Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temptingly beautiful
Within Temptation are hard to comprehend when you consider that being a band is just a hobby to them, since they spend a lot of time in 'proper jobs'. How then, they've managed to get Mother Earth together is a wonder. This band have been likened to After Forever [and indeed they do collaborate occasionally] and their style is similar, though softer and more dreamy, for...
Published on 1 Nov 2002 by bloodandfootsteps

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype
I made the mistake of believing the review on All Music Guide. I found this album most disappointing. It failed to stir the emotions. If I were you I'd give this one a miss and buy "The Heart of Everything" which is quite simply a gothic masterpiece.
Published 9 months ago by Graham K Field


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temptingly beautiful, 1 Nov 2002
This review is from: Mother Earth (Audio CD)
Within Temptation are hard to comprehend when you consider that being a band is just a hobby to them, since they spend a lot of time in 'proper jobs'. How then, they've managed to get Mother Earth together is a wonder. This band have been likened to After Forever [and indeed they do collaborate occasionally] and their style is similar, though softer and more dreamy, for want of a less annoying word. All the elements are there - the heavy guitars, the choirs and Sharon del Adel's incredible voice which is one of the purest and most beautiful in the genre. I read one reviewer describe WT as 'orchestral Gothic metal' [whatever that means], but that's the closest I've heard anyone get to what this is.
All of the tracks here are good, but the title track, Ice Queen and Caged could be dubbed as outstanding. There are softer, piano-dominated tracks, such as Our Farewell and Neverending Story [yes, there is something Fantasy-esque about this album, as the cover-art hints at]. The only slightly annoying thing is how the Mother Earth theme permeates much of the album and how they use some kind of flutelike effect in some of the songs, but if you can get over this [which isn't hard to do, admittedly], all the better. If you like your instrumentation heavy and your vocals soaring and harmonic, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotive Power, 2 Sep 2005
This review is from: Mother Earth [With DVD] (Audio CD)
This album continues to astonish me. The celtic theme drives the album throughout, and makes for a comforting, if tentative, view of the world. The power of Sharon den Adel's voice is incredible. Forget Nightwish comparisons, the emotive power of this band comes from a completely different place (The Netherlands in fact).
However a word of caution; if your looking big metal riffing, this album will disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Superior To Evanescence, 31 Jan 2004
This review is from: Mother Earth (Audio CD)
Within Temptation are a out-standing female-fronted metal band from Holland. Starting off as a doom-metal band with beauty and the beast type vocals in their debut EP, "Enter", they have evolved into something entirely different on this release.
This album was originally was released in 2001 in Europe, but overwhelming demand - the fact that is sold over a hundred thousand copies in tiny Holland alone is quite remarkable - it was released in 2003 for the American and U.K market. And it is very easy to see why this album is so popular as it is very accessible.
While they have lost the "beast" growling vocals, the death metal-esque riffs do remain, but they have been toned down in order to not drown out Sharon Den Ardel's beautiful voice. This is not a stereotypical metal album as it also utilizes keyboards, a choir, string instruments and even on some songs, wind instruments. This is all together put, a simply amazing album.
Starting off with the title track "Mother Earth", it begins with wind and string instruments along with the raising vocals of a choir behind it, until abruptly the guitars and drums kick in, already you know that this song is going to rock, and rock hard. Sharon manages to project her beautiful voice over the music, as she sings about, as the title suggested, Mother Earth. One of the singles off of this album, this is a great introduction to the album.
"Ice Queen" was the song that initially attracted me to WT when I saw it on German MTV. Starting with a gentle piano in the background, sudden bursts of the choirs vocals along with electronically produced sounds, much like before the band jump in all of a sudden as the song really kicks off. This is the perfect WT song and is one of my favorites on the album. Those wondering whether or not to purchase this album should really check this song out before hand.
Slowing things down next is "Our Farewell". Accompanied by only a piano and some string instruments, Sharon really has a chance to shine here, showing off her awesome voice. You can really hear the emotion in her voice as she ponders whether it's the last farewell between her and a loved one. A beautiful song, this knocks spots off of Evanescence's "My Immortal", and only up until the end of the song do the guitars kick in.
"Caged" starts off with wind instruments, a flute perhaps, before the drums introduce the entire band, as Sharon sings with despair, scorned by a deceitful loved one, she bitterly and venomously sings out the chorus. The sense of loneliness and rejection is projected nicely in this song, a song for anyone whom has ever been betrayed. Later in the song she looks back regretfully as she knows that the relationship entailed in this song has had its repercussions on her, and how hard it is to trust someone new.
With a slow intro, "The Promise" is one of the longest song on the album, and takes a time to get going. When it finally does it rocks along nicely, before quietening down to put full focus on Sharon as she sings about a lost loved one. One of the more epic songs on the disc, it tells a tale which is easily followed as Sharon pours out her heart and soul.
"Never-Ending Story" is the first song on the album so far not to use guitars, but it isn't the last. A definite "lighter in the air, arms swaying" sing-along song it uses nothing more than a piano with some gentle drumming in the background and brief involvement of the choir, it is a majestic song.
The choir is used once again to open up next song, "Deceiver Of Fools". Telling a tale of a dark being who rules people ruthlessly. This song uses the orchestra beautifully, and never gets tiring. A emensely enjoyable song, this is the longest song on the album.
With "Intro", it serve no real purpose on the disc other than to be a pre-lude to "Dark Wings". The latter song is currently my favorite on the album. Starting off strongly with the choir, drums, and some great catchy hooks and riffs, Sharon really shines in this song, the heaviest on the album. I fell madly in love with this song as it so just easily commercially appealing it's a crime that Within Temptation are not a big band outside of Europe.
"In Perfect Harmony" much like "Never-Ending Story" uses no guitars what so ever. Plodding along almost mischeivously, it is about men living in peace with nature. Definitely not what you'd expect from a band who a few years earlier were doing "doom metal". A nice, gentle and relaxing song it also uses birds tweeting and nature calls.
Included on the album in bonus form are tracks "Restless", "Bittersweet", "Enter" and "The Dance".
"Restless" was included on their debut EP, but this is the "classical version" of the song, it is a great song. A nice touch to the album.
"Bittersweet" is a song that was included on one of the singles from this album as a b-side. It is one of the shortest songs on the disc as Sharon sings over a piano and the orchestra. A lovely song, it fully deserves its place on this album.
"Enter" and the "Dance" are tracks from their earlier EP's - going by the same names - and are performed live. This shows what the band once was in comparison to now.
I strongly recommend this album to fans of Evanescence, as WT are far superior to said band. Also this is for anyone who wants something that can rock hard, but is not stereotypical metal music.
For fans of the two live tracks, may I also recommend another Dutch band called Orphanage who play the same type of music WT used to, and have toured with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eternal metalhead, 14 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Mother Earth [With DVD] (Audio CD)
this cd arrived last week and i have been shocked by its brilliance sharon den adels vocals are incredible brought tears to my eyes the whole album is impossible not to like. female rock singers like this is the best thing thats happened to the genre for aeons bringing rock music to females in a big way at long last.Spine tinglingly epic one of the best albums ive heard in years.Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deciever of Fools, 1 Dec 2004
By 
J. Pols "geekilyexcited" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mother Earth (Audio CD)
Well I bought this album after hearing Within Temptation's cover of running up that hill earlier this year. I quickly brought the album and I quickly became addicted to the crystal, unique voice of singer Sharon Den Adel, and the bands passionate permorfamce and soothing yet strong rifts. They have an individual sound, which is fantastic and I'm sure that the album would win anyone over. Maybe listen to a song before ordering though... always helpful. Ice queen(track 2) is perhaps one of the catchiest songs, however my personal favorite has to Deciever of Fools(track 7).
I'd reccomend this album to just about anyone because its brilliant, however it would probably appeal most to those who like lacuna coil/nightwish/Sarah Brightman not to bundle all those bands/performers together, but I think Within temptation shares elements from all of them.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Within Temptation - Until The End Of Time - Mother Earth, 6 Nov 2007
This review is from: Mother Earth (Audio CD)
I first found out about Within Temptation when they joined Road Runner Records and after purchasing The Silent Force i thought id investigate some of the older albums. With the Silent Force it was a little heavier then this album which is ok cause this way it showed that they just kept evolving with the present day music BUT if you want to hear Within Temptation on a mellow-level lower and smoother then their current albums "The Silent Force" + "The Heart Of Everything" then it would be worth checking out how Within Temptation sounded a long time back. My favourite song on here would have to be Mother Earth cause it was soooo smoothing and relaxing for me and to almost here a story about mother nature through a song is a rare thing in music these days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album..., 24 Feb 2006
By 
M. Catchpole "dwomickey" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mother Earth (Audio CD)
I bought this album after I had bought 'The Silent Force' by Within Temptation. I also got WT's 'Silent Force Tour' DVD and that's what encouraged me to get the 'Mother Earth' album as there are songs from that album on the DVD.
Upon first listening to the CD, the title track 'Mother Earth' comes through with a catchy celtic start that boosts into guitar riffs and gets you banging your head in time with the beat. The song is a personal favourite of mine, not only for the great music, but for the lyrics as well.
'Ice Queen' comes next which is the song that gave Within Temptation a big boost in their native land. The first two songs are great openers for the album.
'Our Farewell' tones it down to a slower song and is alright to listen to, but personally I kind of switch off when it's on.
'Caged' is an amazingly good song and Sharon's vocals on it remind me of Kate Bush so much. The opening celtic sounds remind me of the music from Lord Of The Rings movies.
'The Promise' is probably the song that I'm not that interested in on the album. It's 8 minutes long and for me personally, it doesn't interest.
'Neverending Story' is a great song. Considering it's another slow song, the third of four on this album, it is actually better than the rest. It's melodic and once again the lyrics are excellent.
'Deceiver Of Fools' comes next and is a fantastic track. Probably the best track on the Mother Earth album for most people. It's rock at its best and Sharon's vocals go fantastically well on it. And although it's 7 minutes long, it doesn't get boring like 'The Promise'.
'Intro' leads into 'Dark Wings'. It is a bit strange having an intro so near the end of the album in my opinion, but the song 'Dark Wings' is another personal favourite of mine. It's very symphonic and orchestral while Sharon is singing but has instrumental rock sections throughout too.
The final song, 'Perfect Harmony' is the last slow song and comes second to 'Neverending Story' for being a good slow song.
Most of the songs on this album aren't about what normal songs are about. They're about nature and fantasy and Within Temptation have been pretty creative throughout the writing of this album. It may be a little slow in places, but for me, it's still a great album to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant album, 30 Mar 2006
This review is from: Mother Earth [With DVD] (Audio CD)
A really great mixture on this album, elements of goth, celtic and ballads. Brilliant music and Sharon den Adels voice is beautiful. The two live tracks on the CD come right from the early days of WT but show how good this band is right from the start. Personal favourites of mine, Ice Queen, Our Farewell and Deceiver of Fools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably More A 4.5/5, 25 Feb 2009
By 
BabyLamb (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mother Earth (Audio CD)
It is only in the last month or two I have begun to delve in the great depths of Symphonic Metal and, since Within Temptation are probably the most radio-friendly and well-known within the genre, I purchased this album first after listening to some samples in which I was captivated by the beauty and range of Sharon Den Adel's voice and the Celtic undertones throughout. I can honestly say that I do not regret my decision.
Firstly, the initial track, 'Mother Earth', is unbelievable. Here Sharon sings with such urgency and yet beauty climaxing in a chorus of a chilling whoosh of strings, a moment of perfection where your attention really is wholly drawn to the music, if it was not already done so after the Celtic-sounding intro, which suddenly crashes into a cacophony of orchestra and metal simultaneously. This is probably one of my favourite tracks I've heard for some time from anyone. Other highlights include the melancholic ballad 'Our Farewell' and, though it may sound slightly patronising to a grown man, it retains a sense of dignity. 'Deceiver Of Fools' is also a strong album track on the heavier side of things (heavier being a relative term for WT) featuring more fabulous vocal work, though this could be said for all of the songs. The live version of this is also strong despite the Dutch introduction.
There are plenty of other stand outs here but it would be tedious to list them. There are, however, a few downsides. Anyone expecting head banging metal but with a woman singing will be in for a surprise (not necessarily a bad one) and there is only one guitar solo played by Ayreon, which is actually very good. It is nice not to have egotistical noodling throughout every song (Iron Maiden!) and I think that is why this solo seems particularly good; anyway, it is wishful thinking to truly call this a metal album so be warned. As mentioned earlier, there are a few soppy moments which can be a bit saccharine. Finally, my biggest disappointment, is that the instrumentation is simplistic; the metal riffs are rather generic but the orchestration conceals this fact, or at least makes me not care.
Overall then, a very strong album but with some flaws that some people will find more off-putting than others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Euro metal, 30 May 2006
By 
L. KELLY (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mother Earth [With DVD] (Audio CD)
With vocals not as operatic as yer one from Nightwish, I find Within Temptation more palatable. All in all a fine album, the bonus DVD is nice. A couple of the album tracks are a bit twee, particularly Never Ending Story. On the other hand Mother Earth, Ice Queen, The Promise, Our Farewell are all cracking tunes. If you don't mind metal with pop sensibilities check them out

Check out the following album The Silent Force, I think it's better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mother Earth
Mother Earth by Within Temptation (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews