Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Rock albums of all time
There are some rock albums that sell well because they're hyped up, there are some that sell well because they're good.
And unfortunately there are some that are brilliant that took a long time to get noticed. Love's "Forever Changes" is one example, Van Morrison's "Astral Weeks" is another album that didn't chart when it was released - and so was "Everyone is...
Published on 16 Dec. 2003 by Ian H. Robertson

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bought as a gift, sounded very dated.
Published 7 months ago by P. D. French

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
Love this CD had it on and still have it on cassette, music when music was music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
My first bjh album on vinyl back in the 70's. Stands the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
Great, apart from some repeated tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
P. D. French - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
bought as a gift, sounded very dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of their best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
A classic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
I`M HAPPY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good album, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
The album is often quoted as one of their best. It is a good album and certainly up their with a number of other albums, such as Gone to Earth, Octoberon, Time Honoured Ghosts and Once Again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'One of the best rock albums of all time'?? Get real!, 30 Oct. 2012
By 
Kevin O'Keefe (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
As a huge fan of seventies music (in particular) it's something of a mystery to me why I've not delved into BJH's oeuvre sooner. Perhaps it was because I was vaguely aware of their 'poor man's Moodies'/third-rate,70's also-rans' reputation (which seemed to be confirmed from a half-remembered tune about 'mocking birds'). Still, one way or another I found myself directed to this page and - buoyed by the largely extremely positive reviews here (to wit 'One of the Best Rock albums of all time' [sic])- I thought I'd take a chance and buy this, allegedly one of their best albums.

Oh dear. I'm sorry to say that it has exceeded my worst expectations. The songs are dreary, poorly-arranged with weak and insipid vocals. I had read that BJH did a nice line in grand and musically-epic atmospheres and yet there are only occasional hints on this album that suggest they have the musical and emotional range to pull that off. It is not irredeemably bad; there are fleeting moments that really are very nice indeed (tellingly when the vocals are 'thickened out' with the nice harmonies) but the trouble is these moments are few and far between. The whole enterprise has a very dated feel about it - yet not in a welcome 'timeless' or 'classic' way like many of their contemporaries seem to have managed. Even the album cover - admittedly never a foolproof guide to the quality of an album's content - looks slap dash and little better than a fan's Polaroid snap of the band, yet in this case seems entirely fitting.

Maybe the reason why this album is held in such high regard and with such affection by other reviewers is through a sense of nostalgia - perhaps even having seen and grown up with the band - and that is understandable. However, as one with no such associations I would advise anyone slightly curious to 'try before you buy' with this one as I would not want you to be left as disappointed as I was (you can find the album, and many of their others, on 'Spotify'). I only wish I'd taken my own advice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Is BJH, 12 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
By far the best album the band ever made, and the first real album they wrote music wise. Considering this band came out in 1968, I find it very hard to believe they did not write anything of any construction what so ever, until 1974. When they made Everyone Is Everybody Else. This album deserves all it's 5 stars here, because simply the album is solid and does not contain 1 bad track on it all. The album to follow this was Time Honoured Ghosts. And what does one expect having just wrote the best album, the band have ever produced. Well yes absoloutly nothing. Because the 1975 album Time Honoured Ghosts, is exactly nothing, nothing to say and nothing to write home about, totally useless and a waste of time going to a studio to record.

However in 1976 we do see another fine produced album. Namely Octoberon, and followed by another very good album Gone To Earth based upon the same feel and production. BJH have been around for years and made a discogrophy as long as many of peoples arms. But to me they have only ever made 3 albums which have any musical presentation in them at all. But 3 out of 20 odd aint bad. The band are great musicians, but out of their whole career, I have to say, not constant or dominant writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everyone Is Everybody Else
Everyone Is Everybody Else by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Gone To Earth
Gone To Earth by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 2003)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20)   

Time Honoured Ghosts
Time Honoured Ghosts by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 2003)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18)   

Child Of The Universe: The Essential Collection
Child Of The Universe: The Essential Collection by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 2013)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15)