Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 STAR MELANCHOLIA YOU CAN DANCE TO
I'm sure someone, somewhere, has already coined the 'melancholia(y) you can dance to' phrase, but it perfectly describes this great album. Springsteen's BITUSA divides Brucefans simply because there are those who saw it as a sell-out, while others just saw it as a natural progression from what he'd produced before. I fall into the latter camp - his earlier classics like...
Published on 8 Jan 2008 by DAG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bruce goes MTV
As a massive fan of Springsteen from when Born to Run came out, and was deeply moved by the River and Darkness albums, my first reaction when I first heard this was 'Oh no, he's got MTVitis!'. His most commercially successful album by far, but not in the same league as his best works.
Published 1 month ago by David Mansfield


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 STAR MELANCHOLIA YOU CAN DANCE TO, 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: Born In The U.s.a. (Audio CD)
I'm sure someone, somewhere, has already coined the 'melancholia(y) you can dance to' phrase, but it perfectly describes this great album. Springsteen's BITUSA divides Brucefans simply because there are those who saw it as a sell-out, while others just saw it as a natural progression from what he'd produced before. I fall into the latter camp - his earlier classics like 'Sandy', Born to Run, 'Jungleland' and Badlands' had helped to raise Springsteen's stock, but BITUSA was so full of melodic hooks that it simply couldn't fail. Many heard the noise but hadn't listened to the words - Ronald Reagan for one - but beyond the familiar tunes were words as hard-bitten and melodramatic as anything he's produced before or since. The title track itself is a stone cold classic, while my favourites were the songs of regret and melodrama - 'Bobby Jean', Glory Days' and 'No Surrender'. Springsteen reportedly recorded 100s of songs for this album and what a double it could have been! Imagine 'None but the brave', 'Frankie', 'This hard land' and 'My love will not let you down' added to this platter! Anyway, not everyone is 45 and over, and there will be new listeners wondering what the fuss was all about; so for them, it's loud, it's noisy, it's melodic, it's tells great stories, it might make you cry, it's full of melancholy...and you can dance to it. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock & Roll, 22 Oct 2007
By 
lhdps (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Born In The U.s.a. (Audio CD)
I was 13 years old when i first heard this album and of Bruce Sprigsteen.
It made me an instant fan. The same day i bought the other "born" album - Born to Run. In less than a week i had the entire Bruce Springsteen collection in my hand. Altough great this album may be, for me it has that "discovering" quality that has made it one of my favorite albums of all time. If you want to start hearing Bruce Springsteen, star with this one. You won't be dispointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Born In The USA, 20 Jan 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Born In The U.s.a. (Audio CD)
`Born in the USA' is one of those albums that has become a classic and epitomises the times it was written and released in. This lead to Bruces famous stadium tours that left him exhausted, but showcased his music to a wider audience. Although the title track has been overplayed and feels slightly cliched as a result, it still has great power when it starts and this album has so many great tracks that you are left in awe at the amount of talent on one CD. From excellent, more low key tracks such as `Cover Me' to `Darlington County' via full on rockers like `Glory Days' and `Bobby Jean' and touching on the more brooding and moving songs like `I'm on Fire' and `My Hometown', this albums has a selection of tracks to suit any mood or taste. All of this, coupled with the now iconic album cover and you will have in your hands a slice of music history that has rarely been surpassed. It has become a classic for a reason and is well worth a try.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a definition of rock at its finest, 24 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born in the USA (Audio CD)
in my opinion, born in the USA is one of the best albums ever! it has everything any rock or pop music fan could ever ask for. from its opening collection of thundering stadium rock tracks ('darlington county', 'working on the highway'and the title track 'born in the USA') further listening to them tells a much darker, meaningful story than the music suggests. included are the more softly spoken tracks such as 'I'm on fire' and 'my hometown' which are just as thought provoking and help to demonstrate bruce's vocal skills. this album launched bruce into a global megastar and its easy to see why. this is an essential purchase for any springsteen fan or any music fan in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs that paint pictures, 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: Born In The U.s.a. (Audio CD)
Forget the common misconceptions about this album.

I can't think of many songs that sound as fiercely, raggedly, righteously ANGRY as 'Born In The U.S.A'.
I can't think of many songs which portray smalltown helplessness as well as 'Dancing In The Dark'.
I can't think of a more perfect couplet of songs on an LP as 'Downbound Train' followed by 'I'm On Fire'.

That's all I wanted to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars born in the usa, 12 Jan 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Born In The U.s.a. (Audio CD)
Born in the USA is the most,at first glance uplifting and joyous album that he may have ever released,its when you look at the lyrics that you realise that despite the stadium rock sound and the over the top 80s feel to it,that this is a dark album disguised by poppy sounds and a rock n roll heart.
The album starts with the title track,a track we all know and is possibly guilty of being overplayed but is still a good track,and it sure is dark,citing a man sent to fight in vietnam with no understanding of why.'cover me' is the next track and is a real classy track,the next two tracks are a bit generic for my liking but thereafter lies great tracks,perhaps glory days is a bit average but songs like 'downbound train','im on fire','dancing in the dark' and the excellent 'im goin down' really showcase this albums strengths,not his best but contains some genuine quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to rock, 5 Jun 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born in the USA (Audio CD)
Like Fleetwood Mac's 'Rumours', 'Born In The USA' became the artist's biggest album because it appealed to a much wider audience than earlier material did. It was commercial. So what? There's nothing wrong with appealing to more people by making your music more accessible. Bruce Springsteen's previous album 'Nebraska' may possess greater snob value because, wow, it's dark and stripped down, but there is no disguising that much of it is also dull. As Tommy James commented when criticised for creating 'Mony Mony' at the height of the revolutionary, anti-war sentiments of 1968, why can't you make people want to dance?

The most obvious slice of glossy pop is, of course, 'Dancing In The Dark' and it soon palls, but nothing else is as disposable, and throughout Springsteen maintains a combination of intelligence and vitality, backed by a superior band. Mostly, the songs appear celebratory or defiant, while the title track is obviously ironic. The ghostly 'I'm On Fire' and 'My Hometown' provide the wind-downs.

It is misleading to suggest that 'Born In The USA' was calculated to lift Springsteen to stardom. He may not have been a household name in the UK before this, but anyone who subscribed to the music weeklies knew of him, his reputation, and had probably at least heard 'Born To Run'. More significantly, he was already big in his homeland. So enjoy a high quality rock album and don't worry about what is or isn't 'cool'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought to replacelong lost album, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born in the USA (Audio CD)
I bought this album to replace my original vinyl one which I have lost in the midst of moves and travels over the years. I first originally bought this in the eighties as a teenager(one of my first purchases with my first wage), and what can I say WOW, still as I remember, good rocking rifts, meanigful lyrics and it was amazing how all those things also buried in the memories from those teenage years came flooding back. Already looking through the sellers inventory to see if there are any more of my long lost albums available. Delivery was quick, good price, and the actual case and insert in almost pristine condition many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars onlyme, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born In The U.s.a. (Audio CD)
it is well known that this is one of brucies best bits of musical magic as he shimmies and sweats away (he does on any live versions )well I am quite happy to concur though I do wonder what the hell is he up to on the cover 1/digging for loose change , 2/ getting ready to bowl a maiden over at Lords , 3/ pissing on old glory I am not to sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the boss, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born In The U.s.a. (Audio CD)
i have seen the boss many times live and this tour, at wembley, was my first experience! could not believe i did not have a copy until recently. what a great album!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born In The U.s.a.
Born In The U.s.a. by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews