Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAVE PLAYED THIS FOR 33 YEARS AND STILL LOVE IT...!!!
So, where do you start? How about a youth club disco in the Summer of 1980 where someone bought this double album in and, at the end he played Point Blank probably five times to a small crowd left behind. Like others have written I've gone from double album (gatefold sleeve - still have it upstairs) to cassette in my Golf GTI to CD now and an I-Tunes version...
Published 18 months ago by John Hewitt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Quick service but jewel case damaged.
Published 16 days ago by Geoff Brown


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAVE PLAYED THIS FOR 33 YEARS AND STILL LOVE IT...!!!, 17 April 2013
By 
John Hewitt (West Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
So, where do you start? How about a youth club disco in the Summer of 1980 where someone bought this double album in and, at the end he played Point Blank probably five times to a small crowd left behind. Like others have written I've gone from double album (gatefold sleeve - still have it upstairs) to cassette in my Golf GTI to CD now and an I-Tunes version.

Listen to it properly - in the order Bruce and Little Steve laid them down, savour the melodies, the haunting lyrics of midtown America in the 80's; redundancy, teenage pregnancies, borrowing cars, stealing cars and reflecting on loves lost. It's difficult to select a favourite track - obviously The River and Point Blank stand out as sombre, coming of age stories. Sherry Darling is a hoot and Cadillac Ranch immediately produces a vision of Burt Reynolds in his Black Trans Am from Cannonball Run (I think).

33 years on its still as relevant as it was when I was 18, and I can confidently say I'll be listening to it for the remainder of my years - until I end up in the Cadillac Ranch...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAJESTIC ROCK, 17 May 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
These songs are no less than majestic, lyrically and melodically. The singing and playing are equally impressive and convey the various moods of the album so well. The ecstasy, the joy and the sadness of life are captured here with an honesty very rarely matched in the annals of rock. The Ties That Bind, Sherry Darling and Hungry Heart are passionate rockers, while Independence Day is a mournful ballad full of reminiscences and regret. Point Black is a slow ballad, whilst Cadillac Ranch and I’m A Rocker are blistering slabs of energetic rock. Fade Away is a slow and anguished rock ballad with beautiful piano work and a stirring arrangement, while the sad and fragile Stolen Car almost sounds like something from Nebraska. Traditional rock ‘n roll rears its pulsating head on Ramrod, while the next three songs all have cars and driving as their theme: The Price You Pay is sombre and melancholic, Drive All Night is sad and soulful, and this masterpiece of an album concludes with the sorrowful Wreck On The Highway, one of Springsteen’s most moving songs. In its dignified resignation, acceptance and the renewed appreciation for loved ones that it inspires, it reminds me of Lou Reed’s The Bed or Song For My Father by The Angels Of Light. This album is so great, it’s almost too much to digest in one uninterrupted session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Bruce, 11 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The River (Audio CD)
This is the Springsteen album that I always go back to. If you've only got one of Bruce's albums, make sure it's this one. You get everything: the raw energy of the first two tracks set you up for something special. There are rocking tracks to make you feel good and there are more soul-searching songs that make you feel grateful. The title track is probably one of the best songs he's ever written. Get inside the Boss's head by wearing this ablum out first, and then build your collection - that's what I did. That way you'll also appreciate the subtlties of 'Tracks' when you get that far down the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would be better if it was shorter, 27 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
Some of Bruce's best songs are on this album, but this is tempered by the fact some of Bruce's worst songs also feature here. Having read Dave Marsh's biography, I understand that Bruce was trying to capture a live feel for this album which explains the appearance of several "fun" songs. However this really hurts the album in my opinion. Taking out the lighter songs would have created an album that could have perhaps rivalled my favourite, Darkness on the Edge of Town. Don't get me wrong, there are occasions when the lighter songs do prove to be quite listenable but that still doesn't alter my opinion.
The best songs on this album are:
Indpendence Day
I Wanna Marry You
The River
Point Blank
The Price You Pay
Wreck on the Highway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest, 16 Oct 2004
By 
M. Knights "matt k" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
These songs have a power it is difficult to articulate, words are a bit inadequate. As far as this relates to his other albums, it is perhaps more colourful and varied and obviously longer than the ones that run it close, Born To Run, Darkness On The Edge Of Town. but i havent heard a better album opener than 'The Ties That Bind', except maybe 'Thunder Road' on Born To Run and 'Badlands' on Darkness...(!)
Ok i'm running close to contradiction. Buy this anyway! To start with i thought 'Jackson Cage', 'The River' and 'Point Blank' were what it was all about, but later other songs hit me such as 'Drive All Night' and 'Out In The Street'. He delivers some lines better than Dylan, and he is often far simpler about it. For example 'All those nights when i dream of a better world/I wake up so downhearted girl'. He fires seemingly uninspiring lines with a power and immediacy that is sometimes beyond belief, for example 'I got a job working in construction' sounds as stunning as anything any of your long-winded romantic poets could manage. I think that is partly the point as well, Springsteen is as bluntly realistic as he is romantic. They will call me an idealist, but I find it difficult to believe that anyone could dislike this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, 4 Feb 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
This is a great album, right the the opening snare shot on The Ties That Bind you are hooked. The E Street band rock in a way that few other bands do and they sound fantastic. The reason for this is the way Springsteen records his albums (or certainly did up to the mid 80's). He puts the chords in front of band and then they record it live in the studio, and thats what you get on the record. When you here Bruce shout 1,2,3,4 its not a fake its for real. For me the E Street band is almost the perfect backing band. Two Lead guitarists, Piano, Organ and of course the stand-out Tenor Sax playing of Clarence Clemons

Some people have criticised the album, saying the songs are all about the same subject (i.e. either Girls or Cars or both) and there are quite a few like this. However interspersed are some brilliant heart-rending songs, such as The River, Independence Day and Point Blank. Frankly I wouldn't care if all the songs were about girls and cars anyway, because Springsteen and the E Street band perform on their studio albums in a way that most bands struggle to do when playing live. Listen to "Out In The Street"; lyrically its nothing to talk about, but the performance is what counts and its the same with the rest of this double album. Buy The River and you'll understand why Springsteen and the E Street band were the biggest live attraction on the Planet for so many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as ever, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
Having had this on vinyl originally, this was a must have. Brilliant as ever, Springsteen is still the Boss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Bruce - what more is there to say?, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
I love this album. It was my introduction to Springsteen and the music sounds as emotional, heartfelt and relevant now as it did back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The River, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River (2CD) (Audio CD)
Purchased this to replace my vinyl copy as it was at a good price. No enhancements or additions to the original but still well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River (2CD)
The River (2CD) by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews