Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight, we got style....
I'm not going to write about the album, it's a 5 star classic, we all know that already...
So, the DVDs? The Hammersmith shows ARE legendary - do they live up the hype? Hmmm, I'd say yes - the band are playing superbly, great song choices, etc etc. However, you need to bear in mind that this footage is 30 years old, and has just been lying around in...
Published on 9 Feb. 2006 by MisterKeith

versus
27 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do all these reviewers work for Sony?
I dare say most obsessive fans will have bought this by now, but for the casual fan, I think a slightly less over the top review, than the other reviews posted on this site, might be useful. The remastered cd does sound better than the old version, but it isn't so good that it would warrant spending this amount on. However, the boxset also contains 2 dvds, that may make...
Published on 26 Jan. 2006 by A R LYNN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD/CD has to have five stars, 9 July 2008
Five stars, greatest concert I've ever seen on DVD, better than 'Bullet in a Bible', Texas 'Greatest Hits', some of the best stuff I have ever seen, only seen the concert though, haven't heard the CD or seen the documentary (yet).

I think the low reviewers either don't like life, themselves or both. That's how it looks to me. You won't regretting owning this.

Sinc.
Jesper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Born to re-run, 20 Dec. 2005
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An album as classic as this deserves the deluxe treatment and it certainly gets it here. The most interesting aspect has to be the documentary DVD that contains footage actually shot at the time of recording. To see, what was then, an underground artist recording what would become an absolute classic has a kind of strange feel to it because you are aware of what a great album is being made but at that time 30 years ago Springsteen's career was on the line. Fascinating. The live DVD is stunning in terms of quality. The effort that has gone into restoring and remixing this concert must have been immense and in terms of both sound and picture it is quite breathtaking. The performance is, of course, pure Springsteen and it shows an early example of why his live shows became legendary.
The remastered CD is somewhat of a disappointment. I expected the sound to be powerful and sharp but it actually sounds flat and muddled. What happened to the bass? There's absolutely no life to the sound at all. I certainly wouldn't class it as crystal clear. It might be OK on an I-pod but on a decent stereo it sounds dire. The album needs a subtle remix. Listen to songs from the same era on the Tracks boxset - what a difference. This is a real let down and adds nothing to the sound of a great album.
Five stars for both the DVDs, 5 stars for CD content, 2 stars for CD sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springsteen's breakthrough album, 15 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Born To Run (Audio CD)
It is difficult to find the words to write about this album. Released in 1975, when Bruce appeared on the covers of Time and Newsweek simultaneously, it was an album that musically and lyrically did something that no other rock artist had done for quite sometime. Combining a powerful, thrilling, Phil Spector style "wall of sound" with heartfelt, genuine, intelligent lyrics, it proved to the world what Springsteen already knew: that rock n' roll has the power to save your life. Despite two earlier LP's which were critically acclaimed but sold poorly, this feels like the start of Bruce's search for himself and his sense of community. Simply one of the greatest rock n' roll LP's of all time. Buy it and find out why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius in the truest sense, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Born To Run (Audio CD)
The word 'genius' is one of those words which is bandied about far too often, but Springsteen is one of a very elite band of musicians who richly deserves the accolade. As a guitar player and a singer he's merely outstanding. As a lyricist and a conveyor of emotion he's up there with the Gods. Am not even gonna write about this album, there's nothing left to say about how good it is. I was lucky enough to see him live at Newcastle in 85 on a glorious summer evening, where he had thirty odd thousand fans eating out of his hand. I've been going to gigs for forty years and he is without doubt the most charismatic human being I've ever near.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The king, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Que se puede decir de este pedazo de disco, no hay palabras para podder definirlo, el boss es su estado puro. Encima biene con un directo que se ve un poco mal pero con un buen sonido
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rock and Roll Classic, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
D. M. STEANE (Kirkcaldy, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born To Run (Audio CD)
In 1975, Bruce Springsteen released a masterpiece, which will go down as one of the greatest rock albums in history. Widley regarded as his breakthrough album, it produced eight songs of the highest quality; from the quiet harmonical and piano chords at the beginning of Thunder Road, to the pessimistic ending of the 9 minute epic Jungleland. 'Born to Run' varies in both its sound, and lyrical suggestions. Each song appears shorter and more 'to the point' than that of his previous work, and this is what has given it such a wonderful recipe for its well deserved critical and commercial acclaim. I would even go as far to say that his lyrics match that of John Lennon & Paul McCartney in their prime. That is how highly I value BTR, and both the content and delivery of the line in Thunder Road ("Make crosses from your lovers, throw roses in the rain") hit me hard.

Although, personally, I prefer his solo acoustic works on 'The Ghost of Tom Joad' and inparticularly 'Nebraska' as entire albums, take absolutely nothing away from a thoroughly inspirational and touching album that 'Born to Run' is. Some of his greatest songs can be found on here, and anyone who enjoys music should also enjoy the muscial delights which come with BTR. It has probally been said a hundred times before, but this is why Bruce truly is 'The Boss'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums ever, 24 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Run [VINYL] (Vinyl)
From the moment i heard this album i have consistently rated it n my top 5 albums of all time. this is bruce springsteen at his best, not a single filler here and every song is better than many artists best efforts. lyrically springsteen is only surpassed by dylan on this record, with songs like thunder road, meeting across the river and jungleland even rivalling the great poet, whilst born to run is simply an eargasm of feeling and sound. now i have it on vinyl, it sound even better - its not like i'd want to skip and tracks on this! if you haven't already got this, buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be in everyone's collection, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The album that set Bruce on the road to fame and fortune. For my wife and me his music is an integral part of our lives and if this album had never been released our lives would be so much poorer. Even without Bruce's anthemic signature "Born to Run" and "Thunder Road" (in my view the greatest rock song ever written), this is a truly magnificent energy filled rock album. 5 stars does it no justice - probably the best, and certainly for me personally, the most important album of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating...., 12 Nov. 2005
A remarkable insight into the early days of the Springsteen career and mythology. Born to Run consumed 20 hour days in its creation and the documentary reflects this to the full. Each song on the album is detailed in full as to its evolution from rough diamond to a polished gem. With contributions from each band member at the time, to the man himself, the documentary is a must have addition to any Broooce fan's collection.
The Hammersmith concert in full is sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Highway`s Jammed with Broken Heroes on a last chance power drive., 22 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Born To Run (Audio CD)
Jon Landau famously said "I saw rock and roll future and its name is Bruce Springsteen," What more can be said, except if you enjoy music, you must own this album. A work of love, craftsmanship and dedication all moulded to form one of the richest and strongest track listing on perhaps any album. The sheer strength of the lyrics, combined with the confidence of the music supported by perhaps the greatest backing band ever, makes this Album an essential purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born To Run
Born To Run by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews