Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steamy film noir
The hot shot (not to be confused with the hot spot, which is located...well, on the person of Dolly Harshaw, as you'll see) is Harry Madox (Don Johnson) who has just arrived in Podunk, Texas. What he's hot about is selling used cars and bedding floosies. He scans the small town scene to see what's available. He's a hunk with a gift of the macho and an ability to move...
Published on 3 July 2009 by Dennis Littrell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as "Hot" as I remember
Sometimes you revisit a film that you haven't seen for twenty years because you remember it as a good picture. Sometimes, as in this case with "The Hot Spot", you wonder what all the fuss was about.

I remember seeing "The Hot Spot" on channel 4 in the early 1990s one night and thought it was an above average film. It seemed then to hit the right note regarding...
Published 21 months ago by Peter J. Chambers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sleazy to perfection, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Fab film noir. Sleaze, sex, morally bankrupt etc. great source material, great rendering on film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great choice, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
great acting from all the actors & good story line & good music choice my kind of film loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Great dvd and can't believe that I missed this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Don Johnson at his best. An American Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Brilliant most adventous thrill great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awwwww, poor sweet kid., 18 Sept. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Sleazeball, slimeball, bitch and sweet kid, plus supporting cast. Bitch wins. Sweet kid gets hurt.

(It's Jennifer Connelly. She's always lovely.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A complete waste of time and money..., 21 Jun. 2009
By 
Brannstrom Goran "Goran" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I have to admit that I bought this dvd for the sole reason that Jennifer Connelly was in it and I have always liked her. Unfortunately, she is a bit of bore in this one. Don Johnson can usually hold his own as long as he can do his usual stereotype Miami Vice character, and luckily for him, this movie does not call for him do anything out of the ordinary.

I don't think I'm the only one who was suckered into buying this movie by the promise of good-looking actresses or actor, and thinking that as long as the script has some kind of plot that makes you go "Gee, what will happen next?" it should be worth my time. But it does not.

It takes at least an hour before you even recognize the semblance of a plot, and in the end it's too little and too late. Not even Jennifer Connelly can make up for a script this bad. So, if you are only desperate to see Connelly in a bikini, save time and money and use Google instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 13 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Its just Great. A real stylish film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990]
The Hot Spot [DVD] [1990] by Dennis Hopper (DVD - 2003)
£5.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews