Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Rock albums of all time
There are some rock albums that sell well because they're hyped up, there are some that sell well because they're good.
And unfortunately there are some that are brilliant that took a long time to get noticed. Love's "Forever Changes" is one example, Van Morrison's "Astral Weeks" is another album that didn't chart when it was released - and so was "Everyone is...
Published on 16 Dec. 2003 by Ian H. Robertson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bought as a gift, sounded very dated.
Published 7 months ago by P. D. French


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of the 70ies, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Rainbow Finsbury Park, the picture place with a pond in its entrance, gold fish swimming oddly the air thick with the aroma of wacky tobacco... all of that before the boy bands arrived and the venue was ruined with the removal of the seats... Possibly the best venue in London lost forever because a few hysterical persons could not hold their bladders. This is a review of BJH could just as well have been a review of Caravan, Focus, Traffic or many many more groups that played the Rainbow in the early seventies. To know the music is to know the venue with Moroccan back drop and possibly a Moroccan haze in the auditorium magic, wonderful music to join the goldfish and float or sway in a contented manner.......... The party ended long ago, today it is called retro at best or dismissed as being pretentious and if so I am happily a pretentious, retro man who still looses it to the sound of music both composed and played by musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Progressing from progressive, 21 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
Before releasing this album on Polydor, BJH had recorded four albums for EMI's Harvest label (dedicated to "progressive" music and supposedly named after the band). Some of the tracks on these albums are deservedly regarded as classics. And yet this is the first BJH album that I can listen to after the first hearing without skipping tracks. The essence of all four Harvest albums was captured on a single disc compilation (Early Morning Onwards) leaving behind very little else that I would consider worthy of inclusion. Having been shocked out of their tendency to self-indulgence by being dropped by EMI whilst being in debt to them, BJH then recorded this tight, consistent set of well written songs for their new label, an album which is, despite the merit of individual tracks elsewhere, one of the best they ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Blend, 12 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
The wonderful thing about this album is that all the songs seem to drift into each other. There is such a oneness and such a togetherness that a textured layer of sound gives one of the most satisfying feelings from an BJH album.

The characteristic guitar passages blend beautifully with keyboard and some haunting melodies. For me this album marked the beginning of the band's move away from classical orientated rock to a more simplistic style. This is something I was never happy with but it does show Messrs Lees and Holroyd at the peak of their songwriting. It is a wonderfully evocative album that still sounds fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 May 2013
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
I bought the vinyl version of this in the early seventies, and wore it out. Then bought it on a CD in the 80's. It remains one of my best albums of all time, although don't really listen to any other BJH much now except maybe the Live album. Really not a duff track on it. Whether it is only nostalgia as one reviewer claims it's hard to say. Many of my other albums from that time didn't stand the test of time, this one does. In addition, as a guitarist, I loved that BJH's music was a bit simpler than many of the other prog rock bands of the time, and I could actually play some of it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone is Everybody Else B J H, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
I bought this album in the seventies and it still sounds fantastic. I haven't heard it for 25 years or more but I still remembered every line of every song. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Forgotten Gem, 7 Feb. 2011
By 
Richard Tyson "Rich T" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
I don't claim to be a huge fan of BGH and have only head 1 or 2 of their albums.That said I have no doubt that this is up there with the best albums of the 70s.The production is superb and all the tracks are memorable. It's the quality of the songwriting that stands out..I would certainly be surprised to hear that they made a better studio album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BJH were a very much underestimated band and did not get the credit that they deserved. Not one duff song on the album and the anti establishment lyrics of their songs are very hard hitting and no mincing of words. The musicianship is outstanding and I really love John Lees guitar playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia is good for you, 21 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Ashford, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We all have a tendency to look favourably on things from our past that we enjoyed. However modern music really does pale in comparison to that of the late sixties and seventies. BJH are a classic case of a band of that era, and there are many others, whose quality of output throws a vast shadow over the artificial offerings of today's Simon Callow era. Those bands of the past were real musicians who wrote, played and recorded all their own stuff. When you listen to this album it reminds you how brilliant they really were even though they may not have received the full recognition they deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best lps of all time, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
one of the best rock albums of all time...essential...this opus didn't chart at the time ..perhaps because of being released close to the same times as 'live'...don t miss out! buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BJH, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyone Is Everybody Else (Audio CD)
I am a fan of BJH and had a copy of this product which was worn out so I decided to buy it in CD form.This is a classic album from this group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everyone Is Everybody Else
Everyone Is Everybody Else by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews