Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult fare here!
A film about male rage? A savage critique of the penis? A warning about the consequences of revenge? Not in my opinion. It's a film about gratification, lust and depravity, among other things. By some standards (conventional standards if you like) Marcus, Pierre and Alex are very depraved - their drinking, public graphic discussion of sex, Marcus' desire to sodomise Alex,...
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by Val Miller

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Controversial
I purchased this film because, after reading the reviews - which were very mixed - I wanted to see it for myself to form my own opinions.

The film setup is rather disorientating and confusing. The camera spins around at the end of lots of scenes, and switches from past to present fairly regularly. Obviously it is intentional and adds to the atmosphere...
Published 4 months ago by Annie Annie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult fare here!, 23 Sep 2010
A film about male rage? A savage critique of the penis? A warning about the consequences of revenge? Not in my opinion. It's a film about gratification, lust and depravity, among other things. By some standards (conventional standards if you like) Marcus, Pierre and Alex are very depraved - their drinking, public graphic discussion of sex, Marcus' desire to sodomise Alex, and his drug taking, to cite some examples. Tenia takes it to a whole new level though and really tests the boundaries! It represents (to me anyway) a society in a state of total moral decay, from the more acceptable end of the scale (the party for example), through prostitution, the S+M gay club, to outright brutal rape and torture. We are left to make our own sense of the events and the characters. Noé makes no comment or moral judgement. I thought it interesting that the film company created for the production is called '120'. As in the Marquis de Sade's '120 Days of Sodom'? Surely. Anyone who is familiar with the behaviour and literature of the 18th century French Libertines will see this angle of personal pleasure weighed against the suffering of others, albeit the concept is taken to an extreme here. After the rape scene Tenia lays back and says 'awesome', reinforcing that the experience was an ultimate pleasure for him. An archetypal sadist! Sadly, far worse things than this happen on a daily basis throughout the world. This is a sordid modern tale indeed. I've given it 4 stars (how can you give a movie like this a star rating?) because technically it's very well conceived and shot (as other reviewers have discussed very adequately), but I'm not sure I liked it, my initial reaction was revulsion and disgust (I guess that's good!) but that is changing all the time now as I reflect on this movie... There is an argument that it shows the dehumanising tendency of unbridled lust, desire, vengeance and violence but the film could certainly also can be seen as graphic voyeurism. Sade reinvented for the cinema era???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Controversial, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I purchased this film because, after reading the reviews - which were very mixed - I wanted to see it for myself to form my own opinions.

The film setup is rather disorientating and confusing. The camera spins around at the end of lots of scenes, and switches from past to present fairly regularly. Obviously it is intentional and adds to the atmosphere.

I don't normally get upset at films but I couldn't finish this film. It is very graphic and violent - I knew that when I purchased it, but I wasn't prepared for just how much. The rape scene in particular is so brutal. I was shaking and crying. That scene will be on my mind for a long time.

And that is where I end with this film. After I watched the rape scene I couldn't watch anymore and so, I can't give a full rundown of the whole film. If you think it is going to be your average brawl/punch-up kind of film, you are going to find you are mistaken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars graphic violence and lost innocence, over the top, 27 Aug 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
THere are few films that actually make me sick to my stomach, and this is one of them. The violence is so graphic - there is one scene where you can count how many teeth a man loses as his head is slowly bashed in - that I simply had to fast forward it OFTEN. Really, it made me heave, near vomiting. Then, there is the horror at the center of the plot, the fate of a beautiful and happy young woman. Now there was a time in my youth when I would have relished my "reaction," feeling that such a film made me "experience" a new reality, etc. All the artistic longings - often nonsense in retrospect - of the inexperienced. Well, I am afraid that life has made me no longer want to see such things. I have had friends who suffered similar things and there is nothing to learn from it and no value is bringing it to the screen in my opinion. However, it does make the film controversial - look at the range of reviews here!

Because of the odd way that the film is edited, I am not revealing the plot here. Indeed, with the camera waving around in an attempt at avant garde technique, it added to my nausea. Nonetheless, the acting is very very good. Moreover, there are philosophical points throughout the whole thing and they are not totally pretentious, but add to the portrayal of life and love in the film. The chemistry between the actors is totally believable, as is the changes in personality.

Am I a bourgeois philistine for saying that it was simply awful to watch? Perhaps, but maybe I have just outgrown this kind of art thing. I think you can get deep philosophy and thoughtfulness without such total horror.

Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect cinema, 7 Oct 2005
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Rape is shocking, and this is a film which reiterates this point (you could argue that this point doesn't need reiterating), or rather pummels the full horror of rape right into your soul. I just marvel at the skill of the director because i have never seen such an intense film in my life. It is right up there for the entire 90 minutes! It's an exhilirating experience to witness art of this quality, and the film totally hits the spot on many other levels - excellent music, exploration of friendship and loyalty, the most beautiful love scenes which add so much poignancy. I could go on, i loved it both times i saw it. Though i'm not sure i could stomach a third viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film never to be forgotten., 5 Jun 2003
By 
I. E. Cooper "supercoops" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
You can watch a film surrounded by controversy and still wonder what all the fuss was about when it ends. Irreversible, however, is one film that it can truly be said lives up to its reputation. A bad thing?? Certainly not, but you won't enjoy it, how can you when it contains two of (in my opinion) the most distressing and disturbing scenes ever committed to celluloid? No exaggeration.
In the riskiest roles of their careers, Cassel & Belluci give powerhouse performances, as a couple thrust into a nightmare over one evening. Told backwards, the viewer is hurled into the nightmare just as quickly as its characters, as we witness Belluci's rapist being beaten in the face with a fire extinguisher until he is dead. The sheer realism of this scene is remarkable and repulsive and will more than likely deter you from wanting to continue further with the film. As a hardened viewer of some of the most intense films out there, i expected to be able to pass this by, but soon realised i was unprepared for what i was witnessing. I felt sickened, i felt the urge to stop watching, yet i was compelled to continue.
Nothing can prepare you for the (now) infamous rape scene which follows, & 5 minutes into the nine minute scene i had turned off the film, upset and unwilling to watch any further until i was better prepared. I wasn't disgusted, and its not exploitative, it just has a realism that you don't expect and aren't prepared for in the comfort of your home & everyday life. Ordinary people in an extraordinary & violent world that will always be there everytime we step outside our door. The film had set out to make a point, and had done it and then some.
You can't ignore this film, its far too important for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not pretty, but it's superb, 28 May 2003
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When you compare this to the fuss kicked up by the BBFC for a full 31 years over Last House On the Left, it seems like a minor miracle that it was passed uncut for both the cinema and home viewing. Whilst by no means as over the top as it has been portrayed as being (the people storming out at the Cannes festival last year must have been especially sensitive), this film is obviously not for everyone. As is quite widely known, it contains a scene involving repeated interactions between a man’s head and a fire extinguisher, and also a rape scene probably only beaten in terms of explicitness by that in I Spit On Your Grave.
However, you should not be deterred by the film’s brutal reputation, as this film is one fantastic piece of cinema. Featuring superb performances from the three main protagonists Vincent Cassel, Albert Dupontel and Monica Bellucci (now best know as Persephone from The Matrix Reloaded, as different a film from this as is possible to get!) and dizzying camera work from Argentine director Gaspar Noé that makes NYPD Blue look like a stage play, you will certainly not forget this film in a hurry after seeing it. As long as you can understand French or don’t mind reading subtitles, and aren’t too easily shocked (the film’s reputation is perhaps a little harsh, but it still more than deserves it’s 18 certificate), this is a stylish, intelligent film that I’d heartily recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film you won't forget., 27 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. M. A. Smith (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The film is well made, however the Rape scene is truly sexually violent, hats off to the actors in this scene for the realism it relays to the viewer. A film you won't forget in a hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very uncomfortable., 8 Jun 2007
By 
Jay "Lar" (Manchester U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I watched this film 3 weeks ago, and I'm still thinking about it. It is very uncomfortable to watch like the previous reviews on here state. The camera angles, lighting, sound, dialogue, the storey line and the credits are all are designed to make you feel uncomfortable. I couldn't watch it in one sitting, as there's just too much horribleness. I needed to watch something light and funny just to reach an equilibrium in my mind, before watching more.

To say it's 'Coward's Porn that lacks balls' is so wrong. If a someone can crack one off to this film, then they should go and place themselves on a register.

The rape scene is utterly horrid, but to shoot it in any other way would be wrong.

I think the film suits being in reverse chronology as I would have forgotten the start of the story due to the impact of the middle and ending.

I cant give it 5 stars as it really made me feel sick with the spinning cameras.
added 05/07/07- Amazon £13.95! HMV fiver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an end has a start, 16 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
for a film that i almost walked out of i'm surprised to be giving it 5 stars. but there is a reason. because its superb. it starts off shocking, becomes even more shocking, before ultimately revealing the reasons why it ended up being so shocking, or rather, started off being so shocking. a truly thought-provoking film that subverts the art of film making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and imaginative filmmaking, 24 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. A. La Costa "Architect" (London, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irreversible [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Don't expect this film to have any likeness to any Hollywood production, its plot, cinematography; special effects and direction are refined far beyond the commercial market.

The tragic story is told in reverse leaving the viewer with an abundance of curious confusion, especially with the extremely violent and disturbing start. But as the clock jumps back through the fateful evening, a twisted tale of revenge unfolds and first assumptions of the characters motives become more understandable. Their insane rage stemming from the infamous rape scene that follows soon after, and although extremely uncomfortable to watch it is performed with such honest emotion you will feel extremely distressed. As the film continues piece by piece you are encouraged to share the pain of Marcus (Vincent Cassel), his girlfriend Alexandra (Monica Bellucci) and her ex-boyfriend Pierre. The brief look at their lives in the later half of the film intensifies this sorrow as you are shown the innocent and intimate side of Marcus and his cosy relationship with Alexandra.

Gaspar Noe's direction is intelligent and the performances by all the cast are flawless. Special mention must be given to the inspired and artistic cinematography that is so influential to the atmosphere of each scene, something I haven't seen in a film since La Haine. With the camera work very jerky and hard to follow in the build up to the hectic violent scenes but subsequently calm in the depiction of the latter tranquil scenes. Also you should notice how every scene is shot in one take, even when the camera seems to invisibly slip through car windows! The soundtrack and special effects are also efficient in adding an extra emotional hit to the film.

There are few extras on the DVD but the film notes by Hannah McGill are concise and give an interesting background to Noe and his intentions for the film.

Overall I was extremely impressed by the skills used by Noe to make this film as harrowing as possible using an array of original ideas to make the viewer as uncomfortable as possible. I would recommend this film to anyone who appreciates clever, imaginative film production and even though it will leave you feeling shocked, the performances, plot and yearning to understand the violence will keep you watching. Just make sure you're prepared to experience it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Irreversible [DVD] [2003]
Irreversible [DVD] [2003] by Gaspar Noé (DVD - 2003)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews