Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2002
This remastered version of Peter Gabriel's 'Best of' collection is simply outstanding in its clarity of sound. Older tracks like 'Solsbury Hill' and 'Games Without Frontiers' are so crystal clear in how you hear them, it sounds as though they've only just been recorded yesterday. When you listen to this collection, you'll find that there is much more clarity in the listening quality - particularly at the bass end of tracks.
Its incredible to listen to the classic hits 'Sledgehammer' and 'Shock The Monkey' with the volume cranked up as loud as possible with that extra kick added to the sound thanks to the very latest digital remastering technology right behind them.
An absolute MUST for any Peter Gabriel fan, no matter how big or small.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2004
For those of us who remember Peter Gabriel's solo career all the way back to "Solsbury Hill," this album is an excellent compilation of his work with one glaring exception: "In Your Eyes" is not here, and for those of us who consider this his best song our consolation is that we already own "So" (or the score from "Say Anything"). One of the things I most appreciate about this collection is that the songs are not simply arranged chronologically; there is an attempt to mix and match the songs to form a cohesive album. Certainly you do not want to hear another song after the haunting last track "Biko."
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 1999
A good retrospective of Gabrile's work , although Rhythm of The Heat is conspicuous by its absence. Also falls in the the typical best of trap by included an "unavailable" track in the excellent title track "Shakin' the Tree". An excellent introduction.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
This is a decent overview of Peter Gabriel's early solo career (1977-1990) although, as is often the case with compilations, one can quibble with several of the selections - for instance, I would have chosen the powerful 'Intruder' from Gabriel 3 rather than 'I Don't Remember' whilst I agree with other reviewers that the original version of 'Here Comes The Flood' is far superior to the version served up here. Generally though, this is a very well-conceived album and it is great to hear the likes of 'Solsbury Hill', the marvellous 'Family Snapshot', 'Red Rain', 'Sledgehammer' and the gorgeous 'Don't Give Up' on 1 disc which offers comfortably more than 60 minutes entertainment. This is a solid introduction to what were arguably Peter Gabriel's 'glory years' and is definitely worth investing in if you haven't heard this material before.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2005
this compilation is a classic must have, but this refer's to the normal audio cd. this sacd is not worth paying extra for, as there is no remixing to 5.1 as one would have thaught.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2002
I purchased this CD 2 days ago as iv had this before on tape and decided id get the CD, Im so glad that I did all the songs I remember and probably you will to, My husband asked me 'why' I wanted this album as he couldnt really remember more to Peter Gabriel then 'Sledgehammer' and early Genesis, As soon as it played he knew 'why' and he remembered all the tracks he had forgotton Peter Gabriel sang. The CD is now in his car as one of the great driving music albums, if you are unsure of buying this album then I can reasure you that it wont be a mistake if you do. There is not a poor track on the album and each track has its own mark of Peter Gabriel, the ballard he sings with Kate Bush can be heard on many a programme as a sign of enccouragement, We all have our favourite classic albums such as Sting with 'fields od gold' well this is Peter Gabriels and its a great addition to any CD collection. Im not saying you will play this everyday, every now and then it will collect a little dust amoungst your collection, but then it will catch your eye and be re-born through your speakers for a few months then it will be allowed to sleap again for awhile like all great classics.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When Peter left Genesis in 1975 (his role as lead singer being taken over by their drummer, Phil Collins), critics predicted the end of Genesis. They were wrong, as Genesis thrived while Peter took some time to establish himself as a solo artist. He eventually did so, as this compilation of his solo music up to 1990 proves.
Games without frontiers and Sledgehammer both peaked at number four in the UK, with Sledgehammer going all the way to number one in America. An outstanding duet with Kate Bush, Don't give up, also made the UK top ten - it was later covered by Willie Nelson and Sinead O'Connor - their duet can be found on Willie's album, Across the borderline.
Some of Peter's less successful hits are particularly noteworthy. Solsbury hill (a top twenty UK hit) is based loosely on the story of his split from Genesis. Biko (only a minor UK hit) is about Steve Biko, the murdered South African activist. It may not have made much impact on the UK singles chart but it became an anti-racist anthem. Peter's interest in world music led him to record Shaking the tree, a duet with Youssou N'Dour, a renowned Senegalese singer.
There are many other excellent songs here. A more recent double CD, hits, includes some of his later hits, but this is a great compilation in its own right.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2002
I'm a big PG fan, so I bought this new edition just for the remastering--which was well worth it! They clearly took great care in bringing the best out of all the songs. It's particularly great to hear some of the older material sound so fresh, full and clean. The only thing that disappointed me was that the songs that were slightly cut for the original release (Mercy Street and Zaar) are still cut for this new edition. No big deal. Most people probably wouldn't notice. I probably shouldn't either, but I can't help it. I can't wait for the rest of 'em to come out!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
An excellent compilation, but loses a star for replacing the excellent original of Here Comes The Flood with what I can only describe as an arty-farty version of it. Why?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
I bought this album in the early eighties and its still one of my favourites. I never get tired of it. Every track on this album is unique, clever and brilliantly sung.

He has a voice that just captures your attention and makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on edge. For me it offered escapism from the really bad eighties bands.

And now 30 years later I am still playing it regularly which only goes to show how its stood the test of time.

Simply Brilliant!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.74
£7.50
£4.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)