Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhythm and passion
This is quite simply Peter Gabriel's masterpiece. It encapsulates all that is magical about his music; his love of rhythm, his ear for melody, his love of all musical forms, especially those of Africa. The music is eery and passionate, quiet and immense, bold and beautiful. No home is complete without a copy of this work; I bought it on vinyl in 1989 and then again on...
Published on 27 Oct. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent listen
Didn't buy this for myself but got it for my Mum's Christmas. I have heard it and although not my thing, it is undoubtably well produced with some atmospheric tracks.
Published on 19 Jan. 2013 by Caleyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhythm and passion, 27 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This is quite simply Peter Gabriel's masterpiece. It encapsulates all that is magical about his music; his love of rhythm, his ear for melody, his love of all musical forms, especially those of Africa. The music is eery and passionate, quiet and immense, bold and beautiful. No home is complete without a copy of this work; I bought it on vinyl in 1989 and then again on CD a few years later. It still moves me when i hear it today like it did 14 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabriel and Realworld's intense ambient start., 23 Sept. 2006
By 
D. Broad "danbroad" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Distilling Eastern music for European ears. Peter Gabriel is a pioneer in the field of electronic and avant-garde music; here he created a masterpiece which helped to launch both his Realworld label, and became an essential album for many an 'ambient/electronic/world/eclectic' listener.

Sound-checked by both white label and established electronic artists [I can think of the Future Sound Of London offhand], this melds alternate-scale vocals [of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Youssou N'Dour among others] with his beloved [Nord] synths, awesome percussion [listen to the low-pass filters ending 'A Different Drum' without the hairs on the neck standing on end, I dare you] and abstract samples. A similar approach can be found on Damon Albarn's wonderful collection 'Mali Music'.

My personal favourite is the delicate melody of 'Of These, Hope', but this whole album flows as a journey, and easily surpasses any description of "soundtrack". I still haven't seen the film, and I won't; I luckily got to this first, and I don't intend to spoil things.

If you don't enjoy the cinematic intensity, the superb layered arrangements, the cross-cultural references, and the sheer musical talents on offer here, then I would suggest you need to listen once more with the lights down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moody, exciting, compellingly different., 27 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
So unexpected from a rock artist. Gabriel has surpassed himself. The music carries a theme throughout the album, yet each track has its own individuality, even though they often run into the next one without a break. Such a smooth understated beginning to Track 1, but wow, how it continues! A promise of the fantastic musical experience to follow. The driving rhythms, the off beat 'vocals', the sudden change of tempo; so easy to imagine the Holy Land and visualise of the story of Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking, 22 May 2009
By 
Steven Fouch "fouch26" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I fell in love with this album when it first came out - and even today, two decades later it is still fresh, surprisingly original, and an essential part of my music collection. And there are not many instrumental film soundtrack albums about which I can say that.

And two decades on, this has also been a hugely influential album. Marrying the music of North Africa (Egypt in particular), India and the Caucuses (the Armenian douduk features hauntingly on several tracks, along with the equally expressive Turkish ney flute playing of Kudsi Erguner) with modern technology, Gabriel created a sound scape and musical texture that has been much imitated ever since. Listen to the soundtracks of many modern films and TV shows and you will hear echoes of this soundtrack.

At times quiet and moody, at others passionate and almost transcendent, this is an album of contrasting colours and textures. It can also provoke a strong emotional response - the first time my wife heard "It is Finished", where a North African ululation moves to a peel of church bells and guitars she was moved to tears - the power and drama of that track is immediate. "Zaar" is a long, animated exploration of an ancient middle eastern city - bustling, dusty, noisy. Each peace strongly evokes a sense of event, place or mood.

A remarkable piece - Gabriel's masterpiece with no shadow of a doubt. If I could give it six stars, I would!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars his second best album, 29 Oct. 2012
In my opinion this is PG's best album apart from PG4. Gabriel steps back from the commercialism of 'So'.
It is a purely instrumental album, and provides the music for Martin Scorcese's film 'The Last Temptation of Christ.' As with PG4, it combines world music with Western electronic music. The album features the Armenian instrument the duduk, which has been featured on the score of most epic films ever since. eg Gladiator. Come to think of it 'Passion' has been a heavy influence on the scores of nearly all epic films over the last 20 years (most especially John Debney's music for Mel Gibson's 'The Passion of the Christ'). Don't the composers have any ideas of their own?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .....the begining of the 'end.', 2 Jan. 2006
By 
Andy Ward (London, England) - See all my reviews
Over 12yrs ago, on hearing the Last Temptations of Christ; I subsequently felt compelled to review my appreciation of all that musically stirred and focused me. If you want to be moved emotionally and spiritually, this is an offering truly worthy of it’s title; Passion.
I have followed Gabriel’s music since his first solo album, and have my own varying levels of appreciation of his works. I am not some eerie or obsessive Gabriel fan who felt it most fitting that their musical ‘icon’ should have been invited to score the controversial Scorsese film. However, if another definition of baptism could be borrowed at this time, then I was truly immersed in a similar fashion when I first heard this passion-led soundtrack.
This really is a remarkable demonstration of spirit, performance & cultural diversity.
For me, without a shadow of a doubt, this album surpasses any collection of sounds ever attributed to Peter Gabriel. It would have been inconceivable that Gabriel could have bettered this work. As expected, his subsequent offerings although good in parts, are but poor relations that seem to scavenge on the inspired bones of Passion.
This album feels bigger than the emotions it so tirelessly haunts to visualise……..it’s even bigger than the composers themselves. My only frustration is in the albums ultimate credit. This is the work not of one man, but of a gathering of geniuses in the ultimate pursuit of excellence……of which they achieve with absolute divinity. The Feeling certainly begins…..and for me has remained commanding to this day. Congratulations to all those who contributed and to Peter Gabriel for making it happen. It is accomplished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful combination of eclectic rhythm and sound, 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
I thoroughly enjoyed this music the first time I heard it, it was performed with modern dance. The combination of the images and the music left me with an overwhelming feeling of wanting to touch the music. The interplay and tension of the harmony with the beats and Middle Eastern themes is lovely. Do listen to the little snippets and see what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electronics and Jesus - quite a combination, 24 Jun. 2009
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The name of Peter Gabriel probably isn't that high up on most people's lists of innovators in electronic music (it certainly wasn't on mine until hearing this), yet on "Passion" that's exactly what he is.

It's absolutely no exaggeration to say that this is on a par with Brian Eno's best work (and sound-wise there are some similarities too, although Gabriel's less of a minimalist). "Passion" is in parts also reminiscent of Michael Mann's collaborations with Tangerine Dream. Some of Richard H. Kirk's madder, eastern-styled work also springs to mind at certain points, as does a certain Richard D. James (check "Gethsemane").

Yes, it is THAT good. It's genius in fact: although this soundtrack fits perfectly with the film from which it is taken (The Last Temptation of Christ [DVD]) it doesn't dominate it. Even if you've never seen the film, it works as an album in its own right. Plus, this is a model example of how to incorporate so-called "world music" in a way that is truly innovative without ramming it down people's throats á la Paul Simon.

One small complaint though - a lot of the more mentalist world music stuff from the film itself isn't on here, although those tracks do appear on a separate various artists CD called Passion: Sources. Should've made it a double CD in my opinion. Fans of the film may want to buy both titles to avoid disappointment.

A five star rating nevertheless since not only is this a superlative film soundtrack, it's also a benchmark ambient electronic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gota Passion for Gabriel now, 26 Nov. 2003
After the success of 'so' it would had been obvious that gabriel was going to go for a commercial success, but he defied everything by going for a soundtrack album. alltho soundtracks sell like anything, proper soundracks(score music) hardly sells. but with this, gabriel strikes platinum with his best contempery album. as the film was set in the holy land, Gabriel uses the instruments of that country very well, he blends it with that of synths, keyboards and drum machines. and in the moments where his voice begins to take a role, it inlightens thats of the haunting serenity. he took his voice as another instrument not a lyrical means of support. on the track 'A Different Drum' his vocals are imence, he creats a totaly differnt Genre.
This album at this price is a total Bargain, i would advise any one who is a fan of 'Chill-Out' or 'Soundtrack Music' to Buy it.
Rob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 2 May 2013
By 
S. Morgan "S J MORGAN" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enchanted, wonderful peace of music, very relaxing, the meaning of Christ wonderful, excellent xxxxxxxxxx lovely amen amen amen amen
x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passion
Passion by Peter Gabriel (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews