Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An early classic by the Kane brothers.
I'm not sure if this is their first release, or their second, but REMOTE is an early classic for Pat & Greg Kane. Hit singles "ORDINARY ANGEL" and "LOOKING FOR LINDA" are the first two tracks, kicking the album off in style. As is the norm with H&C, the album contains a wide variety of styles and speeds from ballads to funk tosoul, to jazz-inspired grooves, and this is no...
Published on 9 Sep 2010 by Richard Elliott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Original recording
I used to own this as an LP, but this is a remix and has lost a lot of the drive and punch I used to experience. Very disappointing.
Published 2 months ago by mac 1933


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An early classic by the Kane brothers., 9 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
I'm not sure if this is their first release, or their second, but REMOTE is an early classic for Pat & Greg Kane. Hit singles "ORDINARY ANGEL" and "LOOKING FOR LINDA" are the first two tracks, kicking the album off in style. As is the norm with H&C, the album contains a wide variety of styles and speeds from ballads to funk tosoul, to jazz-inspired grooves, and this is no exception. At times, I felt a definite 'Prince' vibe, at others 'James Brown'. Greg's superior musicianship is, as always, a perfect complement to Pat's powerhouse vocals, and the album has a solid set of songs that don't date, which is impressive for an LP forged in the ostentatious late 1980's. Pat's ever-inventive lyrics, which mention both technology and emotions in the same song, are present and perfect, and REMOTE remains a must-have for H&C fans old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
Great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Original recording, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
I used to own this as an LP, but this is a remix and has lost a lot of the drive and punch I used to experience. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds fab., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
Remember buying an album version of this when it came out at first, however my turntable had a "vinyl allergy" and the record was returned for a tape. Fast forward 25 years and this is still an amazing recording. Tight as tight can be horn sections, sharp vocals...and the memories. "Is this one for Paisley ?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Missed classic, 15 Nov 2013
By 
A. Powis (Bloxwich ,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
At the time I mainly purchased singles be it vinyl or cd and hue and cry suffered by this, its only lately that I brought the cd album and I have certainly missed this jem.it has a jazz/funk/blues feel with hits of say bands like level 42.there is no bad tracks on this and is enjoyable from start to finish, now available as a download, so I wont go into the tracks' you can just listen to the tasters of the tracks before you buy .I also recommended the cd singles from this album...
1;."Ordinary Angel" [hoedown mix] with the additional track "im spending you"
2;."Looking out for Linda" [slow train home mix] which includes "Under neon" [bright lights big city mix] and "he wont smile" Along with the 7" version of "ordinary angel". All add immensely to the album which have on my mp3 player.
.give your self a treat and try it. And if you enjoy it try "open soul" album as its similar in feel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memory lane, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Lynnshrieves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
Saw Hue and Cry at a local venue around 20 years ago following the purchase of this album on cassette. Safe to say I'm still a fan and this CD doesn't disappoint. Takes me back, back, back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
took a long time to find at a reasonable price but takes me back to great musical time. Love it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: Remote (Audio CD)
Genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remote
Remote by Hue & Cry (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews