Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British Music Press = Disgrace, 11 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Yes Please (Audio CD)
When this album came out the Music press already had their knives sharpened. The story being Bez making a misguided homophobic quote in an interview that infuriated a media that had it's fill of the laddish/lout baggy scene. Bez in his wisdom gave them what they were waiting for to ultimately destroy one of the most iconic bands of a generation. They started pouring scorn on Sean's addiction problems when previously they celebrated it. The music is sublime, easily the most acclompished work in the Bands career. Tina Weymouth and Chris Frantz produced it for fooks sake. I keep the review brief. Compare this to Bummed and tell me this is not superior by an ocean. Yes Sean was in a bad way and the lyrics are a bit messy but that is the beauty of it. It shows an honesty and realism of where Sean was at in that chapter of his life. The press knew Sean had addiction problems all his life but chose to crucify him when they were looking to create a new scene. The King is dead long live the King. He had the last laugh anyway by making one of the comebacks of the century with magnificent Black Grape. He is now relatively healthy, happily married and came across really well in the recent celebrity get me out of here show. How he is still alive is purely by the grace of God. Buy the album, re evaluate and have it sitting proudly in your cd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funkadelia with the Mondays!, 20 May 2000
This review is from: Yes Please (Audio CD)
I really can't understand what all the reviews on Amazon.com and others are talking about. I was initially reluctant to buy the album after it was given poor reviews everywhere but I took a chance and it's great! Following Pills 'N' Thrills was always gonna be impossible but this was a damn good effort - the Mondays classic sound and beat embellished with the full on backing singing of the brilliant Rowetta and a percussion onslaught throughout the album. Some songs are weak on melody admittedly, but where Shaun Ryder fails, Rowetta usually picks up the pieces. Standout tracks are the funky Theme From Netto, the summery Sunshine and Love, Cut 'Em Loose Bruce and the wicked closer Cowboy Dave. I would thoroughly recommend this album - especially as a feelgood prelude to the summer - the album reflects the location where it was recorded - Barbados. What a shame the original band aren't together still.
Happy Mondays Rave on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal summer tune car space blast off album., 3 July 2002
This review is from: Yes Please (Audio CD)
Mixed by the Tom Tom Club (a couple of ex-Talking Heads members) and produced in Barbados, this album was released to a barrage of criticism, which was unjust in my opinion.
Being one of the few people who has owned since release and listened to this album thoroughly, I feel I am better placed to assess it than the music press which panned it at the time.
Basically, if you like other Happy Mondays work, then I can think of no reason why you should not also find something worthy in this album. It still has all the 90's housey housey dance qualities accompanied by Ryder's quirky lyrics and postmodern 'use of other people's stuff'.
However, it also has a theme of subtle syncopation and changing rhythmic attitude running throughout. From the laid back Stinkin' Thinkin', to the staccatto tension of Cowboy Dave and the happy bouncy House of Sunshine and Love. I suppose recording in the Carribean influenced their mindset slightly too, so we see use of a chat man on Cut 'Em Loose Bruce, reminiscent of Ryder's later outing with Black Grape.
Overall, if you ignore this album it is your loss. But you'll be running away from classic Ryder lyrics, such as Total Ringo's "I can't stand the thought of her dropping another" (not a reference to drugs, but children!), and Sunshine and Love's opening line "If I'm being sneaky, then somethings just freaked me..."
It may be eclectic at times, but if this is just the random result of a load of dirty, grown-up street urchins from Salford then there must be a god.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After pill n thrills, 14 July 2007
By 
A. M. Salmon "Andy - Flash*" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yes Please (Audio CD)
I know there was those who didn't like this album - but i have to say i did! yeh it's a bit of a departure and they did record it abroad, sold all the studio furniture to buy more drugs (Ryder - you're as 'mad as badgers' but we love ya for it)! But if you really listen - it still says MONDAYS! Also dustman is one of the best tracks they've done - it really flows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How many fools do you get in the schools of an English county classroom?, 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: Yes Please (Audio CD)
I have never heard such claptrap talked about what is a real worthy addition to the Shaun Ryder cannon. The lyrics are sharp, some of the playing is very good and the vibe is everything you want from valued artists creating something different. From what could just have been a lazy PT&B retread through lack of courage. Yes, they wanted Oakenfold and he was unavailable to steer the ship and Frantz/Weymouth was a gamble. But this for me adds to the legacy of one of THE great bands in UK history. It makes this LP still talked about along with the demise of Factory and will provide endless debate. How do you make a bulldog think? I will back this to the hilt. I still enjoy playing it through now. It flows very nicely and I do not think there is one weak track. A real summer sounding record due to the Barbados blowout. Personally, I like playing it in winter to subvert it even further. It was certainly enjoyed by the fans and is still a favourite with them, not London based hatchet scribes with clear agendas. It was the opportunity to put the boot into a scene that was very working class and not for chin strokers. And chin strokers generally are always on the look out for the next chin stroke.If you prefer 1 real experience to 30 plastic ones- you will get it. The Happy Mondays provided the soundtrack to the times cleverer than other band in the early 90s. And YP is part of that snapshot for the last days of the UK before every move you make is monitored and that is something to celebrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shaun ring the prime minister!, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Yes Please (Audio CD)
Exceptional C.D. by the Mondays...so catch the hidden track at the end..Shaun tries to call 'The Pope'-The President of the U.S.A.just for a chat-The U.K. Prime Minister at the time 1992..John Major..and Lastley .'Buckingham Palace' to speak with 'The Queen' great C.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's just pure art room, 26 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes Please (Audio CD)
When I first heard this at the original release I wasnt that impressed: apart from stinking thinking,nothing else realy jumped out as classic Mondays. But listening back again , I have come to love this Lp. The songs have really gotten under my skin, Rhyder's lyrics,as usual,are fantastic. I think the production By Tom Tom Club is ok, but at the time I was disapointed that it sounded too tame ( still think so).Apart from this its a great underrated lp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good trip to Barbados, 25 Mar 2001
This review is from: Yes Please (Audio CD)
You have to forgive the mondays for anything they have ever done wrong - and up to now that is nothing. This album dissapoints because its not pills, thills n' bellyaches and there aren't enough guitar loops and hooks going on in true Mondays style. A departure indeed, but i'm giving 4 stars because Ryders lyrics are of their usual top quality and the Netto song is just a beauty - and any Mondays fan should have this in the collection just for sentimental reasons. There will never be another Mondays or anything close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes Please
Yes Please by Happy Mondays (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews