Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power To The People !!! - The Revolution Continues
Citizen Smith, the popular 70's sitcom written by John Sullivan, starring Robert Lindsay as Wolfie Smith returns for series 3 & 4.
Wolfie still leads the Tooting Popular Front from disaster to even bigger disaster while waiting for the right moment to storm to power.
Whilst the main members of the TPF, apprentice Buddist Ken, career criminal Speed, and Tucker -...
Published on 21 Aug 2003 by Mark Durant

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
If you enjoyed the first two seasons you'll want to watch seasons 3 and 4, but these seasons are less consistent than the earlier ones. For a start Wolfie's girlfriend leaves, which creates a big hole in the format and makes Wolfie's landlord somewhat redundant and less appealing as he no longer has anything real to get annoyed about. Making it worse, a new actor plays...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by Blackhorse47


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power To The People !!! - The Revolution Continues, 21 Aug 2003
By 
Mark Durant "wolfiesmith" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Citizen Smith: Series 3 & 4 [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Citizen Smith, the popular 70's sitcom written by John Sullivan, starring Robert Lindsay as Wolfie Smith returns for series 3 & 4.
Wolfie still leads the Tooting Popular Front from disaster to even bigger disaster while waiting for the right moment to storm to power.
Whilst the main members of the TPF, apprentice Buddist Ken, career criminal Speed, and Tucker - a waiter with a Cowboy fixation, remain the same there are a number of cast & character changes from series 1 & 2.
Cheryl Hall who played Wolfies long suffering girlfriend Shirley only appears in the first episode, 'Spanish Fly' before her character leaves for a job in Italy.
Peter Vaughn (Shirleys Dad - Charlie), also makes his last appearence in 'Spanish Fly' to be replaced by Tony Steedman.
Harry Fenning (Stephen Greif), the Godfather of Tooting is replaced by Ronnie Lynch (David Garfield), in series 4.
John Tordoff appears as Tofkin in three episodes (Don't Look Down, Tofkins Revenge & Casablanca Was Never Like This).
My opinion on the changes are a bit mixed, while not knocking the performances of either David Garfield or Tony Steedman, Ronnie Lynch never really convinces as a 'Godfather' figure the way Harry Fenning did and Peter Vaughn's Charlie Johnson is a stronger more assertive character than the Tony Steedman portrayal.
Having said this, the all episodes and characters are still very watchable and enjoyable.
John Tordoff's character, P.C. Tofkin works a good deal better, however, maybe because he's not directly replacing a character we have already got used to.
The episodes in this boxset include some absolute classics such as 'Only Fools & Horses', (which John Sullivan, of course, used as the title of his most famous Sitcom), The Party's Over and The Glorious Day.
Guest appearances include - Wilfrid Brambell, better known as Old Man Steptoe in the episode 'Only Fools & Horses' & John Challis, Boycie from the Sitcom 'Only Fools & Horses' appears in 'The Letter of The Law'
The full list is:
Spanish Fly - Wolfie is shocked when Jose, the Leader of The Bilbao Liberation Movement arrives from Spain to see Wolfie and discuss financial support.
Don't Look Down - Shirley has left, Charlie is evicting him so Wolfie decides to make a dramatic gesture by throwing himself from the roof of the Vigilante. Can P.C. Tofkin talk him round?
Only Fools & Horses - When a protest planned at the Town Hall goes wrong, the TPF find they've Hijacked a Lift.
The Big Job - Wolfie owes a lot of money, and Ken is worried when Harry Fenning offers Wolfie a driving job, the faster the car the better.
Tofkins Revenge - Tofkin's back and blackmails the TPF into helping him get revenge on Harry Fenning.
We Shall Not Be Moved - Wolfie and Ken barracade themselves in after getting an eviction notice
The Party's Over - Millionaires daughter Caroline Hayden has invited Wolfie to a party at the family mansion, but it's not all it seems.
The Glorious Day - When the TPF gets hold of a Scorpion Tank, Wolfie decides the Glorious Day has arrived - it's time to invade Westminster!
Bigger Than Guy Fawkes - Showbusiness agent Bennie Saltzburg wants Wolfie to be his next Star. Little does he realise that getting the TPF released from their prison sentances for treason will be the least of his problems.
Changes - Harry Fenning has gone scuba diving with concrete flippers, Ronnie Lynch has taken over & June is fed up with having a Cowboy for a Husband. Can Wolfie help?
The Final Try - Ken, Tucker & Speed are fed up with everything going wrong and force Wolfie to promise to disband the TPF if he can't get the South African rugby tour cancelled.
The Letter Of The Law - Ronnie Lynch is up in court for bribery & corruption but Wolfie is on the Jury & Ronnie makes it quite clear what will happen if he's found guilty.
Prisoners - It's a shock when Speed turns up at Wolfies flat, as he's supposed to be in Prison on remand, and who's he bought with him?
Casablanca Was Never Like This - With Wolfie as Defence Council Speed gets Five years in Prison for a robbery he claims he didn't do. Wolfie decides to hire a private detective to help free him. But his choice, Dick Diamond, turns out to be ex-policeman Tofkin.
Sweet Sorrow - When Ronnie Lynch's plans are messed up one time too many, Wolfie thinks it can't get any worse. But when he goes to Ronnies flat to apologise he finds that things can get a lot worse indeed.
Buon Natale (Christmas Special, this is obviously set before 'Sweet Sorrow') - Wolfie & Ken decide to get away for Christmas and visit Shirley in Rimini, but can they cross the Alps on the Lambretta?
This is another great collection for a fan of the series or anyone that likes the Classic sitcoms. If you enjoyed Series 1 & 2 you will love this.
No swearing just lots & lots of laughs.
Power To The People !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Revolution Is Here - Citizen Smith Returns, 25 Mar 2003
By 
Mark Durant "wolfiesmith" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For the uninitiated Citizen Smith was a very popular 70's sitcom written by John Sullivan, who later wrote 'Only Fools and Horses' , and starred Robert Lindsay as Wolfie Smith.
Wolfie was the leader of the urban guerilla group the Tooting Popular Front who were just waiting for the right moment to storm to power.
The only problems being Wolfie was unemployed and the TPF only numbered three others ,Ken - an apprentice Buddist, Speed - a hooligan shoplifter and Tucker - a waiter with a Cowboy fixation.
Wolfie's hardest job was trying to avoid marriage to Shirley and avoiding upseting Harry Fenning and his minders, Tootings answer to Al Capone.
Like most sitcoms the episodes get better as the series progresses with the first couple of episodes setting the scene and getting you used to the characters.
The boxset features the pilot episode, which is basically the same as episode 1 but with a diffrent actor as Charlie and some diffrent dialogue, and the Christmas special "A Story For Christmas' which has never been repeated on TV.
The episodes are
Roof Over My Head - (Pilot Episode)
Crocodile Tears - How can Wolfie explain to Shirley That Urban Guerrilla's don't get engaged.
Guess Who's Coming To Dinner - Wolfie can't put off the terrible day any longer, meeting Shirley's family.
Abide With Me - Wolfie and Ken are evicted but will Charlie Johnson take the revolution into his own Home.
The Weekend - Ken plans a dirty weekend with Desiree, the topless Go-Go dancer at the Vigilante pub.Trouble is she's going out with Speed.
The Hostage - Wolfies election hopes are dashed but he has a plan, to kidnap David West the M.P. who beat him.
The Path Of True Love - Shirley ditches Wolfie for a flash capitalist with a sports coat, can he win her back?
But Is It Art - Kens pavement masterpiece is worth a fortune but can the revolution cash in.
A Story For Christmas - Ken preys on behalf of a skint Wolfie and his prayers seem to be answered.
Speeds Return - Speed is let out of prison but Wolfie has some bad news for him, Desirees pregnant and it can't be Speeds.
Rebel without a Pause - Wolfie's looking for a cause that will get the peoples sympathy, then Charlie gets the sack.
The Tooting Connection - Charlie is hunting down a load of stereos that have been stolen from his factory, and Wolfie knows where they are.
Working Class Hero - Wolfies right to work campaign ends in disaster, when the labour exchange gives him a job.
Rock Bottom - Is the Revolution moving to L.A. when Wolfie has an audition to become a working class superstar?
This is a great collection for a fan of the series or anyone that likes the Classic sitcoms, no swearing just lots of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Power to great comedy, 2 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The team which brought you 80's based comedy Only Fool and Horse, bring another great piece of hilarious comedy called Citizen Smith based in the preceding years 0f the 70's. The DVD features series 1 and 2 of this hit comedy starring Robert Lindsay (from My Family) as the political activist of a revoluntarily. The catchphrase "power to the people" is frequently used throughout the series.

The principal emphasise of the comedy to a large degree is political as it is based on the movement of a group campaigning against their rights. The way it is approached end up in hilarious outcomes, as the point is they are not clever enough and competent to campaign. That is the real beauty of the comedy. This is gives you a real flavour of what to expect and you will be laughing like anything.

Citizen Smith features 13 brilliant episodes in three discs. The packaging to the DVD is attractively done, with a picture featuring the main character in his trademark cap and jacket. Citizen Smith has all the features to promote its status as a great comedy, which is a great script, funny characters and well structured stories.

I like to finish my review with a quote "Power to great comedy". If you love great comedy to really enjoy, watch Citizen Smith series 1 and 2 to get a real feel what the real power of comedy can do for viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An under-appreciated classic, 28 Feb 2009
I'm not particularly a fan of Only Fools and Horses, but for me this earlier series written by John Sullivan is funnier and has actually aged better. This is probably because there is some reality behind the characters that remains just as relevant today; after all the hero is at heart a bumbling terrorist.

If you haven't seen it before you'll need to persevere beyond the first 3 episodes as it takes a while to warm up. The pilot is very static and drawn out. And the third episode, which was originally to be the pilot episode of a completely different set-up to a series - essentially a flat-sharing sitcom - has a different feel to the rest of the episodes. But once the series gets going and the formula settles down it provides regular fun and laughs, even if Wolfie's tight trousers are very painful to look at!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOOTING'S VERY OWN CHEZ GUEVARA, 17 Jan 2011
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citizen Smith: Series 3 & 4 [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
I do not understand why this classic pantomime of revolutionary ambitions has not had very much of an after-life since the series was originally screened between 1977 and 1980. Many, in my opinion lesser comedy series have been endlessly repeated on both terrestrial and satellite television but hardly do you see re-runs of 'Citizen Smith'.

'Wolfie' the aspiring "urban guerrilla", mistakenly called "Foxy" by his girlfriends dim mother (Wolfie's real name is revealed in the penultimate episode as Walter Henry Smith - W H SMITH), is an unemployed dreamer and petty criminal who always comes unstuck because of his laziness and disorganisation.

Every episode is well written and funny which is hardly surprising with John Sullivan (Only Fools And Horses) being the writer. A truly unforgettable episode in Series 3, involves the theft of a Scorpion Tank from the Territorial Army, being left inside the grumpy father-in-law's, Charlie Johnson's garage. Charlie on discovering the tank climbs down inside and accidentally steps on the machine gun button, with the result that their garden is raked with machine gun fire, narrowly missing his wife Florence who is hanging the washing out and the annihilation of his much loved collection of garden gnomes.

Series 4 begins with Wolfie and co being paroled and a brief flirtation at being pop stars on the back of their newly found 'notoriety', but like the way of all things undertaken by Wolfie Smith, ends in disaster. Local gangster Ronnie Lynch features large in this series culminating in a hilarious penultimate episode with Wolfie being caught in Ronnie's wife Mandy's bedroom, fleeing and having a £6000 contract put on his head.

Situation comedy doesn't get much better than this and the quality and the originality of John Sullivan's work will surely shine through the 'blackout curtains' on repeats imposed by the media.

My most memorable 'chuckle' from all series? His lovable but gormless mother-in-law Florence telling Wolfie that she had just received a phone call, and wasn't certain whether it was someone called "Tucker" or an obscene call!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Citizen smith dvd series 1/2 By B Rutter Luton Bedfordshire, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Just a quick review brought this along with series 3/4 great comedy from a writer who went on to write a smash hit what ever happened to shirleys dad in the pilot episode (artro morris) anyway 5 star rating great dvd
to watch either at weekends or when theres not much on the box.compared to whats on sky these days i would rather watch this than the rubbish thats on sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where did the power go?, 14 Sep 2003
By 
Mr D Tremlin (Yeovil, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Citizen Smith: Series 3 & 4 [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
The moment the credits at the start of an episode begin to run you just know you are on to a winner here .... as long as you are the right age range! The sight of a Cortina Mk2, a (then new) Austin 1300, cruising along confusingly deserted London streets will ring bells only for those that remember those days. Then, the very early shock of the 'bloody' word just a few moments into the very first scene of the pilot episode. Assuming this series went out late in the evening (I truly can't remember) it would not have shocked at all, but it did remind me of the heady days of the first 'bloody' in Citizen Smith and the first loud 'bastard!' in Fawlty Towers! The 70's were indeed much more bawdy than some of us remember? The writing, acting and brilliant timing has lost none of it's appeal. All the characters seem as enthusiastic (except maybe the long suffering Tucker) as I remember them, and the film shots are pure history. It will make you laugh and also make you sigh. Whatever happened to the revolution though :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power to the comedy, 16 Jan 2006
I remember this series from my childhood. But now I do laugh with tears. Superb comedy, english humour as its best. Strongly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The revolution is better than ever!, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: Citizen Smith: Series 3 & 4 [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed the first series, and it immediately became the highlight of my DVD collection. It was a sad experience to see the closing titles of the final episode. I thought that there were only ever two series made, so imagine my delight when I encountered series three and four in a DVD shop, while looking for something else! I enjoyed this series MUCH more than the last two, despite the departure of Peter Vaughan, who is replaced by the excellent actor Tony Steedman. The character of Shirley also departs after episode one, although this is no great loss. From encountering the mad detective Tofkin to being imprisoned for treason, the series is daring, inventive and painfully funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWER TO THE !!!!!!!!, 1 Jan 2006
Great to be able to see this series again cos it was one of my favorites growing up.
I was amazed to find out that it only ran 4 years and only 30 episodes for some reason to me it seemed to be on longer.
I remember all those years ago how disapointed i was when the show finaly stopped and not long after that robert lyndsay was in a new series called seconds out which flopped.
Anyway because of Citizen smith i tried to follow lyndsays career and try to watch most things hes ever been in . for example (Get some in) which was before C.S then after seconds out i think he went back to stage work and serious acting and i had not seen much of him until the Horatio hornblower series.
Now i hear that hes back to his sitcom roots with another popular show on TV now but i have not had the honor to see just yet.
Again great service from Amazon and ive just ordered series 3-4 of citizen smith .
Great nostalgic TV that brings back so many memories and the precursor of Only Fools and Horses for which i have all the series of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Citizen Smith: Series 3 & 4 [DVD] [1977]
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews