Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of The Best, 15 Jun. 2003
By 
Robert Thornsby (Fort Worth, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
Take a trip back to the daisy age with Prince Paul, Posdnuos and Trugoy who offered the world a cross breed of rap and hip hop to produce stunningly written singles. If you had ever bought Three Feet High and Rising, one of the best produced albums of all time, then you'll know exactly what I am referring to. Simply joyful and creatively written lyrics combined with sampled hip hop style beats. Four tracks from that ground breaking album are included here, The Magic Number, Me Myself and I, Potholes in my Lawn and the sublime and infectious Eye Know, easily the best De La Soul track ever. Also included are the latest offerings with contributions from the likes of Redman and Chaka Khan. Buy this Best Of album, slam it into your CD drive, sit back and smile at the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hippy-hop thank god for de la soul, 4 Sept. 2003
By 
I. Bilton (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
It had to happen one of the most innovative hip-hop groups of all time have released their greatest hits the only thing i have to ask is what took so long?
This is the type of album which is hard to write a review to as the review is the track listing itself. Any album which features me myself and i, eye know, magic number and say no go in the first four tracks is an instant five star but three feet high and rising has these you say whats in it for me?
Well for a start there is the awsome sound of buddy which features (catch this) Tribe called quest, Jungle brothers and queen latiff (spelled wrong) this is an awesome track and deserves the purchase of the album on its own.
Ring ring ring (ha ha hey) is a great track, its beat is a fusion of jazz and funk and the lyrics are tight and imaginative (although the song is about an answerphone). Other highlights of this albumn are "ooh" with redman who provides a tight verse to a lo-key beat and also the very underated all good featuring chaka kahn which is an instant smash featuring a catchy beat.
Buy this album if you dont own a de la album as it is a good start and if you own all there albums there are a few fresh tunes here you might not have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great album but one problem, 15 July 2011
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
First off the music is great and thats the important part, however the problem, DRM I think its called, when you rip to play on your mp3 player it ruins the sound rendering the digital version useless. So great music but only listening from the cd's themselves, wish I'd have known this before I bought it as portability is important AND I'VE PAID FOR THE MUSIC I WANT TO LISTEN TO IT MY WAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Belter!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 26 May 2003
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
Absolute Belter, what else can I say?
I'm not usually a huge fan of compelation albums cos' I prefer to hear all the albums tracks but this is class. Its got all the old skool classics (Me, Myslef and I and Magic Number) as well as my personnel favorite, All Good from one of R'n'B's finest and most influencial groups. This really is a quality purchase and one you'll listen to for years to come.
Roll on the summer so I can unwind the windows and have this thumping out my car!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album, 16 April 2010
By 
Jennifer Malsingh (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
Old and new De La Soul fans will be very pleased with this excellent collection of songs, and people who want to start listening to them will find this to be a brilliant starting point.

The first five songs may well be the best known De La Soul songs, and for good reason. They are absolutely excellent, and even if you have never knowingly listened to De La Soul I suspect you will recognise at least some of them. Then the next two tracks are some of my favourites, "Buddy" and "Ring ring ring". "Baby phat" is another fav of mine, as is "Thru Ya City". And "All good" is such a hit, I never realised it was De La Soul until I got this album - stupid I know, but I just didn't realise.

If you're looking for a funky, undeniably cool hip-hop sound, but without the faux-gangsta rubbish that so many rappers rely on these days, check this album out immediately. Perfect tunes for a chilled out Summer day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of 'Best Of' CDs!, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
With a limited edition bonus disc, this fabulous compilation album of one of hip-hop's greatest trios will ensure that there's something new for even the most seasoned De La Soul listeners. I strongly recommend this, and my final word on this is that it combines classic hip-hop lyricism with easy listening, meaning that whether you're in it for the lyrics or just the flow of the song - you'll love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars De La Soul, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
Have never had this before, but friends did back in time. but very glad i have it now. Could have got all the single cd's but all the good songs on these two disk's. so why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful, unique, thoughtful. A stunning collection., 4 Oct. 2003
By 
Alex Barker (Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
De La Soul, the three man crew that stuck two fingers up to the hard-hitting 'gangsta' rhymes of some of the more popular groups around in their heyday. It was obvious from the start that this was no ordinary rap group. In fact, they changed the face of rap forever, leaving an indellible mark on the hip-hop world.
Plugs 1 and 2 (Posdnous and Trugoy, later known as Dave) deliver slick rhymes with a sprinkle of humour throughout, and P.A. Mase rips the decks up. Almost every one of the songs on this album ooze quality. The first six tracks are all taken from their debut album 'Three Feet High..., and the listener can expect the jazzy beats and playful lyrics to feature heavily here. Track 6 Buddy features great guest appearances from the Jungle Brothers, and A Tribe Called Quest rappers, Q-Tip and Phife.
The next three tracks are from their followup, De La soul is Dead, an album which attempted to put straight misconceptions people had got from their debut. These tracks are very different from the first six, this is not to say they are anything less than brilliant hip-hop compositions.
Track 10 Breakadawn features a sweet female vocalist, and a relaxed beat. It is the only track on this from the all to often overlooked Buhloone Mindstate. The next two are from the album Stakes Is High, and the title track of this album is truly excellent.
The final five tracks are taken from De La Soul's work in the not-to-distant past, and have good guest appearances from redman, Chaka Khan and others.
Overall, this is a great album. It provides an appropriate starting point for people discovering De La Soul whilst at the same time offering a good if a little limited summary of the group's highlights. There are a few notable exceptions, (Tread Water, Ghetto Thang?) but overall the classics have been chosen well. A minor criticism would be that it is a little limited in its choice of tracks, but songs from all their main albums have been chosen.
Each album offers a very different experience, and this is reflected in the tracks. However, it is this versatility that keeps De La Soul in the hearts of hip-hop heads everywhere. It showcases the group's talent perfectly, creating an album that your ears deserve. This is intelligent hip-hop at its finest, a worhtwhile investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And They Still Can't Touch This..., 5 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
This "Best Of" collection is, in a word, awesome. This fact is not suprising given that De La Soul are one of (if not THE) greatest rap groups to ever grace the worlds Hip-Hop scene. Offering up inspired samples, funky grooves second to none and thought provoking lyrics and meaning - De La Soul are certainly one of a kind and show a rare appeal and talent that doesn't come along very often. This incredibly generous 18-track compilation (accross 2 discs) brings together all of thier finest cuts together on one album. From the insanely funky "Roller Skating Jam" to the sultry R&B flavoured "4 More" and to the track that almost everyone will know "The Magic Number", all of the finest tracks from De La Soul's career are included here. One of the big plus points about this release is that it doesn't just include the singles, but also some more memorable album cuts.
When listening to this incredible album, you would be forgiven for wondering what on earth happened to Hip-Hop after this and other dearly departed classic artists left the fold. Put bluntly, 50 Cent and his rival 'gangsta' artists have nothing on this. While the hip-hop material of late (Post 2Pac/Biggie) is uninspiring, predictable and distinctly boring "The Best of De La Soul" reminds us there was once a brighter day in the Rap world. It's a day that may have past, but it sure is great to remember those better days gone by with this excellent profile of one of the most important and influencial Hip-Hop artists ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of De La Soul [Limited Edition 2-Cd Version], 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of De La Soul (Audio CD)
Where do I start? Hip Hop at its best, this collection of music by main players in the scene, is great for the fans and the curious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of De La Soul
The Best of De La Soul by De La Soul (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews