Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult fare here!
A film about male rage? A savage critique of the penis? A warning about the consequences of revenge? Not in my opinion. It's a film about gratification, lust and depravity, among other things. By some standards (conventional standards if you like) Marcus, Pierre and Alex are very depraved - their drinking, public graphic discussion of sex, Marcus' desire to sodomise Alex,...
Published on 23 Sept. 2010 by Val Miller

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Controversial
I purchased this film because, after reading the reviews - which were very mixed - I wanted to see it for myself to form my own opinions.

The film setup is rather disorientating and confusing. The camera spins around at the end of lots of scenes, and switches from past to present fairly regularly. Obviously it is intentional and adds to the atmosphere...
Published 5 months ago by Annie Annie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Controversial, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I purchased this film because, after reading the reviews - which were very mixed - I wanted to see it for myself to form my own opinions.

The film setup is rather disorientating and confusing. The camera spins around at the end of lots of scenes, and switches from past to present fairly regularly. Obviously it is intentional and adds to the atmosphere.

I don't normally get upset at films but I couldn't finish this film. It is very graphic and violent - I knew that when I purchased it, but I wasn't prepared for just how much. The rape scene in particular is so brutal. I was shaking and crying. That scene will be on my mind for a long time.

And that is where I end with this film. After I watched the rape scene I couldn't watch anymore and so, I can't give a full rundown of the whole film. If you think it is going to be your average brawl/punch-up kind of film, you are going to find you are mistaken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult fare here!, 23 Sept. 2010
A film about male rage? A savage critique of the penis? A warning about the consequences of revenge? Not in my opinion. It's a film about gratification, lust and depravity, among other things. By some standards (conventional standards if you like) Marcus, Pierre and Alex are very depraved - their drinking, public graphic discussion of sex, Marcus' desire to sodomise Alex, and his drug taking, to cite some examples. Tenia takes it to a whole new level though and really tests the boundaries! It represents (to me anyway) a society in a state of total moral decay, from the more acceptable end of the scale (the party for example), through prostitution, the S+M gay club, to outright brutal rape and torture. We are left to make our own sense of the events and the characters. Noé makes no comment or moral judgement. I thought it interesting that the film company created for the production is called '120'. As in the Marquis de Sade's '120 Days of Sodom'? Surely. Anyone who is familiar with the behaviour and literature of the 18th century French Libertines will see this angle of personal pleasure weighed against the suffering of others, albeit the concept is taken to an extreme here. After the rape scene Tenia lays back and says 'awesome', reinforcing that the experience was an ultimate pleasure for him. An archetypal sadist! Sadly, far worse things than this happen on a daily basis throughout the world. This is a sordid modern tale indeed. I've given it 4 stars (how can you give a movie like this a star rating?) because technically it's very well conceived and shot (as other reviewers have discussed very adequately), but I'm not sure I liked it, my initial reaction was revulsion and disgust (I guess that's good!) but that is changing all the time now as I reflect on this movie... There is an argument that it shows the dehumanising tendency of unbridled lust, desire, vengeance and violence but the film could certainly also can be seen as graphic voyeurism. Sade reinvented for the cinema era???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars graphic violence and lost innocence, over the top, 27 Aug. 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
THere are few films that actually make me sick to my stomach, and this is one of them. The violence is so graphic - there is one scene where you can count how many teeth a man loses as his head is slowly bashed in - that I simply had to fast forward it OFTEN. Really, it made me heave, near vomiting. Then, there is the horror at the center of the plot, the fate of a beautiful and happy young woman. Now there was a time in my youth when I would have relished my "reaction," feeling that such a film made me "experience" a new reality, etc. All the artistic longings - often nonsense in retrospect - of the inexperienced. Well, I am afraid that life has made me no longer want to see such things. I have had friends who suffered similar things and there is nothing to learn from it and no value is bringing it to the screen in my opinion. However, it does make the film controversial - look at the range of reviews here!

Because of the odd way that the film is edited, I am not revealing the plot here. Indeed, with the camera waving around in an attempt at avant garde technique, it added to my nausea. Nonetheless, the acting is very very good. Moreover, there are philosophical points throughout the whole thing and they are not totally pretentious, but add to the portrayal of life and love in the film. The chemistry between the actors is totally believable, as is the changes in personality.

Am I a bourgeois philistine for saying that it was simply awful to watch? Perhaps, but maybe I have just outgrown this kind of art thing. I think you can get deep philosophy and thoughtfulness without such total horror.

Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Daily Male, 15 July 2012
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A clever film on the surface of its outer pretension, shot using a Lynchian sense of time distortion- played to a proto industrial sound track based upon layering the sensibilities of rage. A beautiful woman is relentlessly disfigured, one who as the film reaches backwards, unravels her personality, along with her two boyfriends Marcus and Pierre. The scenarios may appear mundane in comparison but that is the point, violence appears as spurts.

Initially the film works on many different facets but then on reflection it is another version of Straw Dogs, where academics turns nasty. Young modern trendy urban elites party till dawn where coke, sex and abandon are de rigeur- ok got that,- it is the hedonism of the 21st C, but what the film misses is the Ballardian vacuity of a middlebrow lifestyle.

Young Alex wants something different from the hedonism and leaves it behind, she has a different growth within her body than a tapeworm.

Evil however dwells as an insect in the rectum, and as the film spills backwards we're all led to the debasement of the middle class pretense, underneath the veneer of manners lies brutal destructive tendencies linked to evil lurks to lure beautiful women who walk alone at night to unimaginable horrors - wow.

Ultimately this is a Daily Mail story about how the depraved world will suck in the nice people and turn them into jelly. Underneath its brutal posturings, there is a distinct tendency to dwell on the intricacies of violence. Appearing to be disturbing for a couple of reasons; firstly the sense of no one intervening to stop what is happening. People just stand around and watch- then the length of the violence which seems to go on forever, which it usually does and then does not.

The film however says nothing about violence and how it forms, except as a very basic revenge motif- the tapeworm is automatically assumed to have no scruples- yet he too would have been a young boy at some point. The nice middle class folk are led to violence because that is the way the world is - but go to a gay club and it is brimming with nice middle class folk- those who run the country, military, police, civil service, some enacting sexual cruelties on each other- see middle class public schools for the hatching nest for these practices.

Ultimately the film says absolutely nothing about anything, and you are left with people discussing sex, taking an XTC tablet and being mindlessly unfunny, until the cataclysmic attack- which could easily have been pre-empted by a phone call to a taxi rank. Err it is what most people do when they go out late at night with minimal clothing on their bodies. Phone a cab- done it many times myself.

The first thing you recognise, when walking alone is danger; sex workers outside the party on the street- going into a tunnel full of debris, no one else there- should be a quick clue for danger signs even for the most unnoticeable. You turn back or ask the taxi to come to you.

This is where the film falls flat on its face, because it offers nothing new to the table, apart from the world is a terrible place and if you let your guard down the nasty people from the sewers will overrun you. Therefore better to put your foot down first before they get there first/ It is a typical revenge movie- built upon inculcating fear- however unlike Death Wish, it is well constructed, but basically playing the same theme tune.

Normally it would only get one point and maybe less for the story, but there is something compelling about the construction. I enjoyed the ideas, if only the plot had more thought to it.

Interestingly I worked on a real life case similar to this, where the woman was gang raped and the boyfriend held down to watch. He had visions of revenge, similar to the film, except he wanted to enact them on the perpetrators children who all went to nice middle class schools. Now there is the three stars that are missing within this film- it lacks reality.

Needless to say he was talked out of it, but meanwhile his girlfriend committed suicide, she was pregnant and the main witness. He meanwhile was shattered and taking heroin. Perhaps tackling something true to life is more horrific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irreversible - Unengaging film which tries (and fails) to cover its shortcomings with camera tricks and gratuity, 21 Jan. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the reviews for this film I was expecting something tough and gritty that would make me think, with an innovative filming style that enhances the film. Unlike many of the reviewers here I found this was not the case.

The basic plot of the film is quite simple and has been done so so many times before. Something nasty happens to bloke's girlfriend, bloke goes off and seeks revenge. What is supposed to make this film interesting is that all the episodes are presented in reverse order, so we see the aftermath, revenge, hunt for the attacker, the attack then the beginning of the film. Playing around with the presentation of the story can be effective (The Offence, for example) but here it seems to have been done just for the sake of it, or at worst to try and hide the shortcomings of the basic story.

As well as the reverse time the director has put a lot of effort into camera effects that are supposed to make the film disorientating. Chief among these is the picture spinning at the start and end of each episode to signify a shift back in time. These are a good idea, but are much overdone and are ultimately annoying. Similarly with the hunt for Tenia through the S&M club, it's disorientating but overlong so again I became unengaged in the action and annoyed at the camera work. And as for the gratuitous nature of the imagery - it really is unnecessary, and again I feel the director was trying to cover up the film's failings by trying to make you look the other way. Art should have truth or beauty, and great art is a mixture of both. Neither is to be found in this film.

If you watch the episodes in order and skip some of the whirling camera work you have an average film at best, but with the trickery left in place it really drags it down. I really cannot give this more than one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very uncomfortable., 8 Jun. 2007
By 
Jay "Lar" (Manchester U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I watched this film 3 weeks ago, and I'm still thinking about it. It is very uncomfortable to watch like the previous reviews on here state. The camera angles, lighting, sound, dialogue, the storey line and the credits are all are designed to make you feel uncomfortable. I couldn't watch it in one sitting, as there's just too much horribleness. I needed to watch something light and funny just to reach an equilibrium in my mind, before watching more.

To say it's 'Coward's Porn that lacks balls' is so wrong. If a someone can crack one off to this film, then they should go and place themselves on a register.

The rape scene is utterly horrid, but to shoot it in any other way would be wrong.

I think the film suits being in reverse chronology as I would have forgotten the start of the story due to the impact of the middle and ending.

I cant give it 5 stars as it really made me feel sick with the spinning cameras.
added 05/07/07- Amazon £13.95! HMV fiver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once is enough, 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have owned this film for several years, but have only watched it once- that seems to be enough for now.

It's just such an assault on the senses, sickening, beautiful and horrible, that a repeat viewing never seems appealing. But this is as it should be, with the subject matter. Hollywood infantilises and casualises sex and violence, numbing us to the realities of these things in the guise of entertainment.

Noe has no truck with this use of cinema as sedative, always wanting to grab the viewer by the throat and show us something that reminds us we are alive. The violence here is convincingly horrible, and the infamous rape scene I found very difficult not to turn away from- and I've watched some fairly extreme films in my time.

If you've been curious enough to look this film up, you owe it to yourself to go ahead and see it. Perhaps just not as a first date movie, though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time Destroys All Things....., 18 Dec. 2006
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Irreversible is probably the most explicit and upsetting film I have ever seen. I bought it on DVD but can't bring myself to watch it again. That said, I can remember every single scene because love it or hate it, you certainly won't forget it. It is an uncompromising masterpiece but because it contains such horrific sexual violence, many will see it as gratuitous pornography.

The film is told in reverse, much like 'Memento', starting with the climax and tracking backwards to the beginning. It begins with two men being arrested for battering a man to death in a nasty looking gay club 'The Rectum'. As the story unfolds (backwards) we learn that the dead man subjected a woman (Belluci) to quite possibly the worst sexual assault ever committed to film (the scene lasts almost 15 minutes) and her boyfriend and ex-boyfriend hunted him down to take revenge. After witnessing the extreme violence in the first half of the film we then see the three friends getting ready to attend a party on the night of the assault and how her boorish boyfriend (Cassell) allows her to leave alone at night so he can stay and flirt with other women. It then goes on to show the couple at home, blissfully happy, unaware that their lives are about to be torn apart in such an unimaginable way.

Irreversible is difficult to watch. The subway scene (among others) is so intense it is impossible to view this film as entertainment but I would still recommend watching it anyway because it is far more important than the majority of Hollywood films. It is a breathtaking experience that you will never forget.

Like This? Try: Memento
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not pretty, but it's superb, 28 May 2003
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When you compare this to the fuss kicked up by the BBFC for a full 31 years over Last House On the Left, it seems like a minor miracle that it was passed uncut for both the cinema and home viewing. Whilst by no means as over the top as it has been portrayed as being (the people storming out at the Cannes festival last year must have been especially sensitive), this film is obviously not for everyone. As is quite widely known, it contains a scene involving repeated interactions between a man’s head and a fire extinguisher, and also a rape scene probably only beaten in terms of explicitness by that in I Spit On Your Grave.
However, you should not be deterred by the film’s brutal reputation, as this film is one fantastic piece of cinema. Featuring superb performances from the three main protagonists Vincent Cassel, Albert Dupontel and Monica Bellucci (now best know as Persephone from The Matrix Reloaded, as different a film from this as is possible to get!) and dizzying camera work from Argentine director Gaspar Noé that makes NYPD Blue look like a stage play, you will certainly not forget this film in a hurry after seeing it. As long as you can understand French or don’t mind reading subtitles, and aren’t too easily shocked (the film’s reputation is perhaps a little harsh, but it still more than deserves it’s 18 certificate), this is a stylish, intelligent film that I’d heartily recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inadvertently stuck in mind........., 14 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
After reading a quite a few reviews for this film it seems that there are many that have missed the point completely. I actually saw this film yesterday and honestly I cannot seem to shake it from my mind.Yes its true there are 2 main scenes, that once witnessed will stay with you for a very long time. That being said the few scenes that you see after the the initial violence is just as important to the story as are the controversial ones.
Someone mentioned that the rape scene would be completely unwatchable for a woman which I thought a bit misguided being a woman myself. Yes it is a very difficult scene to sit through but I think any decent,good human being would would feel the same thing regardless of gender. I will say though there is no actual way to prepare for this scene as I tried to do. I remember reading how 'Irreversible' had the worst scene of rape ever depicted on screen and automatically did not believe it as the same had been said for the scene in 'A ClockWork Orange' and also the original 'The last house on the left'. I personally thought that those 'scenes' were very poorly acted and so never actually felt anything for the character or what they were going through and in turn found the scenes completely laughable. This doesn't happen in this film. It completely lives up to the hype surrounding it. You will definitely have an idea of what to expect before the film begins but these ideals will be completely blown away within 20 minutes of watching.

Top marks must go to all actors involved especially Cassel, Bellucci and the guy that plays the part of the 'baddie' La Tenia. He plays his part so well that I don't think that I have ever greeted a character with such disdain and revulsion.
So to sum up if you appreciated all types of films, from the ones that make you laugh out loud, cry or absolutely terrorize the hell out of you, like I do and are always up for trying out something new then watch this movie and then watch it again to truly appreciate it. Then come on here and let us nosey parkers (me) know what you think!
Enjoy:0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Irreversible [DVD] [2003]
Irreversible [DVD] [2003] by Gaspar Noé (DVD - 2003)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews