Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia
i love this cd. it takes me back in time to when music was great and was actually worth listening to.
Published on 20 July 2012 by mazz

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the greatest hits collection instead
This re-issue of the boys best selling album is not worth it's money. All 4 original extended versions of the singles "harder i try, he ain't no competition, be my twin, can u keep a secret '89" prodused by SAW are not here. Instead we get alternative remixes which are not good at all.
If u want the best versions buy instead THE VERY BEST OF GREATEST HITS...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by V. K. Manglaveras


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the greatest hits collection instead, 22 Mar 2011
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Even (Audio CD)
This re-issue of the boys best selling album is not worth it's money. All 4 original extended versions of the singles "harder i try, he ain't no competition, be my twin, can u keep a secret '89" prodused by SAW are not here. Instead we get alternative remixes which are not good at all.
If u want the best versions buy instead THE VERY BEST OF GREATEST HITS COMPLILATION which have all the hits and original extended versions plus the hits from the boys second album called trust.
I Bought this re-issue just to hear the new extended remixes but i was DISAPPOINTED. U can buy this cd at your own risk. You have been warned...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Even (1988) (Audio CD)
i love this cd. it takes me back in time to when music was great and was actually worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An 'average' album., 4 Jun 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Get Even (1988) (Audio CD)
This is an unusual album - if only for the fact that the first two singles released from it were produced by the fabulous 'Stock, Aitken & Waterman' which would lead you to perhaps believe that the whole album would be produced by them - but it isn't, and from that point of view, a little disappointing... Many of the songs are from the boys themselves - and they're not bad, just a little different from what you might expect given the hit singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get even brother beyond, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Get Even (Audio CD)
Brill service would trade from again recieved item within a few days of ordering even though it was a busy period. Packaging was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is some confusion here it seems, 30 Jan 2012
By 
H. Watts (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Even (Audio CD)
People are complaining about this album missing key tracks. It is not.

Brother Beyond released 2 editions of the same album in the same year (at the time referred to Get Even I and Get Even II). What is here is the original 2nd edition release with a few bonus tracks thrown in.

Personlly I think they would have been better off re-releasing the CD has a 2 disc comprising of edition I and II. And I agree with others they should have included the 12" versions of the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Even (1988) (Audio CD)
Excellent thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An 'average' album., 4 Jun 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Get even (1988) [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is an unusual album - if only for the fact that the first two singles released from it were produced by the fabulous 'Stock, Aitken & Waterman' which would lead you to perhaps believe that the whole album would be produced by them - but it isn't, and from that point of view, a little disappointing... Many of the songs are from the boys themselves - and they're not bad, just a little different from what you might expect given the hit singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better!, 17 Jan 2011
By 
S. Jones "jmsnchls" (yorks uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Even (Audio CD)
The extra tracks on this release are terrible! Where is the 12" version of Chain Gang Smile? I have both 12 inch releases on vinyl and would have expected them on here. Cherry Pop seem to to excellent releases or mediocre ones. This one is mediocre at best in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brothers are not Beyond talent I'm glad to say, 4 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Even (1988) (Audio CD)
As a kid this was one of the 1st albums I got-as everyone was going on about them that year-it was even a few months before I got my 1st album by the best pop star in the world-Kim Wilde. My cassette barely hung on though I didn't play it for at least a decade, embarrassed as I was by a kid's tatse then-but I now know I got it generally right.

The dreaded stock/aitken/waterman puking machine (Simon Cowell for the 80s)helped them to fame with the weakest songs on here ironically-'The Harder I Try' and the other two aren't bad at all considering but they are still weak. Amazing that the much better 'Chain Gang Smile' and punchy 'How Many Times' couldn't chart properly, self-penned as they are. But there's evidence of maturity on show here-sublime soul ballad 'Restless' is the loveliest thing on the 1st half of the CD while the latter lot is stronger than wone would think. Jazzy 'King Of Blue', suave 'I Should Have Lied' and quirky 'Shipwrecked' all impress, and 'Act For Love' has intriguingly only one verse. Bonus track on this cd I'd never heard before was also pleasant-it closes the cd in quiet style. On my cassette there was a 6minute tune-generally an instrumental but with its title chanted at times throughout it, but that is not on the CD but as it wasn't a true song, I don't miss it, but it was a pleasant tune.

As the terminally useless Paula Abdul proved in the same year of 1988, you can appear with a very good debut (with strong studio, technical and musical support to screen your obvious shortcomings), these boys did the same-plus lead singer can sing better than her-not hard, who can't?, but his voice is poncy and embarrassing on the SAW cuts in places-but nothing like the Williams/Timberlake/Blur/Oasis and rap crap of today! It was probably for the good they disappeared swiftly after the 1st album, but with this they proved better than Bros and Wet Wet Wet combined and as for the Beastie Boys and New Twits On The Block, don't even get me tuned in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Even (1988)
Get Even (1988) by Brother Beyond (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews