair with Anck-su-Namun (Patricia Velasquez, sculptural), the favourite concubine of Pharaoh Seti I. When the affair was discovered, Imhotep and Anck-su-Namun murdered the monarch but when Seti's guards arrived, Imhotep fled while Anck-su-Namun killed herself. In her last words she implored Imhotep to bring her back to life with his dark magic... Those are the first two minutes and about the rest I will just say that quite fast after this introduction we are transported to Egypt in Year of Grace 1926 and then the film really begins.

This film is based mostly on a gallery of endearing or amusing characters, fast moving action and clever, witty dialogs. The main male character is an American adventurer Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser), about whom we just know that he used to serve in French Foreign Legion and that he is currently rotting in an Egyptian jail awaiting his execution. The main female character is Evelyn Carnahan (Rachel Weisz), a young British lady currently working as librarian but who is also an amateur Egyptologist.

Important secondary characters are:

- Jonathan Carnahan (John Hannah), Evelyn's brother, a kind of ne'er-do-well guy and the black sheep of his family
- Beni Gabor (Kevin J. O'Connor), a shady slimy character, a former subaltern of O'Connell before his desertion from French Foreign Legion
- Ardeth Bay (Oded Fehr, impressive), a mysterious Arab warrior
- Terrance Bay (Erick Avari), Egyptologist and Library supervisor, Evelyn's boss
- Gad Hassan (Omid Djalili), the warden of Egyptian prison and man in charge of O'Connell's execution
- Mr Burns, Mr Henderson and Mr Daniels, three American adventurers,
- Dr Allen Chamberlain, a British scientist who travels with the three American adventurers
- also lots of camels and flesh eating scarabs...)))

This film very desservedly earned a great reputation and also a gazillion of dollars when released in 1999 and of course was unavoidably followed by two very, very bad sequels, which I sincerely advise to avoid.

This is of course pure entertainment but it is very well done pure entertainment and the result is a funny, even merry, fast paced adventure film which can be easily watched in family (no strong language, not too scary) - rating it "15" is really an exaggeration. A film which can be watched numerous times and therefore worth purchasing. In one word - this film is JUICY...))) Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my fave!!!, 10 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mummy [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I just love this film. Mainly because I like Egyptian history so much and there was just something about The Mummy. My mum was the first in the house to see it and her comments were 'I didn't know it was supposed to be a comedy'.
It's not supposed to be Monty Python in terms of laughs, but what I liked about the characters was their mischeviousness. Especially Jonathan and O'Connell towards the prison guard. Little bits of humour make such a difference to a film. This takes it away from the 'indiana jones' theme it has been compared with. It's not all action/adventure/romance. There are times when I found myself sniggering away.
The cast have a total chemistry brought on I think by the playfulness of their characters. Every single person excells in their part. The imigary used in the film is breathtaking. The scenes of Ancient Egypt look like everything is bathed in gold and this captures everything I imagine the old kingdom to be like. Prosperous-but still has that mythical side to it. That's where the Mummy come in. The Mummy is the high priest Ihmotep who had a love affair with the Phaoroh's mistress. Ihmotep kills the pharoh but is eventually caught and mummified alove. He has a curse placed upin him that if he should ever be awoken her will bring the 10 plagues of egypt upon the earth.
Well, this is what happens and it's up to Rick O'Connell, a rougish army office and Evie and Jonathan, (brother and sister but also librarian and missionary)to save the day. They elist the help of the cheif Medji (decendents of pharoh's body guards) to help send Ihmotep to the underworld.
The film is well known for it's incedible effects and I was amazed. The face appearing out of the sand was fantastic and in my opinion quite spooky.
This film is worth the money. It's got everything: action, adventure, romance (but thankfully it's not laden with it), humour and is good for some basic egyptian history (at least you'll know what Anubis looks like by the end of the film!) Get the film....it's great!
Special mention to Benny from the film. He's a firm favourite with me and my pals. "You came back from the desert with a new friend, didn't you Benny?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning re-working of a classic, 14 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mummy [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film takes the classic tale of an Ancient Egyptian High Priest in search of his dead lover and transfers it to the big screen in a plethora of exceptional special effects and one of the best digital soundtracks currently around.
Some of the large scenic shots are reminiscent of Lawrence of Arabia as they were in Stargate but when shooting desert scenes I guess that this is inevitable.
Brendan Fraser takes a little getting used to as the hero of the piece and Rachel Weisz as the heroine is a little irritating at first. John Hannah who plays her brother seems unhappy throughout the film and if I had a major gripe it would be his character. There are some notable cameos by lots of actors who really seem to belong in this picture.
In reworking this story the Director/Producer; whilst keeping the original plot intact have provided a lot more detail and explanations. Gone are the days when the villain is reduced to stumbling around in grotty grey bandages. Whilst undoubtedly a villain; the High Priest does manage to arouse a little sympathy - albeit very little.
A sequel is planned and the Producers will have a hard job in surpassing this film. If they manage to do so I would suggest that one or two cast changes might be appropriate.
The DVD is wonderfully clear of artefacts and as mentioned the sound is superb. The widescreen version works very well and on a w/s TV is awesome as it has been anamorphically compressed to make the most of these new sets. Even on a standard TV- only a little of the impact is lost. Some of the extra material is a little uninteresting although the deleted scenes are a bonus. An audio track to explain why the scenes were deleted would have been welcome.
In conclusion; this is a must-see film which despite one or two flaws serves the genre well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 18 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mummy [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I saw this going on the cheap as I was looking to build up my DVD collection, and was surprised at the quality of the film. The storyline is very easy to follow, but it's still really enjoyable and you can watch it over and over again. Great special effects, even pretty scary in places. One of those films where you don't expect much from it but end up pleasantly surprised. Reasonably well-casted - John Hannah and Rachel Weisz excel as the English siblings who travel to Egypt, playing comic characters but not stupid enough to detract from the horror aspect of the film. Even Brendan Fraser, somewhat typecast as a geek in his other films, is good, highly convincing in a role that is usually reserved for the likes of Vin Diesel or Arnie. This is a really worthwhile addition to your DVD collection. Pretty average extras, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 22 July 2008
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mummy [DVD] (DVD)
If you like adventure, humour and horror this film is for you. In my books it's similar to the Indiana Jones films containing action packed sequences that will attract your full attention from the begginning to the the end of the film. Visual effects are present too, and have aged rather well compared to some films of the same era. That's enough about the film as I am sure most of you have already seen this film and it's sequel.
This is simply a repackaged release containing the uncut version of the film meaning that the total run time is 2hrs. There is also a fantastic commentary with the wonderful Brendan Fraser, plus a sneak peak at the new Mummy film, with a couple of extra featurettes.
Highly reccomended, for any general film viewer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern adventure classic, 2 May 2013
By 
Maxwell (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those rare instances when an adventure film doesn't turn out to be a load of nonsense. Speilberg got it bang on with Indiana Jones, but since then very few seem to have got the formula right. The Mummy finally did, its got just about everything you'd want to keep you entertained for a few hours. Brendan Fraser's move away from silly comedies proved the right one as he's brilliant, as too is Rachel Weisz. Although this is remake of the Univeral Horror classic it's less in the horror vein and much more an adventure film. This Blu Ray transfer is stunning, I felt the surround audio could have been a little better utilsed, but that's minor. All in all a cracking film that you can easily stick on the shelf with Star Wars and Indy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy Rules, 22 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mummy [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The Mummy is our family's favourite film of all time. Its the perfect light entertainment film and if we're feeling a little blue or just need to relax we just put the Mummy on and have a ball.
The cast is brilliant, Goldsmith's score has never been better and it has a load of witty one liners. The effects are not bad either and considering it was made in 1998/99 its aging well.
Kevin O'Connor was robbed of an academy award in the role of Benny - he's just perfect. I just wish we'd seen more fo him since. The only gripe I have is that they should never have killed him off - the Mummy 2 really misses his presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 31 May 2004
This review is from: The Mummy [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The ultimate point of 'The Mummy' is simply to entertain the audience and keep them gripped and on the edge of their seat right up until the grisley end, and after watching it i can say that it certainly did just that, and very well i might add.
This type of film is just my sort of thing. A really 'out there' storyline, a tough-ish hero (and also in the case heroess), loads and loads of really super special effects, and hundreds of nasty bad guys (in the case mummies) getting their hollow, rotting heads blown clean off.
When Egyptian librarian, Evelyn finds an old map hidden in an ancient arifact, along with her drunken brother Jonathon, she goes in search of its owner and comes across the big and tough Rick O'Connell, who agrees to take them to the 'lost city' on the map if they will resue him from prison and stop him being hanged.
They do so and soon find themselves deep in the sand dunes of Egypt; more specifically, the 'ost city'. Here they find vast caverns of gold and riches, along with an 'undead' mummy and an ancient curse which threatens the whole of man-kind. Evelyn manages to unleash this curse upon the world when she acidentially read from 'the book of the dead', and brings back to life Imhotep, who suffered the worst punishment; having his tongue cut out, wrapped in bandages, put into a sarcophagus, and then covered with scarabs. All of this because he had an affair with the pharos wife and killed the pharo himself.
Anyway, now he is freed, Imhotep has muge power and kills people and sucks the life out of them in order for him to re-generate, and thus be able to bring back to life the Pharos wife, so that they can be together again. Thankfully though, Evelyn knows how to kill him. They must find the golden book, somwhere in the lost city, and read the passage from it, thus making Imhotep mortal again, and therefore able to be killed.
I know that some people say that the special effects in this film are not that good, and ok, in the odd places there not one hundred percent, but come on, apart from a few places, they are pretty amazing really. For example when Imhoteps face is sort of half mummy half human, i found that incredible, and i still am amazed at how they did it.
However don't be fooled. This film is not about re-creating ancient Egypt accurately, Its about making an entertaining film, so don't worry if its not like it is in the text books, just accept it for what it is and enjoy it.
With a good supporting cast, some great directing, loads of special effects, and of course a beautiful woman, this film for me is definately five star, and i highly recommend it to everyone. You might not want to keep watching it, but for the few times that you do watch it you will be gripped from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD - Uncut too.... suposedly., 20 Mar. 2000
By 
Mr. Paul S. Bird "dagadadagada" (Aylesbury) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mummy [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Well folks, I saw this film by mistake at the cinema. I went to watch the Phantom Menace, and ended up in the wrong screen. But, I stayed an watched this film, knowing the PM would be on for months to come. I have to say, this is certainly the better film! You see, it's one of those great films that takes you by suprise. You expect pants, but you get a knickerbocker glory. It's almost as if someone had tried to write a new Indianna Jones film, and then changed the names around to protect the innocent. Despite the 15 certificate of the DVD, it's pretty much a family film, with "safe" scares, and a relativly mild level of gore / horror. As the commentary track points out, there is little or no blood, and clever cutting and framing causes you to imagine more than you actually see. Now, supposedly this is the uncut version. Having seen the cinema version there is not much in here I don't remember seeing, but then only 17 seconds of footage has been re-instated... or has it? is this just the uncut cinema version as opposed to the 12-rated VHS version? Who knows! Who cares, really, as the amount of exras crammed onto the little disk is quite astonishing. you get a full commentary, a quite reasonable making of documentary, featuring the worrying looking SFX guys. You also get a nice little bit of egyptian mythology, a stage by stage feature showing you how the SFX were put together, and a lovely picture of a horse. OK, I made the last bit up. If you wish for just one DVD where you can turn off your poor weary brain and relax in the company of all sorts of nonsence, then get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mummy [DVD] [1999]
The Mummy [DVD] [1999] by Stephen Sommers (DVD - 2003)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews