Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do people hate this film?
I honestly don't understand what all the fuss is about. Why do people hate Waterworld? Why was it instantly disregarded before it was even released? When you really think about it, how much different IS Waterworld from the more recent Pirates of the Caribbean movies? They are quite similar if you think about it. Waterworld also cost $75 million less than the average PotC...
Published on 2 Feb 2007 by Inspector Gadget

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kev, but not at his best!
As a Kevin Costner fan, I have seen this movie several times, but it is not him at his best! The film's genre is completely against it, not that it worried me because Kevin has a tendency to make little gems that most critics slate or ignore (take 'Tin Cup' for instance). But it's review as being Mad Max on water is pretty correct. There are nice touches here and...
Published on 8 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gills or no Gills surviving is hard, 19 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
One more film, you may say, about the end of the world when the icecap is melted. You might be wrong. Apart from the fact that some mutations will appear and be selected, like gills, most human beings will die and the world will at once be divided into the good ones and the bad ones. The bad ones will be some kind of conquerors who will loot, raid and kill in order to find the way to dry land, and survive during that time. They are called the smokers because they smoke, and don't ask where they have such reserves of brand name cigarettes. The good ones are not much better. They organize a highly selective and segregative life in some artificial "islands" in the middle of this watery nowhere. They will refuse the mutants of course and recycle them, they will organize their self defense, but they will practice survival economy: everything has a price and shortages make these prices go up. The mutant is the main hero then because he is autonomous by being able to breathe under water. Yet he is also the one who has some morals, ethics and it is to save a girl that he will get out of his way and in tremendous dangers after he escapes by pure luck from the death the good ones had planned for him, because of the self survival interest of a woman with whom that girl is, to destroy the smokers and follow his nose to dry land where he will deliver the few humans with whom he has been travelling at the end of his journey, but he will move on back on the sea because that is his fate. The film is highly simple as for this division of the world in two after the big catastrophe. The rest is nothing but survival. Yet on one side there is no ethics and on the other side there might be some, they might be slightly more human than the beasts they look like. It is then a going home film, and yet home is not the same for everyone and we should think about that, even in an extreme situation.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Paris 8 Saint Denis, University Paris 12 Créteil, CEGID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mad Max on water, 14 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Waterworld [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
This film was slated by the critics but its one of my favourites. I love this film for its blue ocean shots and for the mariners incredible yacht. The mad-max style scenes keep the film moving and are spectacular. All that said this film does looses something on the small screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Film!, 13 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This has always been one of my favourite films, I cannot understand all these people who say it's rubbish. Kevin Costner is great, and the whole film is very well acted.
The only thing I will say is that I'm sure there was a longer 'extended' version of the film that was shown on TV. I never saw this longer version, but if it did exist, where the hell is it now? This DVD is the original length movie, which is great.
Anyway all in all a fantastic film the whole family should enjoy (maybe caution should be taken for very young children).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MULLET AHOY!, 22 Nov 2007
By 
J. Pogmore ""trash hound"" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
To quote Jim Carrey in Cable Guy " I don't know what all the fuss was about, I thought that movie rocked, it ruled!". He's not far wrong even if he was a head-case, sure people complained about the scientific liklihood and blah blah. Honestly, who gives a damn ? Kevin Costner fights pirates on jet-ski's in a post-apocalyptic future, it's a cinch that this isn't a Ken Loach film. As such, the stunts effects and set-pieces all are top notch. Downside is that Costner has little in the way of charisma in the lead role, he has a haggard look about him, a bitter disposition and, appropriately maybe for a fish-man, a mullet hairstlye which made me feel ill. Quite ill.. In fact it should lose a point just for that. No that's cruel- i'll stick with it. Seriously , it's better than you've been led to believe. Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A damn good film, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
After rewatching this grossly underated film on dvd for the first time I have to say that it still is one of the best disaster type films that I have ever seen.The money was well spent on such brilliantly eccentric boats and the atoll itself,as for the Disney like airship!, well,some poetic licence is thoroughly acceptable and adds so much to the pure magic of the story.Its a love story with great integrity and some delightfully charming moments,the young girls comments when the Mariner appears on the deck of the tanker being one of those moments!.Kevin Costner is a great actor with much humanity and as such is very credible in my opinion,he also puts his money where his mouth is,for that and many other reasons I think Waterworld should be regarded as a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars water water, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
always like kevin Costner films including this one. really enjoyed the postman as well they should get new critics to look at these films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for film, zero stars for disc., 7 Mar 2014
By 
D. E. Gates "BD" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blu-Ray has only the trailer as an extra - severely disappointed as expected it to be the full uncut version and to feature a load of extra features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not an absolute classic - but did not deserve the critical panning it got!!, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Steve.J (Glos. UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
We have been watching some older Kevin Costner movies again, as I have to admit that my wife and I do like him as an actor and decided to pull this one off the shelf and stick it in the player for easy entertainment for the evening.

As a post apocalyptic story this is actually pretty good, with almost all of the worlds land masses covered by water and people forced to live on boats and constructed islands, all the while searching for the almost mythical `Dry Land' and competing with each other for dwindling resources.
Costner plays the mysterious `Mariner' sailing the oceans and occasionally coming into contact with other people - which is where all the trouble starts!!
Dennis Hopper is wonderfully over the top as the deranged villain `The Deacon', apparently in control of the last oil supplies.
Jeanne Tripplehorn is good value for money as the guardian of a child who holds the secret to `Dry Land'.

I suspect that the critics were dismayed by having to sit through a film of 2+ hours, when they only have an attention span of 89 minutes, bless them, or perhaps Costner had managed to upset them somehow at the time of release!!

I for one like to have a story developed properly and Costner has never been frightened of producing longer films to explore a story and produce a more in depth story. The special effects are pretty good, even if the story does stretch the limits of belief occasionally, but isn't that what we expect from these kinds of film anyway?

Overall, this is damn good escapist entertainment with great direction and photography and I will be keeping it in my collection to watch again, it is great viewing for a couple of hours, with some of the supporting actors providing some great cameo snippets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 18 Jan 2014
By 
S. Silk "Crissyman" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterworld [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is a great film...a classic. Kevin Costner is, as always, a legend of an actor. The only problem i have with this purchase is the fact the writing on the DVD case is all in a foreign language (possibly Spanish). when i buy a DVD from a UK website, despatching from and delivering to the UK, i expect a fully
English DVD. It doesn't advertise any kind of foreign language and it has lost it two stars as a result. It's as if the DVD has been shipped from a conspicuous source. Not too impressed by that. Otheriwse it is a fantastic film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever seen paper..., 15 Jan 2014
Earth is engulfed with water when the polar ice caps melts, leaving the lands and civilisation beneath the sea.

Drifters sail across the waters, trading for supplies and salvaging what is left of civilisation, survivors live in squalor and pirates called "Smokers" travel across Waterworld in search of a mythical "Dryland".

A mysterious drifter called The Mariner is sentenced to death when the community discover he is a mutant.

When they are attacked by Smokers led by Deacon, a woman named Helen and her adopted daughter Enola bribe The Mariner to take them to Dryland, believing The Mariner has been there.

But the Mariner, Helen and Enola are pursued by Deacon and the Smokers, when The Mariner learns the tattoo on Enola's back is a map that will lead them to Dryland...

It's a shame that the controversy of the film outweighs the actual content, because to be fair, it's still a good adventure movie, and given that 1995 had a really poor summer blockbuster output, this was one of the better ones.

Costner is as good as always as the loner who doesn't say much, and you can tell where the budget went when you watch the film, its beautiful.

It's a little too long, and some of the incidental characters needn't had been included, but we have a great villain thanks to Hopper, and its hilarious to see how many scenes have Costners head to begin with, and then pulling back to see him doing a stunt as if to say 'look! I'm doing this myself!'.

The rest of the cast are fine, and the last twenty minutes are brilliant, putting good use to the Exxon Valdez.

Forget all the plot holes (cigarettes are really still around), and the fact that Costner is a scapegoat, you will enjoy this for what it is.

Pure Sunday afternoon popcorn fodder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waterworld [DVD] [1995]
Waterworld [DVD] [1995] by Kevin Reynolds (DVD - 2011)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews