Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Peter Gabriel...But never like you've heard him before
This remastered version of Peter Gabriel's 'Best of' collection is simply outstanding in its clarity of sound. Older tracks like 'Solsbury Hill' and 'Games Without Frontiers' are so crystal clear in how you hear them, it sounds as though they've only just been recorded yesterday. When you listen to this collection, you'll find that there is much more clarity in the...
Published on 25 Feb 2002

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tape
Tape found of Peter Gabriel So, decided to replace on CD and the Shaking The Tree cause had a lot of good tracks
Published 5 months ago by Lisa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Peter Gabriel...But never like you've heard him before, 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This remastered version of Peter Gabriel's 'Best of' collection is simply outstanding in its clarity of sound. Older tracks like 'Solsbury Hill' and 'Games Without Frontiers' are so crystal clear in how you hear them, it sounds as though they've only just been recorded yesterday. When you listen to this collection, you'll find that there is much more clarity in the listening quality - particularly at the bass end of tracks.
Its incredible to listen to the classic hits 'Sledgehammer' and 'Shock The Monkey' with the volume cranked up as loud as possible with that extra kick added to the sound thanks to the very latest digital remastering technology right behind them.
An absolute MUST for any Peter Gabriel fan, no matter how big or small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixteen of Peter Gabriels's Seventeen Golden Greats, 24 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shaking The Tree (Audio CD)
For those of us who remember Peter Gabriel's solo career all the way back to "Solsbury Hill," this album is an excellent compilation of his work with one glaring exception: "In Your Eyes" is not here, and for those of us who consider this his best song our consolation is that we already own "So" (or the score from "Say Anything"). One of the things I most appreciate about this collection is that the songs are not simply arranged chronologically; there is an attempt to mix and match the songs to form a cohesive album. Certainly you do not want to hear another song after the haunting last track "Biko."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent , but rips off fans with the one new track, 8 Dec 1999
By 
A good retrospective of Gabrile's work , although Rhythm of The Heat is conspicuous by its absence. Also falls in the the typical best of trap by included an "unavailable" track in the excellent title track "Shakin' the Tree". An excellent introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where's the 5.1, 17 May 2005
By 
This review is from: Shaking The Tree (Audio CD)
this compilation is a classic must have, but this refer's to the normal audio cd. this sacd is not worth paying extra for, as there is no remixing to 5.1 as one would have thaught.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great driving music an album that is timeless., 27 Feb 2002
By A Customer
I purchased this CD 2 days ago as iv had this before on tape and decided id get the CD, Im so glad that I did all the songs I remember and probably you will to, My husband asked me 'why' I wanted this album as he couldnt really remember more to Peter Gabriel then 'Sledgehammer' and early Genesis, As soon as it played he knew 'why' and he remembered all the tracks he had forgotton Peter Gabriel sang. The CD is now in his car as one of the great driving music albums, if you are unsure of buying this album then I can reasure you that it wont be a mistake if you do. There is not a poor track on the album and each track has its own mark of Peter Gabriel, the ballard he sings with Kate Bush can be heard on many a programme as a sign of enccouragement, We all have our favourite classic albums such as Sting with 'fields od gold' well this is Peter Gabriels and its a great addition to any CD collection. Im not saying you will play this everyday, every now and then it will collect a little dust amoungst your collection, but then it will catch your eye and be re-born through your speakers for a few months then it will be allowed to sleap again for awhile like all great classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've got all his albums but this is a great collection to rock with in the car. Saw his gig on TV last week. Still as good as ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHAKING THE TREE, 29 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is what it says on the cover. 16 tracks recorded by Peter Gabriel which are all classics. Especially Red rain, Don't give up, Here comes the flood and of course Salisbury Hill The unique talent of Peter Gabriel is fully represented in this collection. It is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best remastering I've heard yet, 14 Mar 2002
By 
I'm a big PG fan, so I bought this new edition just for the remastering--which was well worth it! They clearly took great care in bringing the best out of all the songs. It's particularly great to hear some of the older material sound so fresh, full and clean. The only thing that disappointed me was that the songs that were slightly cut for the original release (Mercy Street and Zaar) are still cut for this new edition. No big deal. Most people probably wouldn't notice. I probably shouldn't either, but I can't help it. I can't wait for the rest of 'em to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eighties rock from ex-Genesis singer, 24 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
When Peter left Genesis in 1975 (his role as lead singer being taken over by their drummer, Phil Collins), critics predicted the end of Genesis. They were wrong, as Genesis thrived while Peter took some time to establish himself as a solo artist. He eventually did so, as this compilation of his solo music up to 1990 proves.
Games without frontiers and Sledgehammer both peaked at number four in the UK, with Sledgehammer going all the way to number one in America. An outstanding duet with Kate Bush, Don't give up, also made the UK top ten - it was later covered by Willie Nelson and Sinead O'Connor - their duet can be found on Willie's album, Across the borderline.
Some of Peter's less successful hits are particularly noteworthy. Solsbury hill (a top twenty UK hit) is based loosely on the story of his split from Genesis. Biko (only a minor UK hit) is about Steve Biko, the murdered South African activist. It may not have made much impact on the UK singles chart but it became an anti-racist anthem. Peter's interest in world music led him to record Shaking the tree, a duet with Youssou N'Dour, a renowned Senegalese singer.
There are many other excellent songs here. A more recent double CD, hits, includes some of his later hits, but this is a great compilation in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this album lost it when Car was stolen a few years ago, so glad to have it back great tracks from a great artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaed8fb28)

This product

Shaking The Tree
Shaking The Tree by Peter Gabriel (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews